RT Daily Blog

Sharing Yoga: Samantha Hunter On Yoga's Romantic Nature

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Exercise isn't normally thought of as sexy — but there's something downright sensual about yoga. The slow, provocative movements, not to mention thinking about what else someone that flexible can do. Yoga is the focus of author Samantha Hunter's latest romance, Bending Over Backwards, and we asked Hunter, a yogi herself, to tell us about why yoga compliments romance and how the exercise can be a highly enjoyable couples activity.

I’ve been a solo practitioner of yoga for the last three years, which basically means I don’t attend classes. Yoga is not only exercise for me, but it’s quiet time when I can relax and let all of the stress go. This is why home practice has been my choice. I rely primarily on DVDs, magazine and internet, and I’ve developed enough skill to work through whatever poses feel right on a certain day. I can pick whatever time of day I want to practice (sometimes in the middle of the night, if I can’t sleep) and I can do it for as long as I feel I want to. Still, it’s nice to share yoga, too, and couples or partner yoga is a very popular aspect of practice.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean

 

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Glitter Baby by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Crossing the Line by Katie McGarry

Buy For $1.63 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christi Barth On How To Have A Successful Summer Fling (Hint: Don’t Bring Your Family)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Summer means warm weather, vacations and lots of beach or poolside relaxation. It also means for us single folks a chance at a summer fling! But what's the right strategy for making your summer romance unforgettable? According to Christi Barth, managing family is the key. Today the author is here to share her advice, and some excerpts from her summer romance Love at High Tide, to help you navigate the waters of summer lovin'.

For a summer fling, you basically need sun, sand, and a willing (and cute!) member of the preferred sex. Seems simple, right? No obvious obstacles. If it gets too hot, you jump in the ocean/lake/pool. If it rains, you get cuddle time on the couch. If it gets late, it is warm enough to fall asleep under the stars. But often times summer vacations come with a very unwelcome obstacle: family.

Whether you’re at the family cabin, a family reunion, or the family beach house (do you sense a theme?), nothing can block impending romance like your nearest and dearest. Here’s an example from my very own beach fling book, Love At High Tide:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Ice Princess by Elizabeth Hoyt

Buy For 89 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Treading Water by Marie Force

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Keary Taylor and Her Cybernetic World

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last week, we shared some of our favorite self-published authors in our article on the rise of self-publishing. One of the authors we spotlighted was Keary Taylor, the inventive writer behind the Fall of Angels series and, most recently, the Eden Trilogy, a Young Adult dystopian series. Set in a world where a cybernetic technology has taken over the human race, the series started earlier this year with The Bane and continues with The Human. Taylor’s journey to publication hasn’t been easy, but it has most definitely been rewarding. Today, the author discusses her writing experiences, the inspiration behind her bestselling Eden Trilogy and provides insightful advice for writers looking to self-publish.

***

Can you describe how your experience in self-publishing has been so far? Have there been any particular challenges and what's the most important thing you've learned?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Rebellious Desires by Julie Garwood 

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

One Perfect Night by Bella Andre

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Pivot Point by Kasie West

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Publishing On The Rise (No Surprise Here)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

In a recent study regarding the way self-publishing affects the market, Bowker Market Research concluded that self-published works make up 12% of all e-book sales. When looking at specific genres, such as crime, romance and popular fiction, this percentage rises to 20%, which indicates a shift in the way consumers purchase books.

Steve Bohme, UK research director at Bowker, said this research marks the first time the company has “looked at self-publishing in this depth to find out what part it plays” and Bohme hopes this data will enable self-published writers to better navigate the market.

The market can indeed be tricky road to travel, as it is always changing and is heading deeper and deeper into digital territory. With Barnes and Noble’s selection of free Nook books and the extremely low prices of Kindle books on Amazon, more and more consumers are browsing online rather than in store. Since self-published authors release their works primarily in e-format, this enables consumers to discover self-published material easily and quickly. Bowker’s research also shows that online recommendation sections and special e-offers help spotlight self-published works as well.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Christine D'Abo's Choose Your Shot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Remember those fun “Choose Your Own Adventure” books from your childhood and how exciting it was to be in control of the story? Well, fasten your seatbelts because Christine D’Abo’s upcoming novel Choose Your Shot gives readers an interactive story with a very erotic twist, and we have an exclusive look at the book’s cover!

But first, let’s tell you a little bit about the book:

When Tegan receives an invite to the reopening of a BDSM club, she can’t wait to satisfy her needs that have been ignored for too long. But which man and pleasures should she choose? Readers will get to explore the club’s many seductions through Tegan and ultimately decide how her story ends. Are you ready to play?

Not only does the book sound exhilarating, but the cover is sensational! With a simple, yet evocative background, the cover features Tegan in some very skimpy clothing. While her back is to the reader, she is certainly no wilting flower. Her arched pose and come-hither look screams confidence. The author says that this is the absolute perfect depiction of her character.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Heart Breaker by Nicole Jordan

  

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Desk Jockey Jam by Ainslie Paton

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

New Adult

Relentless by Cassia Leo

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Self-Published Novel Is Right For You? Take The Quiz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s summer and not only is the weather heating up, but so are the self-pub books that are hot off the presses! If you need a good read to tote along to the beach, have we got some great titles for you. Take RT’s self-pub quiz to discover what should be next on your TBR list this season.

***

1. On a typical day, you would enjoy:

A) Working on your pianoforte skills

B) Conjuring up a love spell

C) Kicking some … er, butt

D) Getting in lots of billable hours

E) Acting as a mentor to a teen in need

 

2. If you arranged your bookshelves by theme, you’d most likely have one dedicated to:

A) How to Get Your Man

B) The Otherworldly

C) The Pleasure in Pain

D) Teenage Dreams

E) Giving Back to the Community

 

3. Your signature scent is best described as:

A) English Rose

B) Bewitching

C) Dark and Spicy

D) City Chic

E) Captivating

 

4. The one movie you always reach for on a rainy Sunday is:

A) Sixteen Candles. Even if he wasn’t as good looking as Jake Ryan, it always reminds you of your high school crush.

B) Practical Magic. Spells, curses and romance all add up to one delightful movie.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST