RT Daily Blog

Michael Crichton's Classics Are Going Digital

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

Dinosaurs, super viruses and killer primates, oh my … Michael Crichton, that is! Nine of this prolific author’s chilling tales are now available as e-reads for the first time. The famous author and creator passed away in 2008; however, as his stories were techno thrillers and science-y suspenses, we bet that enjoying them on our e-readers will feel absolutely fitting.

If you’ve never tried a Crichton story, now’s the perfect time to get a taste for these haunting tales. RT BOOK REVIEWS Features Editor Mala raves about the authors work saying, “There’s no denying that Crichton was ahead of the game for thrillers. He wrote edge-of-your-seat, science-based adventures that always kept me turning pages!” Intrigued readers should head to their favorite online bookseller to get a piece of all this terrifying reading action.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we feature some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

A Study In Scandal by Robyn DeHart

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Unbreak My Heart by Helen Scott Taylor

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

From the Two Rivers by Robert Jordan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Simon & Schuster's Pocket Star Imprint Will Be E-Only

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying, these days it’s all about digital books. In fact, AAP’s recently revealed sales figures show that a large portion of the increase in book sales can be attributed to the robust e-book market. And publishers have definitely been paying attention to the trend with new e-lines popping up on an almost weekly basis. Entering the fray is Simon & Schuster which has just announced that the mass market imprint Pocket Star will be re-launched as an e-only imprint.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Wildblossom by Cynthia Wright

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Private Pleasures by Jami Alden

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Young Adult

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lila Dubois On Her Rockabilly BDSM Story Undone Rebel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Lila Dubois has a flair for writing unique erotica, and especially scorching BDSM stories. The first book in her Undone Lovers series, "Undone Rebel", is no exception. When fetish model Addie, a retro babe with rockabilly style, agrees to do a BDSM photo shoot, she thinks she may be in a little over her head. But when geek-turned-Dom Lane helps Addie explore her submissive side, she knows she may have found exactly what she's always wanted. We asked the author to tell us more about these two intriguing characters — and what's next in this hot new series.

***

Addie is a perfect erotic romance character because she is not scared of her sexuality. She is shown throughout “Undone Rebel” as an adventurous, non-judgmental woman who likes to have fun. How did she come to have such a healthy outlook on sex and her own appeal?


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Crazy For The New E-Novella Crazy On You By Rachel Gibson

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Crazy On You” is a story for every woman out there who hasn’t lived life on the straight and narrow. Maybe you’ve spent a little bit too much time in bars, maybe you don’t know the names of everyone you’ve ever kissed or punched (depending on the kind of gal you are), maybe you attended the school of hard knocks and have fought for every single thing you’ve got, and maybe you’ve got a bit — or a whole luggage collection’s worth — of a checkered past. And despite how it may feel when you pick up novel after novel with seemingly perfect heroine, you are not alone.

For every woman who has ever thought that maybe (or even probably) she doesn’t deserve a happy ending, that she isn’t worthy of true love, well, Rachel Gibson has something to tell you, as long as you want it, the possibility of love is there, and heck if you’re lucky it may even be living next door.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Backlists, Big Bucks and Big Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, romance author Hope Tarr talks about the reader and writer advantages to dressing up a backlist — and self-publishing it. In this guest post, the author explores how pricing comes into play, and gives you five questions you should ask yourself before buying an author’s refurbished e-book.

When I reissued Tempting as an e-book for 99 cents, at first I chafed at the cheap price point. In an era of $5 lattes, charging under a buck for the book of your heart can be a tough pill to take. Then again, if doing so continues to put the book into the hands of more readers, and motivates them to search out my other historical romances, it will be a pill worth swallowing—and my pride with it.

“Cheap is in,” concurs Marilyn Campbell, who reissued Daydreams in 2011 after being encouraged by the self-publishing successes of other seasoned authors. “Basically, selling 10,000 books at 99 cents beats out selling 1,000 for $5.”


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Buy For $2.25 >>

 

Young Adult

Leopard Moon by Jeanette Battista

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Books From Tor And Forge To Go DRM-Free In July

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

Tor and Forge, publishing imprints of Tom Doherty Associates and a subsidiary of Macmillan, announced yesterday that by the end of July the two popular imprints, as well as Orb, Starscape, and Tor Teen, will only be offering DRM-free e-books. DRM, which stands for Digital Rights Management, is technology that limits the access and use of certain digital products (MP3s, e-books, etc.) in order to curb pirating and prevent copyright infringement. Although DRM makes stealing digital content more difficult, it also limits the use of the product and can be a disadvantage for buyers.

Currently, almost all of the e-books offered by the “big six” publishers, the major New York City-based publishing houses, and sold through major online retailers are DRM encrypted and can only be used on the specific e-reader associated with the retailer (for example, you can’t — easily — read an Amazon e-book on a Nook, or a Barnes & Noble e-book on a Kindle). This challenge, the results of DRM restrictions, has been one of the issues that keeps ownership of e-books and print books from being synonymous.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book, Science Fiction
122COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

How to Distract a Duchess by Mia Marlowe

Buy For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Ecstasy by Bella Andre

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Rock Star's Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST