RT Daily Blog

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Ellora's Cave Fantasy Party Goes Bollywood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

What do you get when you add spice to Hollywood? Bollywood! And this year at the Ellora's Cave Fantasy Party convention attendees embraced all the aspects of the type of Indian cinema with colorful glamour and the sound, sights and tastes of this exotic entertainment! At the party...

Dancers performed traditional Indian dances - with a modern twist!

Even the crowd got in on the fun

Ellora's Cave authors walked the stage

Groups of friends dressed for the festivities


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Keeping Your Historical Romances Fresh

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

This afternoon historical romance writers (and a sprinkling of readers, too) got a treat with the workshop "Tackling Historical Realities in Today's Historicals". Captained by Renee Bernard, the panel was also made up of Victoria Alexander, Cheryl Holt, Julianne MacLean and Sophia Nash. From the glittering ball rooms of the ton to the harsh beauty of the highlands, all five of these authors are renowned for bringing their historical romances to life with detailed settings and characters who act according to the social norms of the time. 

We were thrilled to be able to catch up with Captain Renee Bernard for a quick chat about what inspired her (and her band of merry authors) to create this workshop:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Mixing It Up At The Intergalactic Bar & Grille

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tonight science fiction fans, readers and authors all gathered at the Intergalactic Bar & Grille! Hosts Linnea Sinclair, Jade Lee, Janet Miller (aka Cricket Starr), Karen Miller, Marcella Burnard and Nathalie Gray embraced all things science fiction as the inspiration for some out-of-this-world treats and games for all that attended. 

During the party, the hosts gave us some sneak peeks on what we can expect from them in the future.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Being Un-Human In Paranormal Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

When it comes to the world of paranormal romance, readers know that they can will be able to find anything and everything that could go bump in the night within the pages of these books. But how do authors keep these characters fresh? At today’s paranormal panel readers got an insider look at how genre experts Angela Knight, Shana Abe, Kate Douglas, Jacquelyn Frank and Erin Quinn make their magical beings seem so real. 

We got a chance to chat with the authors about which otherworldly characters are their top creature choice and how each author makes their special characters come to life:

Angela Knight shares that her choice was easy to make. “My favorite otherworld creature to write is the vampire. I've been fascinated by vamps since I was a teenager in the late 1970s, when I read Interview With a Vampire by Anne Rice. Which was a very sensual book, if disturbing in a lot of ways.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Creating Dark And Dangerous Urban Fantasy Worlds

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

From demons to vampires, kick-butt heroines and dark alliances, the worlds of the Urban Fantasy genre are a dark re-imagining of our own. But what sources do authors mine for inspiration and how do they keep readers coming back for more? Earlier today Jackie Kessler moderated a discussion with Kelley Armstrong, Diana RowlandRachel Vincent and Jaye Wells about the ways that they create the creatures they feature, the directions that the genre is moving in and what fans can expect from them next. 

We got a chance to chat with Jackie Kessler about the characters readers can find in Urban Fantasy today and she said one of the best things about the genre is that "when you write urban fantasy, you aren’t limited to the human race."

While we are all familiar with the ever-popular vampire tales, Jackie was quick to point out that Urban Fantasy is not limited to just vampires. She then went on to give us a 'cheat sheet' to the creatures found in the panelists' books: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Starting The Morning Right With The Welcome Mixer!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today the wait is finally over — we've kicked off the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention! This morning the fun began bright and early with the Welcome Mixer. Readers, authors, booksellers and industry insiders turned out for the first party of the convention. 

After we all got some morning treats, RT Founder Kathryn Falk greeted convention goers and shared a preview of what was to come in the days ahead. We also heard a lovely tribute to Walter Zacharius, the head of Kensington Publishing who recently passed on. And of course, Kate Ryan, RT's Bookstores That Care Network Coordinator, announced RT's Bookseller of the year, Darlene Krogol of Another Look Books. This Michigan-based bookseller wrote a song that celebrated RT's commitment to supporting Independent bookstores and, to the tune of a classic by Gladys Knight & the Pips, RT's Mr. Romance 1996, Mark Johnson serenaded the crowd!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Ready For The Saucy Sirens Through History Party At The RT Booklovers Convention!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Amanda McIntyre chats about one of the parties she can't wait to attend at this year's RT Booklovers Convention in LA from April 6th - 10th. 

Hi Booklovers!

Amanda McIntyre here and I hope everyone is ready for what is going to be one of the best RT Booklovers Conventions ever! So much detail and care has gone into making this year’s premiere readers and writers convention an event to remember. Not only is it being held at the luxurious Westin Bonaventure Hotel, but the lineup of authors and social events is over the top this year. My thanks to RT for featuring a couple of the parties that I am thrilled to be co-hosting this year with some talented, terrific and enthusiastic authors! 

Starting out the week is Saucy Sirens Through History! Hosted by a few returning historical authors from last year's wildly successful Midnight Mad Hatter Tea Party, we've this year added some new historical faces to the group and it promises to be even more fun. And when I say--historical--you'll see what I mean when you hear about the fun we have planned.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors At Thrillerfest 2010 Reflect On The Value Of Attending Conventions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT staff always has a great time at the Thrillerfest convention and this year was no exception. In our November issue of RT we asked authors for the best writing advice they'd ever received. Here, we get their opinions on why they go to conventions and what they get out of them.

Joseph Finder, Vanished
Conventions are . . . All about hanging out with my writer friends (there's no nicer group of people than writers, I've found), but I also like meeting industry professionals like publishers or agents, because I'm still learning about the business. And of course it's a rare opportunity for me to get to meet actual "fans" and buyers of my books and hear from them what they like (or don't!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SOCIAL SUNDAY - THE LAST DAY AT RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION 2010

BY admin, MAY 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

The Social Sunday program, new to this year's convention, was an absolute success. Authors, readers and booksellers enjoyed a day long program of events. Here are some of this years highlights:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST