RT Daily Blog

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Kristen Ashley Tells All - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, which can at times seem difficult to navigate. We're here to help you get your bearings with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. Last week at the RT Convention in NOLA, self-publishing powerhouse Kristen Ashley sat down for a frank discussion with Smashwords founder Mark Coker to discuss the nuts and bolts of self-publishing, from formatting to pricing and more. Here are just a few of the tidbits RT editor Tricia Carr picked up. 

Mark Coker and Kristen Ashley

If you’re a romance reader, you know the name Kristen Ashley. But that wasn’t always the case. Her journey from selling nearly no copies to seeing her books on The New York Times bestseller list wasn’t easy. When Coker asked Ashley what gave her the confidence to quit her job and self-publish, she quickly assured him that she generally does not recommend doing so — and then admitted to ignoring these rational thoughts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sex, Thugs & Rock 'n' Roll: A Writing Playlist - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love reading high-stakes action scenes — as well as smoking hot sexy ones. But how to conjure up that creative atmosphere, as an author, to write a scene that really takes us there? Why, music, of course! Last week at the RT Convention in New Orleans, Jackie Kessler, Mark Henry, Nicole Peeler, Diana Rowland, Jeanne C. Stein and Jaye Wells shared their blood-thirsty playlists: one for sexytimes and one for when it's time to kick some butt! So fire up your Spotify and get writing! (Some of these are explicit, so use discretion/head phones when necessary!)

***

Blood-Pumping Scenes: Smexy!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Contemporary Author Superstars Chat - 2014 RT Convention

BY Danielle Valente, MAY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Wouldn't you love to go on a date with your book boyfriend? We don't blame you, and neither do the creators of your favorite fictional heartthrobs. During Thursday's Contemporary Author Chat, RT reviewer Audrey Goodson Kingo sat down with Susan Mallery, Kristen Ashley and Rachel Gibson and talked romance and writing.

Audrey Kingo, far right, leads contemporary authors in a discussion

Naturally, authors and panel attendees alike were eager to discuss all things romance, be it a steamy scene oozing with passion, or even an off day when the authors can't exactly figure out how the hero and heroine's lips should meet. The workshop dug into the minds of these successful women, whose careers focus on love and passion, exposing fans to the layers of their creative processes.

For Kristen Ashley, her writing took off when she penned letters to loved ones in lieu of buying Christmas presents during her post-college years, when she was "living on beer and tortilla chips."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Daily Goals of Bestselling Authors Revealed - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

It’s okay, you can admit that writing is hard, especially when you see authors are churning out book after book, when you’ve barely written a chapter. Have no fear, because everybody has their own way of doing things! Bestselling authors Leigh Evans, Angie Fox, Charlaine Harris, Darynda Jones, Suzanne McLeod and Chloe Neill shared their creative processes with RT Convention attendees and shared that speed isn’t the be and end all.

The panelists!

The authors all agreed that what’s on the page is more important than the amount of words — it's quality over quantity, folks!

“I can figure out how many days it would take [to write a book], but it never works out,” Charlaine Harris told us, and she wrote the bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse series, so she knows.

Moderator Leigh Evans added, “Just write the story. Don’t try and create the world [first].”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teen Day Extravaganza - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Teen Day is one of the most highly anticipated events at the RT Convention and this year's YA extravaganza was no exception! With a host of exciting events like Author Speed Reading, Stump the Author and, of course, the megafun Teen Day Party, we had tons of fun from morning til night! The day began with the Giant Book Fair, which featured YA Alley — basically a YA booklover's dream. Authors like Kelley Armstrong, Kiera Cass and Gayle Forman signed book after book and met with their most devoted fans. This year, we added New Adult Lane, which bridged the YA and adult sections of the book fair.

Following the book fair, YA authors took off for their various panels. This year, we hosted Author Speed Reading, where authors read short excerpts from their books. There were even official time keepers to ensure they didn't go over the time limit! There was also the Interactive YA Writing Panel, where authors shared their writing processes and divulged their secret writing tips! The Stump the Author event was also a fun event where audience members tried to stump the panel of authors with questions about their own books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

You Know You Wanna Know: Menage in the Real World - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sure, it's fun to read about menages, those supersexy, polyamorous relationships that can make pages smoke. But in real life? We're pretty sure our partners might wither at the thought of having to deal with more than one of us. But as there are many different kinds of marriages, so too do polyamorous relationships happen in real life! At the RT Convention last week in NOLA, Reggie and Kasi Alexander, who also write as Cassidy Browning, brought along their partners Treena Wiles and Eva Alexander for a frank discussion of this loving lifestyle! Here are a few of the highlights. 

Reggie and Kasi Alexander (aka writing duo Cassidy Browning) at the RT book fair


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thrills and Chills with Lee Child and Charlaine Harris - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Throw Sookie Stackhouse and Jack Reacher into a room together for an hour, who do you think would come out alive? Well at the RT Convention we got to spend an hour with Lee Child and Charlaine Harris and it was magical — and no blood was shed! The masters of suspense and paranormal talked about how they got their start, how they react to negative reader feedback and charmed the entire room. We laughed, we learned. Some of the highlights: 

Lee Child and Charlaine Harris

The conversation started on a humorous (or incredibly dark, depending on who you are) note with both authors being asked how they would cover up the perfect murder. Lee started by saying, "It's all about no evidence, you can't leave any evidence behind." He used the example of sinking a body in the middle of a deep lake as a crime that wouldn't leave a trace. Charlaine brought up a great point, reminding us that "you'd have to kill someone you have no connection to" so that you wouldn't be a suspect.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Fiestas: Avon's Krewe and Heather Graham's Mardi Gras Mayhem

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for another party post, full of epic costumes and food porn? Then we, as always, are here for you. You'd think by Friday we might be slowing down the pace here in New Orleans at the RT Convention, but you would be mistaken! (Thank goodness for caffeine.) Friday's fiestas including the always awesome Avon party, where attendees mingled with their favorite Avon authors, nibbled on snacks — and scored tons of free books. Then it was time for Heather Graham's always epic dinner theater and costume competition. For a true understanding of the awesomeness, eyeball these pictures we snapped! 

 

With free books, drinks and sweets, the Avon/HarperCollins reader party was a hit!

 

Heather Graham made quite the entrance arriving to her party on a float!

 

It's not a Heather Graham party without singing, skits and shenanigans.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thursday Party Round Up: Pub Crawls, Saints & Sinners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

We warned you yesterday, our party round ups are going to feature a lot of exclamation points and amazing costume pictures. Last night was the first ever RT PUB CRAWL! Hoo boy! The RT Convention took NOLA by storm, and we're not sure if the city — or any of us — are ever going to be the same. If that wasn't enough, we headed back to the hotel for Samhain's Saints and Sinners party — though we're not sure there were a lot of saints left after that pub crawl, if you know what we mean (and we think at least the fortune teller does)!

Here are some pictures from our epic Thursday!

1001 Dark Nights authors mingling at Rita's Tequila House during the pub crawl

 

Lovely Penguin authors enjoying beverages at The Beach on Bourbon Street

 

Samhain's big bash — sinners on one side, saints on the other!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Capturing the New Adult Voice - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

New Adult has quickly blossomed into a full-blown, uber-popular genre, and many authors are turning to it for new ideas and projects. But capturing that college-age voice can be rather tricky. Sophie Jordan, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Cora Carmack, Kristin Cast, Jamie McGuire, Veronica Rossi and Tammara Webber gathered at this year’s RT Convention to share their thoughts on the genre and provide valuable insight on how to tap into this audience and mindset.

photo of the panelists

The lovely panelists!

Sophie started the discussion by asking the authors to discuss voice and whether it’s organic or not. Cora immediately said that it is in fact organic and “that’s my voice.” Jennifer added that because she writes both YA and adult romance as well, it is easier to “hold that middle ground” that New Adult is built on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST