RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week - RT 2014 Edition!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. This week, of course, is dedicated to all the RT Convention fun we're having in NOLA! #RT14 forever!

To say that Samhain's Saints & Sinners party was a success would be an understatement, and we don't make a habit (ba dum dum) of downplaying awesomeness.

 

 

For those not with us in NOLA, we miss you too! #RT15 in Dallas!

 

 

Yes, EL James is here. Yes, she's tweeting dirty jokes about accordian players. Man, do we love this convention. 

 

 

There's no excuse not to eat when in New Orleans. We're mainlining beignets, and we are not ashamed.

 

Yes, yes we are, good sir. Thanks for asking. Move along now.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Chat With Veronica Roth - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

With her bestselling Divergent trilogy still wowing readers and a hit movie adaptation of the first book in the series blowing up the box office, Veronica Roth is doing rather well for herself — and readers are eager to see what she does next. Today, Melissa Marr sat down with Veronica at the RT Convention in NOLA to discuss everything from the books to the movies to future projects. 

Melissa Marr and Veronica Roth

Let’s dive into what you missed if you weren’t able to attend the lively discussion. Melissa guided the discussion with ease and began the event by asking Veronica to talk about what it was like writing Divergent while still in college. Veronica mentioned she wasn’t a big partier and instead stayed in her room to write, and that it was a psychology course that inspired the novel and series. She also talked about how aspiring authors shouldn’t feel confined to any one style or genre by the creative writing courses they may be taking. Though, she still believes creative writing classes are important because they “give you a toolbox to pull from.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wednesday Party Wrap Up: Lots of Fun, NOLA Style!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're apologize in advance for all of the gushing that's going to go on in our party wrap-up posts all week. Because boy oh boy, are we having fun!

Last night RT Convention attendees hit the town at two amazing fiestas at Mardi Gras World! We love it there so much. First attendees headed to the Pirates, Scalawags & More shindig at the Grand Oak Mansion. And that Krewe of Notorious Scribes, our rambunctious author hosts, sure know how to thrown down. There were goodie bags, hurricanes and giveaways! (Like, three of our favorite things ever.) And if that wasn't enough awesomeness for one evening, we all then headed over to Mardi Gras Carnivale! There we got to check out the floats up close as a band serenaded us — and that's not to mention the food. We are stuffed full of jambalaya, etouffee and beignets — though, you know, we might still have room for more beignets today. 

Below are a smattering of pictures for you to relive or experience all the fun that was had! 

Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Pirate-y authors were scattered throughout the venue signing autographs and giving out swag.

 

Author Deb Marlowe in her fabulous pirate garb.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

LGBTQ Romance: Beyond the Pronouns - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

For the longest time, LGBTQ romance was a tiny part of the romance world — a segment often overlooked and underappreciated. But lately, more and more readers are flocking to the genre with fervor and excitement. Earlier today, Suzanne Brockmann, Heidi Belleau, SE Jakes (AKA Stephanie Tyler), K.A. Mitchell and Marie Sexton joined Riptide Publishing Senior Editor Sarah Frantz to discuss the many themes, issues and tropes presented in LGTBQ romance and why readers are so hooked.

A photo of the panelists

The panelists!

Sarah Frantz dove right in and asked the authors why they write LGBTQ romance and LGBTQ characters. Bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann said, "I'm writing about people ... As writers, we need to do our research and know what our characters believe in, what makes them tick."

SE Jakes said, "I can't control who shows up in my head."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Crafting Paranormal Creatures: Charlaine Harris, Marjorie M. Liu, Ilona Andrews & Jeaniene Frost - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, when we hear that Charlaine Harris, Marjorie M. Liu, writing duo Ilona Andrews and Jeaniene Frost are all going to be in the same room together, you'd best bet that we'll be front and center. Honestly, they could be talking about the intricacies of dry cleaning, and we'd be super into it. But today in New Orleans these masters gathered together to talk characterization, and how to create a cast who match their fantasical worlds in awesomeness. We learned, we laughed! We ogled. (Only a little.)

A photo of the panelists 

From L to R: Ilona and Gordon Andrews, Charlaine Harris, Marjorie M. Liu and Jeaniene Frost


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Never Give Up! Jackie Kessler, Keri Arthur, Stacey Kade, Jenna Black & Linnea Sinclair On Persistence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Never say die! Listen, writing a book can be a hard slog. And that's to say nothing of the rest of the publishing process. How to make it all the way to your pub date ( … and the next one) without totally losing it? Today at the RT Convention in New Orleans Jackie Kessler, Keri Arthur, Stacey Kade, Jenna Black and Linnea Sinclair gave us some pointers to stay the course. Here are some of the highlights.

A photo of the panelists

Panelist Linnea Sinclair, Jackie Kessler, Stacye Kade, Jenna Black and Keri Arthur


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2014 in NOLA: Welcome Party

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's here, it's here! It's finally here! We're all happily ensconced in New Orleans at last for the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention. After starting off with some fun events yesterday, we got down to business today, starting with the Welcome Party, which starred some very special guests — pioneers of multicultural fiction including Sandra Kitt, Brenda Jackson and Beverly Jenkins!

Kathryn Falk welcoming guests

Kathryn Falk welcoming guests

Kathryn Falk and Ken Rubin started off the event by welcoming attendees and making a big announcement. RT has partnered with Sourcebooks to bring readers RomanticReads.com, a soon-to-be-launching social website geared towards providing romance lovers with engaging, entertaining content. Members who sign up early can recieve a free gold membership — if you're at the convention, stop by the RT magazine table for more information! We'll be announcing more on this joint venture here soon.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Convention Report: HEA: The Paranormal Way

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Relationships are hard work, but throw in some fangs, dirigibles, wings and magic, and things can quickly go from complicated to hot mess. But everyone deserves a happy ending, including our favorite otherworldly characters. Bestselling author Jeaniene Frost moderated the HEA: The Paranormal Way panel at this year’s convention where she was joined by Meljean Brook, Kresley Cole and Nalini Singh to discuss the challenges and victories in writing happy endings for the paranormal.

The panelists posing for a photo

Jeaniene Frost, Kresley Cole and Nalini Singh posing for photos

The room was packed full of eager readers who let out more than a few squeals of excitement over hearing their favorite paranormal romance authors discuss their books. While Jeaniene kept discussion focused on what it's like writing happy endings for paranormal characters, she also asked the authors to comment on the various challenges of writing a paranormal creature and keeping them relatable despite their extraordinary backgrounds.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Regina's Epic RT Convention Playlist

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's something essential for enjoying RT Convention that we've kept to ourselves, but it's finally time to let you in on the secret. It's RT editor Regina Small's amazing RT Convention playlists. This year's playlist is super pop-y, has several songs celebrating female sexual agency and will without a doubt put you in a partying mood. So, basically, it's perfect for RT Con in New Orleans. If you're looking for something to energize you during your flight or while you get gussied up for the night parties, this is it. Enjoy, and if you see Regina give her a high five.

Open Playlist In Spotify | Open Playlist In Your Browser


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Business and Self-Publishing Workshops

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

We've certainly heard about the dangers of all work and no play. You've got nothing to fear at the RT Convention, because we have plenty of both on the agenda! We've already previewed some evening parties, so today it's time to get down to business by highlighting a sample of the business and self-publishing workshops that will help take your career to the next level. Here we go!

Let’s start with the gritty business, shall we? Starting Wednesday at 8:45 a.m., the Boardroom on the first floor of the venue will play host to the Author Services Connection, a hub where authors and publishers can schedule one-on-one meetings to discuss working together. Publicists, freelance editors and cover artists will also have the chance to connect with others and drum up new business. The Author Services Connection room will remain open through Friday.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST