RT Daily Blog

June 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying it, self-publishing is booming and the result is an enormous amounts of great books ready for readers. Each month in the RT magazine we take a look at some of the authors and titles in our new “Self-pub Hub” column and in our review sections. But with so many books, how do you choose which one to try first? Well, now you can take our simple quiz and we’ll help you figure out which new self-published book from this month’s issue is your next read!

***

1. Which type of romance do you prefer?

A) One that involves chivalry and a knight in shining armor

B) A modern-day relationship

C) The kind that seems a little bit magical

D) One where you put your heart — and maybe your life — on the line

E) Love that comes with a double helping of heat

 

2. Your perfect hero...

A) Is dark, broody and good with a broadsword

B) Has superstar talent

C) Can tap into an ancient heritage

D) Will go the extra mile to “protect and serve”

E) Is not afraid to make a grand gesture — like moving across the country unasked

 

3. A good book best read with which of these at your side ...

A) A purring cat

B) A can of soda or glass of wine to drink

C) A dictionary to look up words you don’t know

D) The keys to your front door, just so you know you’ve locked it


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: We Compare Amazon's CreateSpace to Kindle Direct Publishing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Yesterday we brought you a look at the perks of using CreateSpace and Kindle Direct Publishing to self-publish your manuscript. So why would you opt to use CreateSpace versus KDP, or vice versa? Well, today we outline the two platforms to help you decide which to use to take your book from manuscript to moneymaker!

***

CreateSpace in one easy phrase … is for authors looking to self-publishing print books.

What does it cost? This process can be completely free, and that experience comes with several no-fee tools to help you go from manuscript to print book. These include a cover creator, a way to preview your book in order to get customized feedback, share your work with a select audience and make updates to your manuscript based on what people say, and finally an updated way to take a look at your manuscript before it becomes a book with Interior Reviewer.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Lord of Vengeance by Lara Adrian (writing as Tina St. John)

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just The Way You Are by Barbara Freethy

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

   

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: How To Publish With Amazon's Kindle Direct Publishing And CreateSpace

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This year at BookExpo America one of the newest publishers on the block — Internet giant Amazon — was making waves. Not only were they all over the showroom floor, accessible to readers and authors alike, during the convention Amazon’s indie publishing arm hosted a panel specifically for authors. During the seminar, Amazon Community Outreach Product Manager Thom Kephart gave writers a look inside of Amazon’s self-publishing ventures.

With so much going on at Amazon, it was great to get easy-to-understand breakdown of the two indie publishing services — CreateSpace and Kindle Direct Publishing — and take a look at some of the perks of using the Amazon publishing tools.


Authors who have self-published with Amazon share their success stories with audience members at BEA 2012

So what is the fundamental difference between CreateSpace and KDP? Kephart explained that it’s very simple. CreateSpace is a tool that allows authors to self-publish print books. While KDP allows authors to self-publish e-books.

Kephart started the panel with a look at some of the many reasons that authors may want to opt for one of the retailer’s self-publishing, or what they call indie publishing, options. He explained that there are four prongs to the perks of using either Amazon’s CreateSpace or KDP options to get your book into the hands (or onto the e-readers) of book lovers.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Lessons in French by Laura Kinsale

Buy For $1.99 >> 

 

Contemporary Romance

Looking for Trouble by Erin Kern

Buy For 99 cents >>

 

Young Adult

Breathless by Scott Prussing

Buy For 99 cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Score An Invite To Daire St. Denis' Party Of Three

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Daire St. Denis' new release, the author creates a Party of Three that you will want to attend! This sizzling story of love between friends will have you questioning what you thought you knew about threesomes. Today the author stops by to answer our questions about this compelling erotic read and share a look at where she's headed next!

What was your inspiration for Party of Three

I wish I could tell you it was inspired by an experience back in college … but alas ... Do you ever have two similarly strange things and/or conversations that happen in close succession that make you go, hmmm? When it happens to me, it often foreshadows the birth of a story. I was out with friends one night and one of them was giving me the low-down on the local swinger’s scene. I was like, "What? We have a local swinger’s scene?" The answer, apparently, is "oh hell, yes!" Anyway, shortly after, a different friend lent me a DVD, Louis Theroux's Weird Weekends, a BBC documentary series where Louis goes around investigating fringe sub-cultures, in this case swinger’s parties. Without going into all the misfired synapses in my brain, Party of Three morphed from there. And yes, a swinger’s party does make an appearance in the book.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Anne Hope's Soul Bound

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Anne Hope’s Soul Bound is the last in our month long e-book Dishes, so we are ending with a paranormal tale that will have readers up all night. Hero and heroine Jace Cutler and Lia Benson seem mismatched his unusual supernatural heritage inspires those around him to sink into a deep and self-destructive depression, while she is a doctor devoted to helping others. Now, we all know what they say about opposites attracting, but with a pack of rogue part-angels on their heels, will Jace and Lia even get a chance to explore their feelings (and the passion that connects them)? Read on to find out ...

Whitney: The RT reviewer was right on when she said that Soul Bound will appeal to Sherrilyn Kenyon’s fans. I also think followers of Shannon K. Butcher will have a new favorite with Anne Hope. 

Morgan: I agree! Butcher, Kenyon and Hope have lots of great things in common, especially their delicious dark and dangerous heroes. In the case of this book, Soul Bound, readers are introduced to Jace Cutler. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Sweet Release by Pamela Clare

   

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Husband Hunting 101 by Rita Herron

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Foolish Games by Leah Spiegel   

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Duchess of Love by Sally MacKenzie

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Free Falling by Debra Webb

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Young Adult

Hereafter by Tara Hudson

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Larissa Ione's Apocalypse

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Every year at the RT Booklovers Convention's Giant Book Fair, there is a breakout author. Amidst the sea of writers autographing, one author will have a line so long that it will wrap around the entire event. This year, the one to watch was Larissa Ione. A writer of the paranormal romance variety, Ione is known for creating great characters, complex plots and steamy, steamy reads and her newest series, Lords of Deliverance, is incredibly popular. Featuring the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse, these books have readers' hearts racing, desperate for more end of the world action! This month, Ione is feeding our need with the next novel in her series, Lethal Rider and "Apocalypse," an e-only compendium about the series. Included in "Apocalypse" is a behind the scenes look at the author's sexy heroes, daring heroines and smashing series. This 99-cent buy also sports a terrific short story that will have readers wanting more. Whether you are already a fan or are just getting your first taste of Ione's Lords, enjoy this RT-exclusive excerpt from the new e-short "Apocalypse".

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST