RT Daily Blog

HP Mallory's Top Five Places To Visit In New Orleans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

The annual RT Booklovers Convention is one short week away, and you're probably scrambling to pack, tweak your schedule and make sure you have everything you want to see you do in New Orleans figured out (or maybe that's just us?). Author HP Mallory, whose release this month — Ghouls Rush In, takes place in the Big Easy — is here to help with a comprehensive list of things convention attendees must see and do during their stay in NOLA!

As an author and lover of all things that go bump in the night, it’s probably fitting that New Orleans would cement itself firmly in my heart as one of my most favorite places. I’ve been lucky enough to visit the Big Easy more than four times, including my most recent trip to do research on my upcoming release, Ghouls Rush In.

So, if you’re wondering what to do during your stay, I’ve made it easy for you by listing my top five must-see attractions and destinations in New Orleans:

A photo of HP Mallory taking photos in a cemetery

HP snapping photos in a cemetery

1. GHOST TOURS


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Giant Book Fair

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

We don’t call it the RT Booklovers Convention for nothing, folks. What with all the parties, panels and workshops, there’s plenty of book-related fun for everyone. But the awe-inspiring, jaw-dropping and rather gargantuan event that annually fills readers’ hearts with joy is the Giant Book Fair. And yes, it’s as magical as it sounds. Let’s take a closer look at this extravaganza, shall we?

What: Giant Book Fair

When: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM

Where: 3rd Floor, Grand Ballroom and Mardi Gras Ballroom

With more than 700 authors participating, this is a not-to-be-missed event where readers will have the chance to meet their favorite authors and get their favorite books signed! This event is open to a public and tickets can be purchased at the door on the day of the event for $5. For conference attendees, those with Saturday and weekend passes, and Teen Day and FAN-tastic Day attendees, the Book Fair is included in your registration fee.

But wait! There’s more! This year, we’ll be combining the Giant Book Fair with the E-Book/Indie Expo, which will allow readers to catch all their literary idols in one place.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How New Indie/Ebook Authors Can Make The Most of the RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

Are you an indie or ebook author getting ready to join us for the RT Convention in NOLA? Wondering how to stand out? Curious when we're going to stop asking rhetorical questions? Today Mari Carr is here to give you some pointers on how to make the most of your convention! Take it away, Mari!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Download The New 2014 RT Booklovers Convention App

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's here! We've launched the new 2014 RT Booklovers Convention mobile app today — available for both Apple and Android mobile devices. You can learn more about the fantastic features, including a personalized schedule, and how you can get it on your mobile device here. And if there's a feature you'd like to see on the convention app, there's still time to improve it! Email us ideas for features you'd like to see on the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention app and we'll pass them along to our developer. We can't wait to see you in New Orleans! And if you can't make it this year, be sure to stop by the RT Daily Blog for continuous coverage, photos and more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: DJ's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, assistant web editor DJ DeSmyter brings us some ideas for the gentlemen attending RT this year.


Mardi Gras World Carnivále

 

 

Bright colors are always great choices for Mardi Gras celebrations, so a neon green t-shirt and purple shorts are perfect selections. Throw in a classic fedora hat and comfy shoes, both gray to add some neutrality to the ensemble, and we have a simple, comfortable, yet fun outfit for the Carnivale! Full outfit details here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Mystery/Thriller Genre Tracks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

Everybody enjoys a good thrill now and then, a spine-chilling mystery to get their hearts racing and their minds obsessing over clues. At this year’s RT Convention, some of today’s hottest voices from the mystery and thriller world will gather for exciting panels, lively conversations and valuable insights into today’s market. Let’s take a look, shall we?

First up, we have “The Violence Factor: Why Are So Many People Fascinated With Violence?” thriller panel on Wednesday, May 14. Join authors Tess Gerritsen, Anderson Harp, David Morrell, L.J. Sellers and F. Paul Wilson as they discuss violence in thrillers and how it can drive a story. They’ll also discuss where the line should be drawn, and what makes violence so fascinating.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ultimate Convention Survival Guide For Bloggers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

2014 RT Convention logo

Are you as excited as we are about RT 2014 in NOLA? Because we are really, really excited. And we want you to make the most of your time with us, so today we've got book blogger and reviewer Jennifer Morris from Books Make Me Happy with some great tips on how bloggers can maximize their RT time. These tips are not only great for RT, but for any book-related conference bloggers may find themselves at.

Take it away, Jennifer!

Getting ready for literary convention season can be a three ring circus of Barnum & Bailey proportions. Juggling day jobs, family obligations and deadlines is a tough act for authors, especially, but bloggers and other fans, as well. I'm usually pretty good at putting together a plan and making lists, but things inevitably get forgotten. I usually go to conventions in full-on fangirl mode, but as a first-time RT Convention attendee, I'm hoping to do a bit more networking for my blog. Which brings me to the following list of “blogger survival tips” for RT14.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a look at RT Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small's outfits.

 

Pirates, Scalawags & More


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Evening Parties

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

2014 RT Convention logo

Grab your friends and leave your worries at the door, because when we take over New Orleans this May for our annual RT Convention, we’re going to party the night away! Besides the delicious food, insightful panel discussions and giant book fair, this year’s convention boasts an exciting line up of evening parties you won’t want to miss. Take a look:

Pirates, Scalawags & More!

When: Wednesday, May 14, from 6:00 - 7:00 PM

Where: Grand Oaks Mansion - Mardi Gras World (off-site)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Tricia's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Associate Editor Tricia Carr's picks.

Pirates, Scalawags & More

Arrrr you ready to bust out your best pirate garb? In this adorable dress I’ll fit right in with the pirates, privateers and wenches at the Grand Oaks Mansion. My pocket-watch necklace pays homage to one of my favorite pirates, Captain Hook, and I plan to channel Johnny Depp for my hair and makeup — just without the beard braids. Full outfit details here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST