RT Daily Blog

Amanda Havard On Four Ways To Connect With Readers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last week we got the inside details about debut author Amanda Havard's paranormal series starter The Survivors in this video interview. The book has elicited an amazing response from fans. Not only is it a genuinely unique story, but the Amanda came up with a four-pronged plan to help readers connect with the story through a variety of media outlets. (We promise, it’s much more interesting — and less technical — than the fancy words make it sound.)

A week or so ago, in a conversation with my publisher at BEA, I heard that over 3 million books were published in 2010. In a conversation later that day with my editor, she said that 10 years ago, that number was 44,000. Needless to say, a lot has changed, and it’s getting harder all the time to get noticed. To me, this doesn’t mean visibility is impossible. Instead, it means you have to get creative.

So when I started writing The Survivors, I thought from the ground up. When I started with the story, I worked pretty hard to think of how I could connect the reader to the experience in unique ways. We’ve done a few things that will hopefully make us stand out from the crowd, and I hope they can inspire you too. Here they are, presented to you… in the form of the weird looks and questions I get asked all the time.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RosettaBooks Hosts Science Fiction Writing Contest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, start your science fiction engines! The publisher RosettaBooks has just announced that they will be hosting a contest to find new voices in the genre. 

As RosettaBooks gets ready to release a selection of stories from the classic science fiction magazine Galaxy in digital format, they are scouring the galaxy, okay the Internet, in search of this generation’s newest brilliant storytellers.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Finding Time To Write With Diana Orgain

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today Diana Orgain the author of the Maternal Instincts mystery series, chats about her heroine Kate Conolly. Kate is a stay-at-home mom who finds the time to also be an amateur sleuth. As anyone who has ever had a baby in their life knows, finding time to sleep, eat and shower is difficult, so we were extremely impressed by Kate's ability to multitask. Today the author reveals that she was inspired by her own struggles as a stay-at-home mom and mystery author. And then, don't miss your chance to win Orgain's new novel Formula for Murder!

First off – thanks so much to RT for inviting me to post here. In writing this post I’m trying to answer the number one question I get asked by moms (or other writers) – how I find the time to write. I have three little ones. My oldest is a girl, 7, and I have two boys ages 4 and 2. The honest answer is “I don’t know.”

Right now, two of three are playing with a tea set and the third, for unknown reasons, is working on taking his socks and shoes off and then putting them back on again. Today is the first day of summer and we’re getting ready to take the kids to the park. I’m writing this post between warming milk bottles, doing dishes and packing the diaper bag.  

All the hub-bub is typical around here. Both my husband and I work from home and we squeeze out every productive moment of the day we can. Pre-school for the boys starts in a 55 days (but who’s counting) and although I’ll miss my darlings during the day it means I may have some interrupted blocks of writing time (the operative word being “may”) as it always seems there’s something that needs to done.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sarah Jio's Four Smart Do’s for Aspiring Freelance Writers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sarah Jio, author of this month's mainstream tale The Violets of March, shares her tips for aspiring authors who are interested in writing for magazines. 

I’m the author of the debut novel, The Violets of March, published recently by Penguin (Plume), but I haven’t always been a novelist. I started my career in magazines, and a lot of people ask me how to break into magazine writing, and many wonder if they have to live in New York City to do so. My answer: no! I live in Seattle and have made it work just fine. I’m the health and fitness writer for Glamour.com, and I have written for Real Simple, Redbook, O, The Oprah Magazine, Health, Cooking Light and many other publications.

Here are my top tips for launching your own career:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bookselling and Back Again With Author Stefanie Sloane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Stefanie Sloane fell in love with romance novels while working for the largest online book retailer in the world. She eventually decided to use her newfound expertise at picking winning stories to write her own. Today she describes how she went from being an "Amazonian" to being a debut author with the release of the first book in her Regency Rogues trilogy The Devil in Disguise.

If you would have told me when I was in college that in the very near future, I was going to be intimately involved in the building of the most successful online bookseller in the world, I wouldn’t have believed you. First, because I had no idea what “online” meant. Second, because I was a college student and couldn’t see past the well-worn pages of my favorite Jane Austen novel. Third, really, no clue about the internet.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Looking Back At The Comics & Graphic Novel Day At The 2011 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS’ Graphic Novel Columnist and graphic novel author Anne Elizabeth shares a look back at some of her favorite panels and workshops from Comics & Graphic Novel Day at the RT Booklovers Convention!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How To Overcome Rejection: One Author’s Journey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Trice Hickman knows that you don't always get what you want, but if you try real hard, you just might find, you get what you need! But all kidding aside, the author offers some incredibly helpful advice for what to do after you've had the wind knocked out of your sails by the cruel hand of the publishing industry.

I’ll never forget the day I started writing my first novel. It was a chilly morning in March 2004, and after many years of suffering from writer’s block, I had a breakthrough! I sat in front of my computer and smiled in amazement as words began to pour out of me like sweet water. I wrote all day and all night, and by the next morning, 30 pages later, the beginnings of my debut novel, Unexpected Interruptions, was born!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Building A Solid Blog Foundation

BY Shiloh Walker, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Finding your blogging inspiration and creating a blog people come back to...

So you want to blog, but you don’t know what to blog about?

There was a post at Lynn Viehl’s blog, about how blogging could be a writing exercise, and that’s a good way to look at it. I started making myself blog, regularly—I’d have a post go up almost every day. I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now.

There’s no set rhyme or reason to my posts. I don’t just blog about writing, I don’t just blog about books, I don’t just blog about my kids and my husband, or movies, etc, etc etc. In a way, my blog has become a reflection of me. I do blog about my kids and my husband. I do blog about books. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wendy Soliman's Road To Publication

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Wendy Soliman shares a look back at the route she took to get published. She points out some of the pitfalls along the way and how she overcame obstacles to jump-start a successful e-book career.

I can't remember a time when I didn't invent stories in my head, making the world behave precisely as I thought it should. Seemed to me like a perfectly natural thing to do. But dreaming's one thing, committing those dreams to paper is entirely another, as I discovered when I picked up my pen eight years ago and got serious about it.

Even then, before e-publishing had really taken off and nobody had heard the dreaded words "credit crunch", everyone told me it was almost impossible to get an agent or publisher to look beyond the first page of a manuscript. But I was convinced I'd be the exception that proved the rule. I no longer had to bash my thoughts out on a typewriter and had the added bonus of the internet at my fingertips to help with research. It didn't occur to me that the same rules applied to all the other would-be writers out there, producing a glut of material that enabled the publishing houses to be even more selective.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, E-Book
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Taylor Quinn Shares The Best Advice She's Ever Received - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Tara Taylor Quinn shares her past with readers and explains how (and why) she incorporates her own experiences into her writing. And don’t miss your chance to win a copy of her new novel, It Happened on Maple Street, at the end of this post!

My life is an open book. At least, as of April 1, 2011 it is. Before that I had fifty-five books published with Harlequin and MIRA and I lived my life in hiding. I was living with a twenty-seven year secret of domestic violence. That changed with the publication of It Happened on Maple Street, co-authored with Tim Barney, my husband and the love of my life. It Happened on Maple Street is our true love story. And the story of the healing power of love. I am all over those pages, by name. My shame, my guilt, and my struggle to find faith in myself and trust in love are all there for the world to see. My family and friends, as they read this book, are finding out for the first time about the secrets I kept all those years. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST