RT Daily Blog

A New Voice in New Adult: An Interview with Mila Ferrera

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a blend of psychological twists, romance and art, Mila Ferrera's Only Between Us had no trouble catching our attention. Neither did Mila herself. With a psychologist day job and a love for authors like Jeaniene Frost, we knew we wanted to pick Mila's brain about her journey as a writer, her thoughts on the New Adult craze and the inspiration behind her book. So sit back and relax with this exclusive interview!

***

Is there a specific author or book that inspired you to become a writer?

I had been on an absolute romance binge after reading very little for pleasure while in graduate school. I don't know that there's a specific author or book that got me going, but Jeaniene Frost, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Gena Showalter were certainly my go-to authors for escapist fiction. I think I eventually decided that those novels were so much fun that I wanted to try writing, too. I wrote some speculative fiction before turning to contemporary romance. 

What do you love most about writing New Adult?


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, E/book, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

This Duchess of Mine by Eloisa James

 

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Trouble with Valentine's Day by Rachel Gibson

  

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

New Adult

While It Lasts by Abbi Glines

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

When She Was Wicked by Anne Barton

  

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Forever and A Day by Jill Shalvis

 

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Rebellious Desire by Julie Garwood  

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Tangled Up in You by Rachel Gibson

 

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friendship, Fistfights and Fishnets: Tamara Morgan on the Appeal of the Derby Girl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

The RT office is abuzz about Tamara Morgan's second in her Getting Physical series, The Derby Girl, out now from Carina. But who are these derby girls, we wondered — out loud, Carrie Bradshaw style — are they like us? Surely not! Well, we talked to Tamara herself, and she set us straight, derby girl style. 

The first time I saw a derby girl in real life was at my city’s St. Patrick’s Day parade. Wedged between the cement truck carrying the mayor and a group of Girl Scouts throwing candy were about a dozen fierce-looking women on roller skates. They skated around the crowd, handing out flyers in ripped fishnet tights, clunky knee pads, and short skirts — the whole derby package — despite the fact that it was about five degrees outside at the time. 

That should have been my first clue that roller derby girls weren’t your average sort of athlete.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Burn With Me By R.G. Alexander

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

The summer days are dwindling and the kids are heading back to school. Doesn't that just put you in the mood to cozy up to a London-set, paranormal romance? Well, friends, we at RT are here for you. Today we've got an exclusive excerpt of R.G. Alexander's Burn with Me, out today from Samhain, which reviewer Jaime Giraldi calls, "an awesome start to a series."

Trilogy starter Burn with Me stars Aziza, a heroine living on borrowed time. Believing herself cursed, her demise on its way, Aziza begins hallucinating — or is she? — during a trip to London. Little does she know what fate has in store for her ...

Death was following her.

She’d left her coat in the pub, she thought absently, wrapping her arms around herself as the air chilled her. As if she might split apart if she didn’t. She made her way around the men, most of whom had taken their hats off or bowed their heads in a sad, habitual form of respect at the view in front of them. Aziza reached the front of the circle of people and looked down.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, E/book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Lauren Layne on the Perfect First Kiss

BY Elissa Petruzzi, AUGUST 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

We at RT love a great contemporary romance — especially if there are a few laughs thrown in with all that angst. So our interest was piqued by Lauren Layne, whose funny, sexy Stiletto series debuts next week with After the Kiss. Set in NYC at glamorous Stiletto magazine, the series follows three heroines who write for the periodical's Love & Romance section, though their own romantic lives are disasters. (Let it be known that most of us working at the glamorous, Brooklyn-based RT are quite happily paired off, and we're happy to give you advice on your love life anytime, no problemo.) 

Curious to hear more about Julie Greene, Stiletto editor, who's about to take on far more than she can handle in one Mitchell Forbes? Then check out this exclusive excerpt we cajoled Loveswept to let us post here, just for you, all about the perfect first kiss! 

***

Julie had written the book on first kisses.

Well okay, technically not a book. But she definitely had no fewer than four different articles in her portfolio that outlined the nuances and categories of the first kiss.

In the bad category:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Thief of Shadows by Elizabeth Hoyt

  

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

More than This by Shannyn Schroeder

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

 

Buy On Amazon For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Barely a Lady by Eileen Dryer

  

Buy On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Stealing Home by Jennifer Seasons

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

New Adult

The Forever of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What To Look For When Choosing An E-Publisher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

While e-books have come a long way, oftentimes going digital can still feel like the Wild West of publishing. With so many digital publishers accepting unsolicited manuscripts, how can an author know what to look for and what to avoid? We asked author KT Grant, who has a great deal of experience with various e-publishers, to share her tips for new and established authors when it comes to choosing the perfect digital press.

After three years and 25 books with various e-publishers, there are many things I now know that I wished I'd been aware of when I first signed a publishing contract. As a new author searching for the right e-publisher, there are some important things you should be aware of before you sign on the dotted line. You want to pick an e-publisher who will treat you, and your book, with professionalism and respect. Hopefully some of these tips will help new authors begin a long and successful writing career.

Research, Research, Research


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST