RT Daily Blog

November Is Aspiring Authors Month!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

All month long we will be celebrating Aspiring Authors on the RT Daily Blog. Every day we will have helpful hints about writing and the many paths to publication. You will get writing advice from authors sharing their tips and success stories, hear from industry insiders and take writing mini-challenges.

Our Aspiring Author focus is inspired by National Novel Writing Month, also known as NaNoWrMo. This month thousands of writers around the world, from beginners to experts, will take the annual challenge and attempt to write 175 pages or 50,000 words, during the month of November. You can find out more about NaNoWriMo at their website. And in the meantime, we will be here to help inspire you all month long.

So if you are a published author, aspiring writer, or just someone interested in the inner workings of how a book is put together, join us all month for tips, videos, interviews, writing challenges and of course, round two of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest — it's all part of our featured Aspiring Authors coverage in November on the RT Daily Blog.

To easily follow all of the aspiring author action keep an eye on this blog post. We will be updating it everytime we post a related blog, video or article during November!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Facebook

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Full disclaimer, guys.

I hate Facebook. It’s not so bad when I can do my updates through an outside client like tweetdeck, which is generally what I do, and if I can email my responses when somebody writes on my wall—that sort of thing? I’m good with.

But when I actually have to log in? I hate it.

Now some of this is just my laziness—clearing out the friend requests, deleting the event invites that I never mess with, all the applications I have to delete...and of course, checking to see what new and unusual ways Facebook has come up with to invade my privacy—I really liked the one where people could tag my exact geographical location at any given time! (Um, not…I mean, seriously, what in the world????)


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: To Tweet or Not To Tweet

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

To Tweet or Not to Tweet?Before we can answer that question, some people are probably still wondering what Twitter is.

Well, first…in my opinion…it’s one huge, giant time suck. And I love Twitter. But it can be very time-consuming. Keep that in mind.  

Now…in more depth, just what is Twitter? Well, according to Twitter’s website:

Twitter is a real-time information network powered by people all around the world that lets you share and discover what’s happening now.

Twitter asks “what’s happening?” and makes the answer spread across the globe to millions, immediately.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Round One of Writing With the Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the first round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors. For the first round of the competition, you get to take a look inside of each contestant's manuscript to read their first paragraph and the very last line of their novel.

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, blogger Sarah Wendell of SmartBitchesTrashyBooks.com.

You can vote once time between now and October 24th. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best hero and heroine! 

Cast Your Vote >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

To Be Or Not To Be (In Print)?

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

With the popularity of e-book publishing, I often speak with newly signed authors who are ecstatic about their digital deals. The electronic "presses" are making it easier than ever for aspiring authors to find homes for their books. However, traditionally published authors (i.e. those published in print), are complaining that because of the new model of e-book sales, their contracts are suffering.

This week the Wall Street Journal reported:

"Priced much lower than hardcovers, many e-books generate less income for publishers. And big retailers are buying fewer titles. As a result, the publishers who nurtured generations of America's top literary-fiction writers are approving fewer book deals and signing fewer new writers. Most of those getting published are receiving smaller advances." Read the full article here.

So where do you stand on the e-book debate? Do you think that these digital deals will ultimately be good for authors or bad?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: Online Advice for Aspiring Authors

BY Shiloh Walker, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Promo, Marketing…do I have to…and how do I? 

Howdy. Welcome to an interesting project of mine…where I attempt to talk about something I hate. Yep. Hate. Things like promo. Marketing. Words that make me want to shudder and cringe in horror.

But there's a lame little joke that rolls around every once in a while…it goes something like…

Did you hear about the author that didn't promo…neither did anybody else.

So…back to… Promo…marketing…do have I to…and how do I?

Promo and marketing--naturally, no, you don't have to, but it will help your career if you can find the right route for you.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Robyn Grady On Bad Jobs And Silver Linings

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Grady's latest series romance is Fired Waitress, Hired Mistress. Learn about the author's inspiration for her heroine's unfulfilling job as a waitress. And find out which eclectic jobs four other Harlequin Presents authors held before becoming writers!

I’ve been lucky on the vocation front. For sixteen years I was employed behind the scenes in television - great fun! Then, four years ago, I landed my absolute dream job…writing fulltime for Mills & Boon and Silhouette, creating new ways for two strong-minded deserving people - who can’t possibly make it together – reach their happily-ever-afters. Some days I could pull out my hair wondering where the story should go next. Many more nights, however, I keep my laptop company into the early hours because the characters have taken over the plot. Needless to say, every minute I write romance, I’m living in my own private heaven.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing With the Stars: Help Us Find a New Brava Author!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Help us find the next Brava author!

The competitors have been selected, meet the 10 authors who are competing for a chance to have their novel published by Kensington’s Brava line.

Learn who these aspiring authors are, what inspires them to write and when you can cast your votes in their favor. 

Meet The Contestants >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing with the Stars Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

During the past few months, aspiring authors from all over the United States have been sending in writing samples in hopes of being chosen to participate in the contest that will end with one lucky winner awarded a book contract. Today we are happy to announce the 10 finalists in the Writing With the Stars contest sponsored by RT BOOK REVIEWS and Kensington’s Brava imprint.
 
Congratulations to the following finalists:

Maeve Greyson
Lisa Kessler
KC Klein
Alannah Lynne
Mari Manning
Dale Mayer
Diana Quincy
Meredith Simmons
Madeline Smyth
Maria Zannini

For more information about the contest, make sure to check back on the RT website in late September and pick up a copy of the November issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, on newsstands later this month.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Report Back From SlushPile Hell

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

For all of the aspiring authors out there who see so many books published and think “why not me?” it can help to know that others are also stumbling on the road to publication. That’s where the blog SlushPile Hell comes in. The anonymous literary agent who writes the blog responds to the query letter craziness that they encounter on the job. Each blog post includes an excerpt of an original query letter’s ridiculous dialogue and the agent's response to it. You know, the type of response we all wish we had, but think of ten minutes too late or simply can’t say in the situation.

And yes, there may be a certain amount of Schadenfreude (that’s the German word for laughing at other’s mistakes, which just sounds so much nicer in German, don’t you think?) involved in SlushPile Hell. But whether you stop by to laugh, learn, or both, the blog is sure to meet your needs.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST