RT Daily Blog

Places To Submit Your Manuscript: March 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” But don’t despair, we’ve rounded up a list of places that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission.

***

Samhain Publishing: Do you love writing tales that are so twisted and dark they can’t help but illicit scares and screams? Then be sure to check out Samhain Publishing’s latest call for their horror line! Samhain wants well-written, suspenseful and believable stories that fit within the horror genre. Think you have what it takes to terrify readers and keep them coming back for more? Check out the full details here! And if horror’s not your thing, check out Samhain’s other open calls!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Publisher Alert: ReShonda Tate Billingsley & Victoria Christopher Murray's Brown Girls Publishing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

The business of publishing is always fascinating, especially in this digital age we find ourselves living in. A new development we’re excited about is the creation of Brown Girls Publishing, run by bestselling authors ReShonda Tate Billingsley and Victoria Christopher Murray. We wanted to know more about this new venture, and the ladies were kind enough to oblige.

***

The cover of Open Door Marriage

Why did you decide to start Brown Girls Publishing?

Our motivation for creating Brown Girls Publishing was the fact that there are so many talented authors who for various reasons, don’t have a publishing deal, or aren’t able to write in genres that are near and dear to them. We also saw an opportunity to introduce some fresh voices in a market where so many genres have become formulaic and repetitive.

Tell us about some of your recent and upcoming releases, and why you decided to publish them?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Last week we featured Croco Designs and this week we consult Sarah Hansen of Okay Creations about what self-published authors need to know about creating covers.

Give us some examples of your favorite covers, and tell us why they're your favorites.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Craft Workshops for Writers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Booklovers Convention will be here sooner than you think! But with such a wide array of activities to choose from, it can be a little overwhelming deciding which you wish to attend, especially when it comes to the craft track. Conventions are great places for aspiring and established authors to expand their skills, and the RT Con is certainly no exception. So we’ve hand-picked four craft workshops you definitely won’t want to miss!

How To Write Hot Sex: Wednesday May 14th, 1:15 - 2:15 PM

  • What: Join a group of today’s hottest voices in romance as they discuss the ins and outs of writing hot, hot sex scenes! Whether you like your scenes light or scorching red, this panel is a must for learning how to write believable and sizzling romance.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Helping Hands: How Mark Henry Found His Way To Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Publishing is a tough business. From cancelled contracts to amazing books that never get their due, it's a tough road for authors and aspiring writers to walk. Today Mark Henry, UF-turned-romance author, is here to tell us about how he got over a major bump in the road, and we're so glad he did! The author shares:

In the interest of transparency, I’m going to do a little oversharing to explain how I came to writing romance. It’s a tale fraught with desperation and hardship, love and regret … also horrible periods of overeating. But to say that my publishing journey has been a unique struggle is doing a disservice to the vast majority of writers both aspiring and published. We all struggle, most of us clinging to a career by our fingernails. I’m not especially begrudged or bedraggled and in many ways I’m lucky. Only a very small percentage of us ever achieve a comfortable success. I think as readers with aspirations to join the ranks of our favorite writers, that’s an unusual idea to wrap our heads around, that this person who’s achieved what I so desperately crave is likely not considered a success and may, in fact, be worried about where they’ll scrounge up money for groceries. That’s changing in this age of indie publishing, but only for the truly flexible and ambitious. Suffice it to say, up until about about six months ago, I didn’t fall into either camp.

After some mighty encouraging buzz, my venture into young adult (Velveteen as Daniel Marks) seemed to have flown so far under the radar as to barely blip. By a month out of the gate, we knew it was a disappointment. This after two years of toiling over that book, rewriting, scrapping half of it post sale and reorganizing it to a degree I’d not experienced during my entire adult urban fantasy series career. I had set my mind to positivity. This book was going to be the one.

Not so much.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

You Did It! NaNoWriMo Next Steps

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

So, you did it! You wrote 50,000 hard-wrung words during National Novel Writing Month. Congratulations! We sure are proud. But now what? We at RT are here for you. Here’s a primer on your next steps.

1. Take a break. That’s right! You’ve earned some time off, and numerable editing experts say to take a step back from your manuscript. Let it sit for a few weeks and give yourself some distance from your beloved masterpiece. That way, when you get into editing, you can read your manuscript with fresh eyes.

2. Do not submit your 50,000-word manuscript anywhere. We know, it’s brilliant. But you just barfed out 50,000 words in 30 days, and even the best of the best cops to doing round after rounds of edits. (Veronica Roth talked here about the multiple drafts of her debut — which you may have heard of — Divergent.) Your manuscript is going to need work, so put the brakes on sending it to any editors or agents. You only get one chance to submit your project to your dream team, don’t waste it on an unfinished product.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Editorial Services From Dark World Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Today we're offering an extra special holiday treat for authors and writers: the chance to win free edits for one full-length novel, courtesy of the UK-based company Dark World Books. Dark World Books offers customized boutique services for independent and published authors of Urban/Dark Fantasy, Dystopian, Steampunk, YA/NA Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Historical Romance, Dark Erotica, Contemporary Erotica and Erotic Romance.

Having problems with your author business? Their job is to guide you through this sometimes overwhelming process and take care of manuscript edits, covers and marketing material creation, trailers and book tours! Curious what customers have to say? You can read their testimonials here and learn more about their editorial and marketing services here.

To celebrate their first year, DWB is delighted to offer free edits for one full-length novel for the genres mentioned above. Fill out the Rafflecopter form, and make sure to check back on December 9th when we announce the contest winner!

 Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck everyone!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Start Yer Engines: Our Guide to Your Successful NaNoWriMo

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2013 | PERMALINK

Tomorrow starts National Novel Writing Month, and we at RT are here for you. We want you to succeed, write that bestselling novel — and then invite us to your fancy book party. Deal? We scoured the Internet to find the best and most useful tools to help get you to 50,000 words by November 30.

Getting Ready

Go to the source: The official NaNo website is truly a wealth of awesome information. Some of our particular favorite features include the Word Count Widgets, which allow you to see your progress, as well as the pep talks from established authors. (In particular, we love Neil Gaiman’s: “You write. That’s the hard bit that nobody sees. You write on the good days and you write on the lousy days. Like a shark, you have to keep moving forward or you die.”)

Reading Ahead


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where To Submit Your Manuscript: October 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of nine places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission.

Carina Press - Carina recently announced their Fall 2013 call for submissions, with each editor listing which types of stories they’d love to see land in their inbox. Among the requests are calls for New Adult, LGBTQ romances of many genres, quality erotic romance and stories that blend genres. For all the details on what Carina editors are craving, click here. And you can find their submissions guidelines here


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST