RT Daily Blog

World Cup Fever: Six Soccer Romances to Heat Up Your TBR Pile

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying things have been heating up thanks to the World Cup. People are excited, Twitter’s all abuzz and there are hot soccer players on our screens left and right. (And if you’ve been living under a rock these past few weeks, trust us, they’re super hot.) And if the World Cup isn’t enough, here’s a rundown of soccer romances that deserve a spot on your ereaders. All books are available as ebooks only unless otherwise noted.


Striker by Michelle Betham - Local TV Sports reporter and daughter to an ex-professional soccer player, Amber Sullivan knows better than to get involved with a player. But when she snags an exclusive story on Ryan Fisher, one of the hottest and most talented players, she finds her resolve wavering.

Buy it now: Amazon | Kobo


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Luckiest Lady in London by Sherry Thomas

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Barefoot in the Sand by Roxanne St. Claire

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thea Harrison's Hybrid Moments

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's no one right way to publish a story. For many authors, there are multiple routes to explore. Thea Harrison's Elder Race series is a great example of an author who has chosen to publish traditionally, with a small press and independently across the same universe. Today she's here to talk about her publishing journey and why she felt different stories were suited for different publishing methods.

Being a hybrid author is an interesting and challenging experience, and my path to becoming one took a few years. I returned to fiction writing by going the traditional publishing route. I’ve had nine books in my Elder Races series contracted by Berkley Publishing. Six of those have been published, and the seventh, Night's Honor, releases September 2.

An image showing the covers of Night's Honor, The Wicked and Pia Saves the Day by Thea Harrison

While unquestionably I love those bigger, full-length novels and storylines, there were other aspects to the Elder Races universe that intrigued me — world-building that I wanted to do, along with side characters who were in my head, and who wouldn’t necessarily warrant a full-length book but who were begging me to tell their stories.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Moon Racer by Constance O'Banyon

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Coulda Been A Cowboy by Brenda Novak

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Star Struck By Laurelin Paige

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cheers to another hump day! With the weekend in sight, we've got another steamy excerpt for you. This week is a shower scene from Laurelin Paige's Star Struck, the latest in her Lights, Camera series, about a snobby Hollywood actress who falls for a production designer with little patience for diva attitudes. Enjoy!

Heather’s stomach twisted. Seth was late. Seven minutes late. Maybe he got caught up on the set. Or lost track of time. Or wanted to give her a few extra minutes to finish her meal.

Or maybe he wasn’t coming.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon's Banned Book Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

After cover artist Erin Dameron-Hill posted these tips for how to prevent a cover from being flagged on Amazon, we had to ask: which covers has she seen flagged on Amazon and how does she, as a cover artist, work within Amazon's vague content guidelines to edit "racy" covers? Erin is here today to give us the rundown. (Note: Parts of this post appear in Erin's original post on her blog. She has expanded on it for RT readers.)

"What we deem offensive is probably about what you would expect.” - Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing Content Guidelines

For someone like me, that rule from Amazon’s KDP program is a little vague as to what makes a cover offensive. As an Award-Winning Cover Artist at EDHGraphics, Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, and Blushing Books Publishing with a focus on Romance and Erotica genres, I find there is little that offends me. How am I supposed to know what is appropriate for Amazon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review - Beyond Repair By Charlotte Stein

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Beyond Repair by Charlotte SteinThe novella "Beyond Repair" was my first story by Charlotte Stein, and up until maybe halfway through the book, I had a lot of mixed feelings about it. The premise wasn’t entirely appealing to me — the heroine finds a sexy movie star passed out on her floor? Really? But since I’ve suspended my disbelief for dragons, vampires and shifters, fine, ok, Alice wakes up to a movie star passed out in her home. Let’s do this.

20-year-old Alice wakes up to find A-list celebrity Holden Stark has pulled a Robert Downey Jr. all over her living room floor. At first, I was frustrated that there wasn’t much of a context. She manages to drag him to the bathroom and wake him up, but never once does Alice say “Um, what the hell are you doing here? How did this happen?” or do something sensible like call an ambulance. She thinks about doing all of the normal things one would do in this situation, but she never actually does because “awkward” doesn’t even begin to describe Alice — she’s severely agoraphobic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Virtuosoby Grace Burrowes

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Cowboy Justice by Melissa Cutler

Buy It On Amazon For $2.51 >>

Buy it On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde's Small Town Romance Ebook Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Not only are Kristen Ashley's books on sale this week, so are many of Lori Wilde's! Avon has put several of the author's small town romances on e-sale for $1.99 each. Don't miss out! We've linked to which retailers have which titles on sale, it's not the same across the board. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Appeal Of Anna Todd's After + The Best 1D Fanfic Ever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Anna Todd's After

With the sale of Anna Todd's Wattpad megahit After — a Harry Styles fanfiction that blew up — to Simon & Schuster, we had to ask ourselves why this particular fanfic was appealing to publishers. Traditional publishers purchasing fanfiction for publication is nothing new, but with so many fanfics being written, what makes After so special? We decided to ask One Direction megafan (protip: 1D fans are called "Directioners") Christin Gest to tell us why After was a hit, and to lead us down the rabbit hole of One Direction fanfiction.

Anna Todd, a twenty-five-year-old Directioner, has just made many One Direction fan dreams a reality. Ms. Todd has managed to score a six-figure book deal for her popular series After. After is published on Wattpad, which is a popular site where all things fanfiction, or just plain fiction, are published.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST