RT Daily Blog

RT Read-Along: Ruthie Knox's Roman Holiday 1: Chained

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

As we discussed yesterday, serials are making a comeback! It’s an interesting concept, especially to we romance readers, who like to devour a story in as close to one sitting as possible, to get to that HEA. So your intrepid web editors, Elisa and Elissa (we know, we confuse ourselves sometimes) have decided to experience this whole trend in real time. We’ll be reading along with Ruthie Knox’s Roman Holiday, a 10-part serial that will be released in two chunks, one between now and mid-December, and the second in March. If you’re reading along with us, let us know! We love company.

***

Elissa (who hereafter shall be referred to as EP, for all of our sanity): I’m so glad you decided to read a Ruthie Knox story with me! I’ve been a fan of hers since I snagged a copy of “About Last Night” at RT’s e-book fair last year in Kansas City.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Everything Old is New Again: Ruthie Knox on Serials and Serialization

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

The serialized novel is making a comeback, thanks to websites like Wattpad and the proliferation of fan fiction. Today, rising contemporary star Ruthie Knox begins her own serial adventure, Roman Holiday. The 150,000-word road trip romance will be released in 10 parts and the "episodes" will take a three-month break in between — the second half of Roman Holiday will be available in March.

We were so curious about this new trend that your intrepid web editors, Elisa and Elissa, are going to read along. Every Tuesday we'll post our thoughts on the latest epsiode, and we'd love it if you'd join us. To get you excited about this adventure, we asked Ruthie for her thoughts on serialization, and why she wanted to give it a whirl. 

As soon as I signed on to write a serial romance novel, people started telling me how much they hate them. “I don’t want to read things in pieces,” I heard. “I read fast, and want to know what happens now.”

Yikes.

I was surprised by these reactions at first, but then I realized that most of my feelings about serials had to do with the challenges the format presents to writers. I wasn’t thinking as a reader.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Forged by Jennifer Rush (AKA The Novella With a Hot Guy On It)

BY DJ DeSmyter, NOVEMBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you follow me on Twitter or on my own personal blog, then you know I'm kind of obsessed with Jennifer Rush's Altered series. With its high-stakes action, secret government operations and swoon-worthy guys (yes, plural), what's not to love? Now, what makes this YA series even better is the fact that the books have rather lovely covers that not only tie into the stories inside, but are also incredibly sexy and lovely to stare at. And the latest cover in the series, for the upcoming novella "Forged," is no exception! Let's take a look:

First, let's just admire the shirtless guy for a moment.

Maybe we should take another moment, yeah?

Okay, now that we've sufficiently ogled, let's talk about the rest of the cover. I absolutely love the hot pink color of the title and how it really pops against the image's general black and white scheme. And the vertical position of the title and Jennifer's name add yet another eye-catching element.

So, fellow readers, what do you think? Are you as in love with this series as I am, and can't wait for the December 3 release of "Forged"? For more YA covers, visit our Everything Young Adult Page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Back to the Bedroom by Janet Evanovich

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi   

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Kristen Ashley's Jagged — Warning, Mild Spoilers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Being a reviewer for RT means you get to read a lot, inside and outside your comfort zone. Today reviewer Marie Bongiorno tackles her first Kristen AshleyJagged — and we made her report back in depth. Beware of mild spoilers below, okay? 

If you’ve ever accessed the internet, you’ve probably heard of Kristen Ashley — or KA, as she’s known to her fans — the über-popular romance author who writes mega alpha heroes. I was intrigued, but also trepidatious, because while I enjoy a hero who takes charge, I don’t go in much for machismo.

But when Jagged, KA’s latest in her Colorado Mountain series, came up for review, I was curious enough to take a chance.

Jagged is the story of Zara and Reece. They had an on-again, off-again thing for years. Zara broke it off, knowing Reece couldn’t commit, and married another man. Things didn’t work out, and when the book opens, she’s down on her luck big time, having lost her business and her home.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Kristen Ashley's Jagged — Warning, Mild Spoilers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Being a reviewer for RT means you get to read a lot, inside and outside your comfort zone. Today reviewer Marie Bongiorno tackles her first Kristen AshleyJagged — and we made her report back in depth. Beware of mild spoilers below, okay? 

If you’ve ever accessed the internet, you’ve probably heard of Kristen Ashley — or KA, as she’s known to her fans — the über-popular romance author who writes mega alpha heroes. I was intrigued, but also trepidatious, because while I enjoy a hero who takes charge, I don’t go in much for machismo.

But when Jagged, KA’s latest in her Colorado Mountain series, came up for review, I was curious enough to take a chance.

Jagged is the story of Zara and Reece. They had an on-again, off-again thing for years. Zara broke it off, knowing Reece couldn’t commit, and married another man. Things didn’t work out, and when the book opens, she’s down on her luck big time, having lost her business and her home.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals (Free Novella Edition!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting. This week we're featuring all (mostly) free novellas!

Historical Romance

A Grosvenor Square Christmas by Anna Campbell, Shana Galen, Vanessa Kelly, Kate Noble

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Wounded by Cindy Stark

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

New Adult

Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Logan Belle on Last Chance Romance: When a Heroine Hits Close to Home

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2013 | PERMALINK
Sure, we all love to read about twentysomethings looking for love, but what about the rest of us? What about when life gets tough? Do we turn to books for escape — or for hope? Today erotic romance author Logan Belle is here to talk about her wake-up call, and the book that it inpsired.

The heroines in my erotic romances typically offer me a bit of escape from my every day life. They are young women in their twenties, at a stage where everything is in front of them: all their mistakes, all their accomplishments. Life is a long road that has yet to unfold. Love, sex and romance are all new to them.

This summer, I was in the middle of writing a novel about an NYU college student when reality intruded. I was diagnosed with early stage breast cancer. It was a reminder that while it’s fun to write about twenty-something women discovering love for the first time, I am a forty-something woman who experiences love and sex from a very different perspective. And I suspected I could no longer resist writing about that. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Why, Who and Where Can You Find the Good Ones?

BY Cyndy Aleo, OCTOBER 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

This is the first in a three-part series on self-published romance. Today we're focusing on those who are solely author-publishers. We'll also include a piece on authors who do both — publish traditionally as well as self-publish — and finish up with some recommendations in this popular (and often inexpensive) category.

The December issue of RT Book Reviews features a letter from reader Karen Ancell, who despairs of ever reading a self-published book again. In her letter, she states, "I am always looking to add authors to my list, but the people who self-publish may no longer be an option." She adds that her feelings hinge on the lack of a standard when it comes to "grammar, sentence structure and spelling." 

As a self-published author — although not in romance or erotica — Ms. Ansell's email wasn't a surprise to me, but it was a disappointment. Those of us who have self-published are well aware of the many books out there which simply aren't "ready for prime time" — and the stereotype of a self-published author as one who either doesn't care about good writing or doesn't know how to write well in the first place. 

So I did what any self-respecting blogger who has self-published would do: I tracked down some of my fellow self-published authors to talk about self-published romance and erotica.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mama Matchmaker: Karen Erickson on the Staying Power of Arranged Marriages

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 24, 2013 | PERMALINK

Dating is hard, and who among us hasn't wondered: wouldn't an arranged marriage be easier? Well today Karen Erickson is here to give us the scoop on arranged marriages. Karen's latest contemporary romance, Kidnapping His Bride, tackles such a dilemma when a contemporary couple deals with being engaged since children — and if they're still a good match now. Take it away, Karen!

When you hear the phrase ‘arranged marriage,’ you definitely don’t think of them as modern, right? I know I certainly didn’t. So when the idea came to me that I should write a couple involved in an arranged marriage, I wondered at first if I was pushing the limits. I mean, I know we’re dealing with fiction and all here, but you want the story based somewhat in fact, right?

Imagine my surprise when I did a little research and discovered that there are families out there who still put together arranged marriages between their children. These are usually families steeped in tradition, very religious, who come from a long line of arranged marriages.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST