RT Daily Blog

Hints For Writing Historicals From Author Sherry Thomas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Sherry Thomas offers aspiring writers several tips for giving their manuscripts what the author calls “That Touch of History.”

We often hear about world-building in terms of writing science fiction and fantasy. But writers of historical romance also world-build. We do not write about lands and peoples that have never existed, but nevertheless we are taking our readers to a vanished era that we must recreate.

You already know that. You know that to make your historical romance truly shine, you must make your period come alive. For that you have lovingly—or grudgingly, as it may be—compiled a huge dossier of research. What they ate. What they wore. Who were the king and the prime minister and so on and so forth.

But the thing is, everybody has had the tepid lemonade at Almack’s and heard the hero casually greet the Regent. What can you do to make your world-building stand out?

1) You can’t do that anymore!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two Series Romance Authors Reflect

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Two series romance authors (and best friends) Lynn Raye Harris and Kimberly Lang discuss writing for Harlequin Presents. The authors talk about what makes series romances the "most amazing books in the world", share their experiences at the RT Convention and reflect on hitting the best-seller list.

Two Series Romance Authors Reflect >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Porter Offers Tips for Writing With Emotion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Jane Porter shares some essential lessons on emotional writing for aspiring authors.

Writing women’s fiction is about writing stories that are relevant to our women readers. According to Donald Maass, in Writing the Breakout Novel, today’s readers want an authentic experience. So if many modern-day readers expect to live the story through the mind of the character, than its our job as writers is to make the experience as real as possible. We must infuse our characters with depth and emotional integrity.

Last August in New Zealand I attended an all day seminar given by Christopher Vogler. It was an amazing session and he talked about how people are always looking for meaning in life, and how we especially look for it in stories. Readers crave stories that help them sense of life. Readers want to connect emotionally and spiritually.

So how do we write emotion? How do we show rather than tell?

I.  KNOW YOUR CRAFT 

There are six different techniques for conveying emotion in fiction writing:

1. Stating emotion - The easiest means of adding emotion to a story is for the narrator to simply state the character's emotion.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Shiloh Walker on Author Presence

BY Shiloh Walker, NOVEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Author Presence… what is it? When do you start building it? How do you protect it, maintain it… eek!

Author presence—well, this is mine. It’s your image so to speak, how you present yourself to your audience/soon-to-be audience.

Author presence… what is it?

It’s almost like your author voice, I guess, but it’s not being used to convey your story, but rather who you are.

My author presence? It’s kind of formed from my own personality.

I’m blunt. I try to be diplomatic, but I’m known for speaking my mind. Basically, that’s just me. In real life, I’m a little more blunt and if it’s not work related, I drop the diplomacy. Hey, it’s real life—I’m not always worried if I anger people. I don’t intentionally try to hurt feelings, but I don’t really see the point in sugarcoating things either.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maggie Shayne Shares Advice On Writing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Maggie Shayne is not only a best-selling romantic suspense author, she is also a nominee for Best Paranormal Author in RT’s 2010 Career Achievement Awards. Now the author shares some of the writing advice that has helped make her a star.

When RT BOOK REVIEWS asked me to write a blog with tips for aspiring romantic suspense writers, I thought, great! How is it going to sound when I tell them how I work? I mean, the way I do it is to puke everything that pops into my head out onto the page, and then look at it from different angles to see what shapes it made. You know, like when you read entrails to predict the future. I then re-arrange it all and flesh it out, changing my mind several times about countless key aspects of the story, including whodunnit most of the time, along the way, and then trust myself to make it all make sense in the final draft. 

My final drafts take one week. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Clay And Susan Griffith: Still Writing And Still Married

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thinking of trying your hand at writing collaboratively? Married authors Clay and Susan Griffith, know all about the hard work of co-authoring. They have just kicked off their newest series with The Greyfriar. Now the authors share how have melded their skills to become a successful team.

We are Clay and Susan Griffith, husband and wife authors that have written together for over twenty years.

And yes, we are still married.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Round Two Of Writing With The Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the second round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors and also vote on the best first paragraph and last line of their novel. For the second round of the competition, you get to read about each contestant's hero and heroine. 

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, agent Miriam Kriss the vice president of the Irene Goodman Literary Agency. 

You can vote once time between now and November 28th. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best back cover blurb! 

Cast Your Vote >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Author's Quest - Finding Historical Resources On The Web

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the age of the Internet, aspiring authors have a virtually limitless number of resources at their fingertips. This can be particularly helpful for those who wish to write about historical time periods. With the touch of a button, writers can be escorted through bygone eras, learning about each period's food, dress, manners and more. However, for the uninitiated, the sheer volume of information can be overwhelming. So we thought we would clear the confusion and gather together some of the best websites to help authors research the historical elements in their manuscripts.


 

At HistoricalNovels.info you will find more than just a dusty list of links. The site is full of solid gold resources for aspiring authors, from advice and articles collected in an easy-to-browse manner to an annotated list of books set around the world in different time periods. Don't be put off by the colorful graphics, there's a wealth of information here!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diana Holquist Offers Writing Help

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Holquist shares her thoughts for aspiring authors with Sarah Wendell of the popular blog Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. Holquist discusses her creative process with blogger and how she incorporates alpha male heroes into her contemporary romances.

Diana Holquist on Her Creative Process >>

More From the RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing Advice from Mainstream Author Cathy Lamb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Cathy Lamb shares the wise advice that helped her get published when she was an aspiring author. And don't miss the excerpt of her 2007 debut novel, Julia's Chocolates, at the end of the post!

I will give all aspiring writers the advice that I wish I had gotten years and years ago, before a mountain sized load of rejection letters from two category romance publishers almost buried me in a literary avalanche. You may not want to hear it, you may not agree with it, you may find it discouraging….or, like me, you might follow it with a hop, skip, and a jump, or at least a tiny jig.

So, here it is: If you are continually getting rejections in one genre – category romance, science fiction, fiction, nonfiction, whatever it is - and brace yourself here - you may need to change genres entirely. Yep. You may need to take a deep breath, drown yourself in decaf mochas, which is what I do, or a box of chocolates, which is what I did when I was in the midst of rejection hell, and start over. 

Here’s the truth: Your talents may not lie in the place you’re currently trying to publish in.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST