RT Daily Blog

Teen Day: YA Authors Talk Writing And More During A Series Of Directed Panels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

During the second annual Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention, readers got a chance to hear from authors during three separate formal discussion panels. The event started with “From Spark to Fire: Interactive World and Character-Building Workshop,” continued with “Feeding the Fire: Conflict and Action in YA Novels” and wrapped up with “Tending the Inferno: Series, Stand-Alones and Genres in YA.” Then attendees headed off to the fantastic Teen Day Party. But if you couldn’t join us in Chicago, today we bring you a peek inside the action with a look at the three author workshops.

In “From Spark to Fire,” a panel moderated by Melissa Marr, authors Kelley Armstrong, Nancy Holder, Beth Revis, Veronica Roth, Margaret Stohl and Cinda Williams Chima gave us a peek inside of their head and their series. So what are some of the things we learned?


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Speed Dating And Speed Reading At Teen Day: Why You Wish You Were There!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

During Teen Day, Young Adult fans had many chances to mix with authors. All Saturday afternoon at the RT Book Reviews Convention there were panels that encouraged readers to get to know the creative talent behind the stories they love. As several more traditional panels ran, genre fans also got the chance to learn more about authors during the Author Speed Dating session and hear about upcoming books during the two Author Speed Reading events.

***

Teens got a chance to spend time with some of their favorite genre authors during the Speed Dating session. As a group of writers revolved through different tables set up around the room in three-minute intervals, readers got to have their questions answered, and in some cases even spend some one-on-one time with the authors they love!

RT’s Meera Patel shared some of her highlights of the session. She told us, “This was a fantastic panel that let teens spend a little time with some of their favorite authors, and gave them a chance to meet new authors. Personal time with your favorite author? Where you get to talk about whatever you want?”

Did you know ...


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joyee Flynn And Gabrielle Evans Celebrate M/M Romance At The RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

At this year’s RT Booklovers Convention, fans celebrated love in all its forms at the nighttime soiree Joyee and Gabrielle’s Big Adventure. The event was hosted by authors Joyee Flynn and Gabrielle Evans, who are both authors of male/male erotic romance.

Hosts Joyee Flynn and Gabrielle Evans

A quick look around the packed evening event made it clear that the first event celebrating male/male romance was a success! The party was certainly warm and welcoming, full of erotica and romance readers all supporting love in its many forms. We had a great time hanging out with booklovers who are longtime fans of these types of stories, and those who had never tried m/m books before.

In addition to fans mingling, checking out the cover model servers and enjoying Sex on the Beach and Cosmo shooters and a chocolate fountain, readers also got to go home with an awesome goody bag. The bags contained swag in many forms, including a wristband that was actually a thumb drive — and came stocked with books from both authors. (Read on to learn how you can win one of these thumb drives!)


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2012: Moments From YA Alley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

This year at the Giant Saturday Bookfair during the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, YA Alley was the place to be if you were a young reader or simply young at heart! The area was packed full of authors, there were over 60 in attendance. From big names including Melissa Marr and Richelle Mead to debut authors like Jus Acardo and everyone in between, authors and fans had a great time interacting. For everyone who wasn't able to attend, three of our favorite new authors share personal facts that readers don't know — and let us in on a secret about their heroines.

***

Josephine Angelini told us a bit about herself and a bit about her character Helen, the heroine of the paranormal series Starcrossed, who discovers that she's descended from ancient Greeks ... a heritage that comes with a curse from the Furies themselves. On a personal note, Josephine revealed to us that in real life she has size 9 feet and can't eat cheese (so sad!). And what did we find out about her character Helen? This sassy, accident-prone teen is a lip gloss fanatic!


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Convention Report: Pitch-A-Palooza 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Earlier this month, at the RT Booklovers Convention, we hosted our first annual Pitch-A-Palooza. Billed as “speed dating for authors and editors and agents,” it was a chance for authors to spend three minutes pitching their next project, book or series to agents and editors in one-on-one sessions. The atmosphere in the room was very friendly, which helped newbie aspiring authors feel comfortable pitching and although there were long lines to meet some of the agents and editors, things moved swiftly and smoothly. The event had over forty agents and editors in attendance, and authors got a chance to pitch an average of about twelve times.

But it wasn’t just about the three minutes when authors were chatting with the editors that were important, the event also had a special Pitch, Feedback & Advice Booth at the center of the room, where a literary agent, Hollywood producer, media personality and image advisor were happy to help aspiring and published authors polish their pitch, to make sure that they were doing the most with the time they had available.

And what did the agents and editors think of the event? We got a chance to chat with several of them after the end of Pitch-A-Palooza and they shared their takeaway!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Black Dagger Brotherhood and Four-Letter words: J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen Let Loose at Convention

BY Audrey Goodson Kingo, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

As the newest staff member at RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, this was my first time attending our convention — and boy was it a doozy! From meeting my favorite romance authors Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Loretta Chase to catching glimpses of fiction idols like Anne Rice and Sue Grafton, every minute of convention seemed to be packed with excitement. But my favorite moment, by far, was sitting in on the panel "No Holds Barred With J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen." I'm not exaggerating when I say I've never encountered a more fanatic reader following than the people who were at this reader event. In fact, the crowd's obvious enthusiasm inspired me to pick up the Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and just a week after convention, I'm already on book four. I can't wait until I get to the point that I understand all of the spoilers Ward divulged at the chat. Want to find out what they were? In Ward and Andersen's own words, "Keep reading!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Colleen Houck On Teen Day, Tiger's Destiny and More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Colleen Houck talks her bestselling Tiger's Curse series, the upcoming film adaptation and what she was up to at the second annual RT Teen Day in Chicago! In today's interview with RT's Whitney brings readers the insider details about all of this — and the upcoming Tiger's Destiny when she sits down with the popular paranormal YA author.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Moments From RT: Author And First-Time Conventioneer Elisabeth Staab Shares Her Thoughts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Newbie author Elisabeth Staab is proud to say that during this year’s RT Booklovers Convention, “I was an RT Con Virgin.” In this guest post, the author hopes to help others by breaking down the things that she thinks every author should know before they attend RT for the first time.

Looking back on my week at RT Booklovers Convention 2012, it’s astonishing to think that I wasn’t even planning to go this year. My debut vampire novel, King of Darkness, had only released in February. Nobody would know who I was, right? RT was hardly on my radar screen. But veteran vampire romance author Laura Kaye asked if I’d be interested in joining her for a really fun-sounding reader panel called Name that Vampire! I couldn’t say no. Still, RT was such a huge con, and I didn’t know what to expect. I can’t tell you how blown away I am, even still, now that I’m finally home and de-virginized.

So today I bring you a little of what I’ve taken away from my very first RT experience. The good, the bad, and the holy $&#!:

 

The Good:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teen Dream: Hanging Out At The Teen Day Party!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

There was good food, awesome music and amazing giveaways at the second annual Teen Day party. All over the room teens were trading the new reads that were tucked in their goody bags, snagging authors to sign books and of course, making new friends. At the party in addition to the giveaway bags that were stuffed to overflowing, there were also several scavenger hunts, a makeup station and, of course, authors.  If you weren’t able to join us at the event, here’s a snapshot of what went on!

Everywhere you looked fans were chatting about the books we all love. Teens came from miles away to celebrate our second annual teen day. One young reader and her mother took an 11-hour train trip to join us in Chicago. And locals were out in full force too.

The room was high-energy as readers and authors mixed. YA fan Chelsea summed up the mood in the room perfectly when she said that her favorite part of the event was getting to talk to authors because, as she said it, “They are like rockstars!”

And what did some lucky readers learn about the books that they love (and what’s ahead for some of their favorite authors)? Well, there’s no predicting what a YA author will say next, that’s for sure!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fans Unite At The FAN-tastic Day Party!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We hosted our first-ever FAN-tastic Day, on Saturday during the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention. The program, which included workshops and panels culminated in a reader party that featured several of the biggest names in fiction. At the evening event readers had a chance to connect with authors on a one-on-one basis. If you couldn’t make it out, here’s a taste of the party — and what you might have learned if you were in the room!

Some of our favorite moments were things “overheard” at the party as authors were chatting with readers. We bet that you didn’t know that futuristic romance author Marcella Burnard lives (and writes) on a boat with her cats. What a life, right?

And Sharon Page revealed seeing pictures from a recent photo shoot of Len Gunn aka Mr. Romance 2011, inspired her to write a steamy scene readers may come across in one of her upcoming novels … is it just us or is it getting hot in here?

As we partied with the authors, several of whom reduced us to near squees, we got a chance to find out about a few of their fangirl (and guy) moments!


Read More>>

Tags: Convention
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST