RT Daily Blog

Andrew Peterson Gets Attacked By A Dog (And He Likes It)!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

We all know that when it comes to writing mysteries, it’s all about the details. And sometimes, there is simply no substitution for research that's done by asking a professional. Today, thriller author Andrew Peterson shares a look into the hearts and minds of ATF agents — and talks about what it was like to be attacked by one of their dogs (don’t worry, he volunteered for it!) during the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention. Then, find out how you can get your questions answered by — and an up close look at — these fearless agents.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Anne Rice Will Be At The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are excited to announce that the incomparable author Anne Rice will be joining us for the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention in Chicago!

Rice began her writing career in 1976 with Interview with the Vampire and has since written thirty-three additional novels under this name as well as the erotica pen names Anne Rampling and A.N. Roquelaure. The author has also had several of her works adapted into graphic novel format. In total, during the last three and a half decades, Rice has sold nearly 100 million copies of her books.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

James Rollins Will Be At The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

James Rollins is the bestselling author of the Sigma Force thrillers, a fast-paced series which will continue with this summer’s Bloodline. Rollins has also penned the Jake Ransom series for young readers and the novelized version of 2008’s Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. We are thrilled that this fantastic talent will be joining us at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention which will be held in Chicago from April 11 - 15.

Today, Rollins shared why he’s looking forward to convention: “Conventions are like people, each has their own unique personalities. And as much as I've heard about RT from my fellow authors and about how much FUN they've had, I knew I wanted to go. In addition, RT BOOK REVIEWS Magazine has always been a great supporter of my books, and I hope to be able to thank everyone in person. Plus I hear the Faerie Ball is featuring a Scottish Theme. Finally, an excuse to wear a kilt!”

***

So where can you find the author while he’s in Chicago? If you’re not already registered for convention but you want to see Rollins in action, you can catch him at these two events on Saturday, April 14.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

DKMS And RT: Working Together To Help Those Suffering From Leukemia

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are proud to announce that at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, we will be working with DKMS to help those with Leukemia, a cancer that affects a person's bone marrow and blood. DKMS matches donors with people who have the disease. Today, DKMS Donor Recruitment Coordinator Erika shares her own story of working at the non-profit organization and how you can get involved. It's easier than you think! 

I am not afraid of needles. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like them, but ever since I was little I learned to just grit my teeth and deal with them. When I was finally old enough to donate blood, I was excited about being able to help others. 

Yes, I know I’m weird.

In college, I always made sure to donate at our blood drives every semester. Once while I was waiting to donate and scoping out the post-donation goodies, a volunteer from DKMS, the bone marrow donor center, approached me and asked “Have you ever thought of registering as a bone marrow donor?” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Look At Sex Throughout History With Author Delilah Marvelle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Delilah Marvelle's steamy historical romances are always fan favorites, and between books the author keeps the historical romance love going at her terrific blog A Bit O'Muslin. We love to read Delilah's in-depth posts about the history of sex and society's fascination with it. So when we were putting together the "Sex Throughout History" workshop for the upcoming RT Booklovers Convention, we knew that Deliliah was the perfect fit to run the panel. For those looking for a taste of what will be covered during the talk, we asked the author to tell us ten totally true (and totally shocking) moments in the history of sex. Here's what she said ...

Here are ten things you may not know about sex history:

1) The oldest model of the male anatomy used for the purpose of “satisfaction” is 28,000 years old.

2) Egyptians wore condoms. They were very unattractive, made out of linen and tied around the waist like a belt.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2012 RT Convention Online Registration Now Open

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Registration is now open for the 29th annual RT Booklovers Convention, April 11-15 in Chicago. In addition to our print registration form, we now have online registration, making registering a breeze for attendees. Online registration is available for the full convention, in addition to a variety of other registration options. If you’d rather just attend Teen Day, FAN-tastic Day, or purchase a single day pass, you can do so online with ease. You can find details on all the registration options here.

To top it all off, we’ve launched our new RT convention website: www.rtconvention.com, where you can find information on all the convention events, workshops, parties and more! From booksellers to aspiring authors, there’s sure to be something for everyone.

Print and online registration not your style? Or maybe you have a few questions that weren’t addressed on the convention site. You can always call the RT office at 1-800-989-8816 and register over the phone, as well as have all your convention-related questions answered.

We’re gearing up for 5 days of booklover fun, and we can’t wait to see you there!


Read More>>

Tags: Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION 2012 Will Take Place In Chicago

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 11/17/2011: We've launched our new and improved convention mini-site www.rtconvention.com. There you can electronically register for our 2012 convention in Chicago, take a look at what will be taking place and find out how you can get involved with RT's volunteer and promotional opportunities!

BLOG UPDATE 10/13/2011: We've announced a preliminary schedule for the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention. You can check out this year's workshops and panels at our Convention homepage or by taking a look at our Convention Overview. Find out what's in store during our Reader Program, our Writers' Programs — such our Genre Panels, Hands On and Specialty workshops — and don't miss the first look at the author's who will be attending this year's Giant Book Fair on Saturday!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
98COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Looking Back At The Comics & Graphic Novel Day At The 2011 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS’ Graphic Novel Columnist and graphic novel author Anne Elizabeth shares a look back at some of her favorite panels and workshops from Comics & Graphic Novel Day at the RT Booklovers Convention!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Real-Life ATF Heroes Speak at RT Booklover’s Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thriller author Andrew Peterson is no stranger to dangerous and daring escapades. But how does this author come up with these scenes of mayhem? This daredevil author combines his own experiences of target shooting, scuba diving and helicopter flying, with a little bit imagination. But when he's in doubt he turns to trusted sources, such as government agents, for more information. Today the author describes his experiences meeting ATF agents at the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention and what he has scheduled for next year.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Meet Writing With The Stars Winner Maeve Greyson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

This year RT and Kensington hosted the Writing With the Stars competition where readers could vote on which aspiring author won a book contract with Kensington's Brava line. The winner was aspiring author Maeve Greyson for her paranormal manuscript "Eternity's Mark". After Alicia Condon of Kensington announced Maeve's win on Thursday during the annual RT awards ceremony we got a chance to catch up with this brand new author who was selected by RT readers!

Can you tell us about where you were when you got "the call" saying you won the Writing With the Stars competition?

I was at work, checking my email on my phone every two seconds. I saw in the subject line "Final Results" [from RT] and I couldn't look at it. I put my phone down. And then I looked and saw that I won and the room started whirling. My other cubical workers wanted to know if I won, but I wanted my husband to be the first to know. I called him, but then I couldn't speak. He must have thought something was wrong. But then I whispered, "I won" and he said, "Say it louder." And I yelled "I WON!". In the south we have a habit of turning one syllable words into two syllable. And he said, "Hot da-umn." Then one of my co-workers yelled out, "She won!" and everyone in the office was cheering.

How did you decide to enter the Writing With the Stars contest?

I waited until the last day to enter. I didn't think my story was one they were looking for. I didn't think it was hot enough. But then I thought, what the heck — I'll give it a try.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST