RT Daily Blog

Inside the RT 2013 Giant Saturday Book Fair - Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

With over 450 authors in attendance, today’s annual Giant Book Fair was a buffet of writers and the thousands of readers who came out to celebrate them. Convention attendees mixed with the general public, and everyone had something to say — and a laundry list of authors to see. We asked some of the authors in attendance to share a favorite passage from one of their recent release, and here's what they had to say. 

 

Jenna Black

"I love this just for the sheer ridiculousness of the image I have in my head. I love having this hot and heavy love scene interrupted by something so completely unexpected. But I also love the serious underpinnings of the scene. The tiger is a supernatural creature linked to Jamaal, and she works as a wonderful physical manifestation of his intimacy issues. Though somehow, I doubt Nikki from Rogue Descendant thinks it's quite as wonderful as I do." — Jenna Black

I arched toward him in anticipation ...

And felt like I'd been plummeted into a pool of ice-cold water when I heard a feline growl, way too close to me.

Jamaal cursed and shoved me aside, putting himself between me and the five-hundred-pound tiger that had suddenly appeared on the bed beside us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Moments From YA Alley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

This year at the Giant Saturday Bookfair during the 2013 RT Booklovers Convention, YA Alley was the place to be if you were a young reader or simply young at heart! The area was packed full of authors, there were over 90 in attendance and authors and fans had a great time interacting. We chatted with some of the teens (and their chaperones) in attendance to get an idea of who readers were excited to meet and how young adult books have influenced their lives.

***

First, we met Kaylee, a 12-year-old reader from the Chicago area who was especially excited to meet Beautiful Creatures authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. She also told us she was looking forward to a special lunch with Rachel Caine later in the day!

Kaylee with a stack of books she got signed

Then, we met superfan Hailey, age 13, who was rocking a fun animal hat, totally appropriate for meeting Colleen Houck, an author known for the amazing shifter characters in her Tiger's Curse series. Hailey told us her favorite things about Houck's books are " ... all the curses and the adventures ... and the romance." We can't argue with that!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The RT 2013 Giant Saturday Book Fair - Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

With over 450 authors in attendance, today’s annual Giant Book Fair was a buffet of writers and the thousands of readers who came out to celebrate them. Convention attendees mixed with the general public, and everyone had something to say — and a laundry list of authors to see. We asked some of the authors in attendance to share a favorite passage from one of their recent release, and here's what they had to say. 

 

Shannon K. Butcher

"In this quote, Rory from Falling Blind is learning to use her new powers. I love it because it makes me giggle." — Shannon K. Butcher

"So you're not taking me to really fight. I'm stuck with defeating evil weeds?"

"For now. When I'm sure you're ready, then we'll move up the food chain. Maybe defeat a malevolent bush."

 

Mary Balogh


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Part(y)ing Thoughts: Heather Graham's Freaky Friday Dance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Heather Graham's parties are always unforgettable, filled with plenty of paranormal flare supernatural surprises. Last night at the RT Booklovers Convention, attendees got a chance to dress up in their weirdest, wildest garb — from wings to fangs and beyond — here are some of our favorite costumes from the Freaky Friday Dance Party.

Host Heather Graham


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: We Honor The Outstanding Books And Authors Of 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

At yesterday's annual awards ceremony, RT recognized the best in genre fiction for 2012. The ceremony also celebrated some of the authors who have made a huge impact on the booklover community through their lengthy careers.

RT founder Kathryn Falk welcomed authors and attendees to the 30th annual RT Awards Ceremony, followed by a thoughtful look back at some of the first RT Awards winners, which included Rosemary Rogers and Jennifer Wilde.

Next, RT Publisher Carol Stacy and Editor-at-Large Elissa Petruzzi paid a special tribute to the pioneers of romance, which included Jude Deveraux, Joanne Fluke, Karen Robards, Julie Garwood, Laura Kinsale and several more. 

Julie Garwood accepting her Pioneer Award

Karen Robards took home both a Pioneer Award and a Reviewers' Choice Award for her Romantic Suspense writing


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Part(y)ing Thoughts: RT's 30th Anniversary Ball

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Don't ask us to pick our favorite RT Convention, it would be like asking a parent to pick their favorite child. The past 30 years have been filled with many memorable Cons all over the country, from the days of young Fabio to the J.R. Ward peegate incident last year. But this year, we celebrated them all with a fond look back at the authors and stories that helped share romance into the wonderful, wild genre it is today. Kathryn Falk, RT Book Reviews' CEO and Liz Pelletier, Publisher of Entangled Publishing, hosted an unforgettable event. Atendees dressed in their classiest formalwear for an evening of dancing and elegance. Not to mention the several pioneers of romance who joined us as we honored them and their work and celebrated 30 years of fantastic RT Booklovers Conventions, with many more to come!

Attendees donned their best formal attire ...


Including elegant costumes and elaborate gowns


A special tribute was paid to the pioneers of romance, including author Laura Kinsale

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The E-Book Expo At The 2013 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

When it comes to e-book publishing, there’s no denying that the format allows for all kinds of creative possibilities. Digital publishing allows authors to push boundaries and write between genres, creating truly unusual characters and scenarios, as well as change it up when it comes to story length. RT has long been a big supporter of digitally published and self-published books and we love the opportunity to spotlight these authors and their work with their very own bookfair.

At today's sixth annual E-Book, Indie Publisher And Graphic Novel Expo, we chatted with some of our favorite digital-first authors and asked them about what they feel like they can do in an e-book that they may not be able to in a print book. Here's what they had to say:

Fans and authors at the 2013 RT Expo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get A 30% Rebate From All Romance E-books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

All Romance E-books (ARe) is the official bookseller for our E-book, Indie Published and Graphic Novel Expo this year and we're making it a global event so those at home can participate. Join in the fun by visiting this page on May 2 from 4pm to 6pm. Just click on any author’s name and it will take you to their unique author page on AllRomance.com, where you can begin purchasing. Use rebate code @allromance (all lowercase letters) when checking out to earn a 30% rebate. The rebate is available for all books purchard on AllRomance.com, not just authors signing at the RT Convention! You can find more details on the event and the special promotion here.

More details on how to earn a 30% ARe rebate >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Part(y)ing Thoughts: Ellora’s Cave Disco Inferno

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last night Ellora’s Cave helped us kick off the 2013 RT Booklovers Convention with an epic 1970s-themed disco dance party that got us all movin', groovin' and doing the hustle! Ellora's Cave got everyone in the spirit by providing partiers with tons of swag including sequin covered hats, Caveman calendars, disco ball key chains and more! Attendees feathered their hair, shined their go-go boots and came decked out in their finest '70s threads. (Also 'fros were big — both in size and number.) Authors, readers, cover models and Cavemen danced until the clock struck midnight! See for yourself:

RT's Elisa "hustled" on roller skates

We Will Survive a night partying with friends!

Ellora's Cave authors got into the spirit ...

... as did readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST