RT Daily Blog

Aspiring Authors, Harlequin Is Here To Help!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, November may be the official month to dedicate yourself to your writing, but sometimes knowing that you "should be" doing something is the best way to come down with a serious case of writer's block. However, Harlequin is here to help jumpstart your creative engine. All week long you can take part in their special event So You Think You Can Write!

From November 1st to the 5th, Harlequin is hosting a variety of events to help you get informed about the buisness and inspired to create. The publisher has put together a full schedule of guest blogs, podcasts, webinars, live chats and even daily writing challenges to help hone your skills and provide valuable feedback. You can join community chats with other writers, meet over fifty editors, submit your stories and more. Find out everything from "What Editors Look For" and "Why Revisions are Necessary" to tips on "Choosing Character Names" and learn why some of your favorite authors write romance novels. You can follow the event's up-to-the-minute schedule additions on Twitter and Facebook with the hashtag #SYTHYCW or visit Harlequin's website here


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Is Aspiring Authors Month!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

All month long we will be celebrating Aspiring Authors on the RT Daily Blog. Every day we will have helpful hints about writing and the many paths to publication. You will get writing advice from authors sharing their tips and success stories, hear from industry insiders and take writing mini-challenges.

Our Aspiring Author focus is inspired by National Novel Writing Month, also known as NaNoWrMo. This month thousands of writers around the world, from beginners to experts, will take the annual challenge and attempt to write 175 pages or 50,000 words, during the month of November. You can find out more about NaNoWriMo at their website. And in the meantime, we will be here to help inspire you all month long.

So if you are a published author, aspiring writer, or just someone interested in the inner workings of how a book is put together, join us all month for tips, videos, interviews, writing challenges and of course, round two of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest — it's all part of our featured Aspiring Authors coverage in November on the RT Daily Blog.

To easily follow all of the aspiring author action keep an eye on this blog post. We will be updating it everytime we post a related blog, video or article during November!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Facebook

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Full disclaimer, guys.

I hate Facebook. It’s not so bad when I can do my updates through an outside client like tweetdeck, which is generally what I do, and if I can email my responses when somebody writes on my wall—that sort of thing? I’m good with.

But when I actually have to log in? I hate it.

Now some of this is just my laziness—clearing out the friend requests, deleting the event invites that I never mess with, all the applications I have to delete...and of course, checking to see what new and unusual ways Facebook has come up with to invade my privacy—I really liked the one where people could tag my exact geographical location at any given time! (Um, not…I mean, seriously, what in the world????)


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: To Tweet or Not To Tweet

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

To Tweet or Not to Tweet?Before we can answer that question, some people are probably still wondering what Twitter is.

Well, first…in my opinion…it’s one huge, giant time suck. And I love Twitter. But it can be very time-consuming. Keep that in mind.  

Now…in more depth, just what is Twitter? Well, according to Twitter’s website:

Twitter is a real-time information network powered by people all around the world that lets you share and discover what’s happening now.

Twitter asks “what’s happening?” and makes the answer spread across the globe to millions, immediately.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Round One of Writing With the Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the first round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors. For the first round of the competition, you get to take a look inside of each contestant's manuscript to read their first paragraph and the very last line of their novel.

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, blogger Sarah Wendell of SmartBitchesTrashyBooks.com.

You can vote once time between now and October 24th. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best hero and heroine! 

Cast Your Vote >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

To Be Or Not To Be (In Print)?

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

With the popularity of e-book publishing, I often speak with newly signed authors who are ecstatic about their digital deals. The electronic "presses" are making it easier than ever for aspiring authors to find homes for their books. However, traditionally published authors (i.e. those published in print), are complaining that because of the new model of e-book sales, their contracts are suffering.

This week the Wall Street Journal reported:

"Priced much lower than hardcovers, many e-books generate less income for publishers. And big retailers are buying fewer titles. As a result, the publishers who nurtured generations of America's top literary-fiction writers are approving fewer book deals and signing fewer new writers. Most of those getting published are receiving smaller advances." Read the full article here.

So where do you stand on the e-book debate? Do you think that these digital deals will ultimately be good for authors or bad?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: Online Advice for Aspiring Authors

BY Shiloh Walker, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Promo, Marketing…do I have to…and how do I? 

Howdy. Welcome to an interesting project of mine…where I attempt to talk about something I hate. Yep. Hate. Things like promo. Marketing. Words that make me want to shudder and cringe in horror.

But there's a lame little joke that rolls around every once in a while…it goes something like…

Did you hear about the author that didn't promo…neither did anybody else.

So…back to… Promo…marketing…do have I to…and how do I?

Promo and marketing--naturally, no, you don't have to, but it will help your career if you can find the right route for you.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Robyn Grady On Bad Jobs And Silver Linings

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Grady's latest series romance is Fired Waitress, Hired Mistress. Learn about the author's inspiration for her heroine's unfulfilling job as a waitress. And find out which eclectic jobs four other Harlequin Presents authors held before becoming writers!

I’ve been lucky on the vocation front. For sixteen years I was employed behind the scenes in television - great fun! Then, four years ago, I landed my absolute dream job…writing fulltime for Mills & Boon and Silhouette, creating new ways for two strong-minded deserving people - who can’t possibly make it together – reach their happily-ever-afters. Some days I could pull out my hair wondering where the story should go next. Many more nights, however, I keep my laptop company into the early hours because the characters have taken over the plot. Needless to say, every minute I write romance, I’m living in my own private heaven.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing With the Stars: Help Us Find a New Brava Author!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Help us find the next Brava author!

The competitors have been selected, meet the 10 authors who are competing for a chance to have their novel published by Kensington’s Brava line.

Learn who these aspiring authors are, what inspires them to write and when you can cast your votes in their favor. 

Meet The Contestants >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing with the Stars Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

During the past few months, aspiring authors from all over the United States have been sending in writing samples in hopes of being chosen to participate in the contest that will end with one lucky winner awarded a book contract. Today we are happy to announce the 10 finalists in the Writing With the Stars contest sponsored by RT BOOK REVIEWS and Kensington’s Brava imprint.
 
Congratulations to the following finalists:

Maeve Greyson
Lisa Kessler
KC Klein
Alannah Lynne
Mari Manning
Dale Mayer
Diana Quincy
Meredith Simmons
Madeline Smyth
Maria Zannini

For more information about the contest, make sure to check back on the RT website in late September and pick up a copy of the November issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, on newsstands later this month.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST