RT Daily Blog

2014 RT Convention Preview: Pre-Con Fun!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Our 2014 RT Booklovers Convention officially starts on Wednesday, May 14, but did you know Monday and Tuesday are jampacked with pre-convention activities? No? In addition to our awesome Tuesday reader events, we've also got some great activities for writers, too! 

First up we have Linnea Sinclair and Stacey Kade’s Pre-Con Writer’s Boot Camp! This exciting writing intensive will take aspiring authors on a two-day learning spree full of panels and workshops. There’s an optional meet-and-greet dinner Sunday night, but the official boot camp begins on Monday with breakfast and an introduction focusing on what it means to write for publication. Some particularly enticing panels include Monday’s “Goal, Motivation and Conflict” and “”Advanced Plotting Theories.” The fun continues through Tuesday and attendees will be treated to even more inspiring panels, including “Conquering the Query & Synopsis” and “Industry Panel: The Agent/Editor/Pros Tell-All!,” an informative Q&A with a group of editors and agents.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 2015 RT Convention Will Be Held In Dallas!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Grab your cowboy hat and slip on your boots, because the RT Booklovers Convention is headed to Dallas, Texas in 2015! The 2015 RT Convention will be May 13th-17th, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Dallas.

If you're an author, publisher or industry professional looking to get a jump start on participating in the 2015 RT Convention, workshop proposal submissions are now open! Click here for more details on how to submit workshop proposals. Hotel and convention registration for the 2015 RT Convention will be open in the second half of 2014!

In the meantime, get ready for the 2014 RT Convention right in the heart of New Orleans! We can't wait to see you!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wayback Whensday: Guess The Decade And Win A Bundle Of Books

BY Elisa Verna, NOVEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you asked me my top five favorite things about working at RT, looking through our archives would definitely be up there. We have gigantic filing cabinets lining the office walls filled with photos, newspaper clippings and other gems from the 1980s and 90s that make up RT's history. As a younger person who doesn't necessarily remember much of these decades, it's so much fun seeing the party photos from RT Conventions of yore. If anything makes me want a time machine — and some big, poofy dresses.

Today I'm sharing some of my favorite RT Convention photos from years past, because keeping them locked in a filing cabinet should be a crime. And I've decided to make things extra fun: guess which decade each photo is from (either the 1980s, '90s or '00s) and win a bundle of books from your favorite genre! The photos are numbered to make things easier. Leave your guesses in the comments to enter, or e-mail them to me here with the subject "Convention Photos Giveaway" and your mailing address. 

On to the photos!

1. 

2.  

3. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Publishing Pub Crawl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Tuesday Reader Events

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

 

It’s no secret that pajamas are pretty much the best type of clothing — ever. There’s nothing quite as enjoyable as snuggling up in your pajamas with a great book and on Tuesday, May 13, the first night of the RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans, convention attendees will be able to party it up all in the comfort of their favorite PJs — bunny slippers and all! We have a whole host of pajama-friendly activities planned for you ...

Starting with Cinema Craptastique! Begun at the 2013 convention in Kansas City, Cinema Craptastique is a rousing event that brings readers and their favorite authors together to watch a movie so horrible it’s awesome, and live-tweet their critiques. So plan to throw on your pajamas at 5:30 PM, and join us for prizes, snacks and laughs! There may even be a surprise guest or two. Authors on board to host this unique cinematic experience include Laura Kaye, Elisabeth Staab, Damon Suede — and many more.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Registration Is Now Open

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you've been to our RT Booklovers Convention website recently, you may have noticed a few things have changed. Namely, the site got an overhaul, complete with makeover (isn't it pretty!?). If you're following us on Twitter (we have a Twitter account for the RT Convention too) and Facebook, you also know that registration is now open to everyone! Here are some things you should know about the new site and registration for the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention:

1. Registration for the full convention includes admittance to all convention events except for the cover model party, which is a seperate, ticketed event (tickets can be purchased in addition to full registration).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wayback Whensday: How The RT Convention Changed Lynsay Sands' Career

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you've ever been to the RT Booklover's Convention, you know it can be a life-changing experience. There's the smart, informative workshops that can jumpstart your writing. The agent and editor appointments that just might net you that book deal. The Faery Ball where you could meet your bewinged soul mates. We could go on. 

But today we're here with Lynsay Sands, to hear how the 1999 RT Booklovers Convention changed her life, and helped her to create her über-popular Argeneau vampire series. This month's One Lucky Vampire makes a decade that these bestselling books have been with us, and February's release, Vampire Most Wanted, is entry number twenty! We, of course, wanted to know how it all happened.

***

Pamela Palmer, Lynsay Sands and Merrie Destefano at the RT Convention in 2009 — 10 years after Lynsay's first RT Con.


Tell us about attending your first RT Convention.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Vampire, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: New LGBTQ Track!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

When the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention hits New Orleans next May, among the 125 workshops offered — in 16 areas (marketing, business, social networking, self-publishing and more) —attendees will be treated to panels focusing on LGBTQ romance, an increasingly popular part of the romance world. Whether it’s how to avoid writing stereotypes or exploring the many themes presented within the genre, these panels are sure to have something for everyone!

The hosts of the 2013 RT Convention LGBTQ reader party, Romance Pride: Over the Rainbow

First up, we have two exciting panels that will treat attendees to engaging insight into the wide spectrum of LGBTQ romance, and the wants and needs of publishers and readers looking for the “next big thing.” Both panels will be moderated by Sarah Frantz, Riptide Publishing’s Acquisitions Editor, who will be joined by some of the genre’s hottest authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Trip To The 2014 RT Convention From Jennifer L. Armentrout

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Bestselling Young Adult and New Adult author Jennifer L. Armentrout (aka J. Lynn) is a pretty big fan of her fans. And now she's ready to prove it! She’s offering a prize that is not only epic, but definitely RT-approved, especially since our very own Elissa Petruzzi is one of the judges!

Just what is the prize, you ask?

One lucky reader will win an all-expenses paid trip to the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention, May 13-18, in New Orleans! Exciting, no?

All you have to do to enter is write a piece of fan fiction (1,500 words or less) featuring characters from the following authors’ books:

  1. Jennifer L. Armentrout/J. Lynn

  2. Cora Carmack

  3. Laura Kaye

  4. Sophie Jordan

For the full details, head on over to Jennifer’s blog. Good luck to all who enter! Now go forth and write! We can't wait to see YOU in NOLA! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wayback Whensday: The RT Convention Love Train

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

As we gear up for 2014’s RT Booklovers Convention in the magical city of New Orleans, we thought we’d do a little dance down memory lane, and bring you the highlights from RT's past — both the RT convention and Romantic Times. So grab some popcorn and sit back and enjoy!

To kick off our Wayback Whenesday series, we’re taking a look at the historic and iconic Love Train. The Love Train was a unique Amtrak experience in 1983 that brought romance readers and authors from the West Coast all the way to New York City for the second annual RT Booklovers Convention. We got a hold of RT Founder Kathryn Falk to talk about this historic, iconic event.

A map of the Love Train's route, from the Spring #9 issue of Romantic Times, 1983

“I met a woman in California who told me she didn’t like to fly, and somehow the train was mentioned, and then we came up with the idea for the Love Train,” Kathryn told us. Soon after, together with Amtrak, Kathryn mapped out a route that would stop in multiple cities across the country, ensuring a wide range of attendees could hop on. Those joining the party were instructed to wear pink so they could be easily identified at the stops.

Starting in Los Angeles, the Love Train drew a large and enthusiastic crowd. “At the train station, hundreds of women were dressed in pink, waiting for us. It was quite extraordinary,” Kathryn remembers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST