RT Daily Blog

2013 RT Convention Outfits: Morgan's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

May might seem like it's far off, but the truth is the RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do! There's a full schedule of panels, workshops, events and of course parties. Clearly, one outfit a day isn't going to cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases because the RT staff is bringing you their picks for what to wear to the themed evening events and nighttime parties at this year's RT Convention in Kansas City May 1-4. Eager for inspiration? Take a gander at RT web director Morgan Doremus' 'best of' looks.

Ellora's Cave Bad Girls of Romance Disco Inferno


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Calling All Contemporary Romance Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

The 2013 RT Booklovers Convention is officially less than one month away! Taking place in Kansas City, MO from May 1 - 5, this year we are celebrating 30 years of great RT conventions. With a huge list of panels, parties and other great happenings, this week on the RT Daily Blog we are going genre-by-genre to spotlight authors you will want to meet and events you won’t want to miss. 

Earlier this week we took a look at the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy and Erotic Romance programs. Today Contemporary Romance is our focus. But remember, this is just a taste, a complete list of events can be found at the full convention schedule.  

And if you are interested in what you see, registration is still open! Go here for the FULL CONVENTION REGISTRATION, which gives you access to events taking place Wednesday, May 1 through Sunday, May 5. Also available on the registration page are DAY PASSES and WEEKEND PASSES, to fit any schedule and budget. 

***

THE GIANT BOOK FAIR


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Calling All Erotic Romance Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

The 2013 RT Booklovers Convention is officially one month away! Taking place in Kansas City, MO from May 1 - 5, this year we are celebrating 30 years of great RT conventions. With a huge list of panels, parties and other great happenings, this week on the RT Daily Blog we are going genre-by-genre to spotlight authors you will want to meet and events you won’t want to miss. 

Yesterday we took a look at the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy program, and today Erotic Romance is our focus. But remember, this is just a taste, a complete list of events can be found at the full convention schedule.  

And if you are interested in what you see, registration is still open! Go here for the FULL CONVENTION REGISTRATION, which gives you access to events taking place Wednesday, May 1 through Sunday, May 5. Also available on the registration page are DAY PASSES and WEEKEND PASSES, to fit any schedule and budget. 

***

THE GIANT BOOK FAIR


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Calling All Paranormal Romance Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

The 2013 RT Booklovers Convention is officially one month away! Taking place in Kansas City, MO from May 1 - 5, this year we are celebrating 30 years of great RT conventions. With a huge list of panels, parties and other great happenings, this week on the RT Daily Blog we are going genre-by-genre to spotlight authors you will want to meet and events you won’t want to miss. 

First up is the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy program. But remember, this is just a taste, a complete list of events can be found at the full convention schedule.  

And if you are interested in what you see, registration is still open! Go here for the FULL CONVENTION REGISTRATION, which gives you access to events taking place Wednesday, May 1 through Sunday, May 5. Also available on the registration page are DAY PASSES and WEEKEND PASSES, to fit any schedule and budget. 

***

THE GIANT BOOK FAIR


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Convention Outfits: Elisa's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

May might seem like it's far off, but the truth is the RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do! There's a full schedule of panels, workshops, events, and of course parties. Clearly, one outfit a day isn't going to cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases because the RT staff is bringing you their picks for what to wear to the themed evening events and nighttime parties at this year's RT Convention in Kansas City May 1-4. Eager for inspiration? Take a gander at RT web editor and social media coordinator Elisa Verna's 'best of' looks.


Rosie Gulch's Gals Get-Together


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Flight: How Authors And Readers Co-Wrote A Novella During The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Great things come from book conventions. Readers meeting authors. Authors pitching books. Publishers finalizing contracts. But what happens when all three of these groups come together? Well, if you were at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, you had a chance to take part in a fantastic workshop where readers participated in a brainstorming session that resulted in a story the authors co-wrote and have now published.

“Flight,” the newly-released, self-published short story is the result of the “You Done It” workshop at the 2012 RT Convention. After readers and workshop attendees brainstormed the plot, it was up to the writers of the authors of “The Outfit,” a collective of Chicago crime writers, to get the story written. Talent including Libby Fischer Hellmann, Laura Caldwell, Jamie Freveletti and Michael Allen Dymmoch wrote the story in round-robin segments. The result is a mystery with a unique voice.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Convention 2012: Bookseller Deborah Neff Reminisces

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you're a seasoned RT Conventioneer, chances you've seen spunky bookseller Deborah Neff's smiling face at a RT Convention event or two. For the past five years, Deborah has joined us as we've celebrated reading and romance all over the country, and today she shares some of her most memorable moments from this year's RT Booklovers Convention.

I’ve just recently returned from my fifth RT Booklovers Convention, this time located in Chicago, IL. As always, it was non-stop activities, books, authors, books, occasional hunky eye candy, (did I mention books?), parties, little sleep — in short, a blast!

In 2008, when I decided on a whim to attend my first convention, I can remember the shocked responses of my family, friends, and co-workers: You’re going where? Who are you going with? Do you know anyone there? Of course, I didn’t know a soul who was attending. They all thought I was nuts and for a moment when I first entered the hotel and saw everyone walk by in groups; I thought that I might be, too.

Since I was a bookseller, I headed straight for the Bookseller orientation meeting. Kate Ryan, the Bookseller liaison, made me feel so welcomed and I immediately became friends with several other booksellers. In fact, as the week progressed, I went from not knowing anyone, to by the time I left, feeling that I had met everyone and had made lots of new friends.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2012 RT Convention: A First RT Convention Through The Eyes Of Author Suzanne Selfors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA author Suzanne Selfors is no novice to writing enchanting stories for young readers, but this year marked the author's first RT Booklovers Convention. Today the author shares her experiences meeting fans at Teen Day, singing books in YA Alley and enjoying a whirlwind weekend in Chicago. 

I wasn’t sure it would be worth it. I’d never been to a romance convention before. I’d never even thought of my books as “romantic.” But other writers told me, “You gotta go. The RT convention is crazy. Crazy in a good way.” So there I sat, on the tarmac in Seattle, while the pilot explained that the tow bar had broken and we’d have to wait for another tow bar. Wait, and wait and WAIT. The passenger next to me was a nervous wreck, wringing his hands and talking incessantly. Turned out he was on his way to jail to serve a three-year term for drug possession. All in all, it wasn’t the most uplifting beginning to my journey.

But my mood changed the second I stepped into the hotel, where three women greeted me. Goggles perched on their foreheads, ample bosoms spilling out of their blouses, they were laughing. “What are the costumes for?” I asked, dazed after the five-hour flight, plus two-hour tarmac delay. “We’re going to a steampunk party,” was the reply. Steampunk party?

Things were looking up.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Convention 2012: Australian Bookseller Megan Bamford Reflects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Megan Bamford is a woman who wears many hats. She's a bookseller for the Australian retailer Angus & Roberts, a romance reviewer on her blog Veiled Secrets Reviews and even is an author! Megan is also a familiar face at the RT Booklovers Convention, and we were thrilled she could join us in Chicago for the 2012 RT convention. Today, Megan shares why she continues to make the RT Booklovers Convention an annual event, and why it's so important to her as a bookseller, reader and romance lover.

For me this year's RT Convention wasn't so much a group of informative business meetings as a giant family reunion. After a year communicating long distance via email, Skype and Facebook, I was finally able to hug the women who, through out shared experience as romance readers and sellers at the RT Conventions, have become a close extended family. The pre-convention days are spent at the bar in the lobby spotting friends and extended family members as they arrive. Each new arrival — be they bookseller, loyal reader or author — is met with glad cries of recognition and embraces from those that have waited all year for this one event. Travelers from far and wide fall back into easy conversation as though we were never parted, news is exchanged and offers of help abound for the slightest problem, concern or query because that is what family does.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Teen Day From An Author's Point Of View

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

With over sixty YA authors taking part in this year’s second annual Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention, we asked a few of our favorite writers to share their favorite moments from this year's convention. Get an inside look at what it was like for Richelle Mead, Beth Revis, Carrie Ryan and Alyxandra Harvey to hang out with fellow booklovers, authors and, of course, YA fans!

***

RICHELLE MEAD


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST