RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extras: Backlists, Big Bucks and Big Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, romance author Hope Tarr talks about the reader and writer advantages to dressing up a backlist — and self-publishing it. In this guest post, the author explores how pricing comes into play, and gives you five questions you should ask yourself before buying an author’s refurbished e-book.

When I reissued Tempting as an e-book for 99 cents, at first I chafed at the cheap price point. In an era of $5 lattes, charging under a buck for the book of your heart can be a tough pill to take. Then again, if doing so continues to put the book into the hands of more readers, and motivates them to search out my other historical romances, it will be a pill worth swallowing—and my pride with it.

“Cheap is in,” concurs Marilyn Campbell, who reissued Daydreams in 2011 after being encouraged by the self-publishing successes of other seasoned authors. “Basically, selling 10,000 books at 99 cents beats out selling 1,000 for $5.”


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Buy For $2.25 >>

 

Young Adult

Leopard Moon by Jeanette Battista

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Books From Tor And Forge To Go DRM-Free In July

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

Tor and Forge, publishing imprints of Tom Doherty Associates and a subsidiary of Macmillan, announced yesterday that by the end of July the two popular imprints, as well as Orb, Starscape, and Tor Teen, will only be offering DRM-free e-books. DRM, which stands for Digital Rights Management, is technology that limits the access and use of certain digital products (MP3s, e-books, etc.) in order to curb pirating and prevent copyright infringement. Although DRM makes stealing digital content more difficult, it also limits the use of the product and can be a disadvantage for buyers.

Currently, almost all of the e-books offered by the “big six” publishers, the major New York City-based publishing houses, and sold through major online retailers are DRM encrypted and can only be used on the specific e-reader associated with the retailer (for example, you can’t — easily — read an Amazon e-book on a Nook, or a Barnes & Noble e-book on a Kindle). This challenge, the results of DRM restrictions, has been one of the issues that keeps ownership of e-books and print books from being synonymous.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book, Science Fiction
122COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

How to Distract a Duchess by Mia Marlowe

Buy For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Ecstasy by Bella Andre

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Rock Star's Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The E-Book Expo At The 2012 Booklovers Convention Exposed!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

When it comes to e-book publishing, there’s no denying that change is the name of the game. Digital formats allow authors to push boundaries and write between genres, creating truly unusual characters and scenarios. At yesterday's fifth annual E-Book, Indie Publisher And Graphic Novel Expo, we chatted with some of our favorite e-book authors to find out the trends they are noticing in e-books and what type of story elements they would love to see taken to the extreme in upcoming digital releases. 

Joely Sue Burkhart, a 2011 RT Reviewers' Choice Award nominee for her story Lady Doctor Wyre, told us that she's thrilled by the recent blending of genres. As for a story that hasn't been told that she would like to read, Burkhart responded that an interesting mix would be romance and horor. Perhaps, even, some kind of serial killer romance. If she wrote one, the author revealed the title would probably be "Killer Of My Heart."

Joely Sue Burkhart


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Devil's Kiss by Zoe Archer

   

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

My Last Blind Date by Susan Hatler

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Suburban Girl's Rebellion by India Lee

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smashwords Founder Mark Coker Shares Secrets of Self-publishing Success

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

When it comes to making it big in self-publishing, we all know it takes sales to make your e-book climb up bestseller lists. But how do you know what you should price your self-published story, whether your long and complicated epic is actually a trilogy disguised as one book and if authors who change the prices of their books frequently earn more or less for their troubles? Yesterday Mark Coker, the founder of Smashwords.com, an online publishing platform for authors and publishers, gave RT convention attendees a look at how to make “Money, Money, Money” at the panel by that name.

During this RT-exclusive workshop the founder of the self-publishing platform talked about the factors that impact sales, all based on the statistical data mined from the site. As of this week, Coker told us that he was drawing on the data of over one hundred ten thousand e-book authors' sales. Here is a taste of some of the data that he shared about the analysis of Smashword’s figures — and what it says about how you can have financial success with your self-published books!

***

Do authors who offer free e-books earn more money?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Part(y)ing Thoughts: Ellora’s Cave Chi-Town Hip Hop Stomp & Step Bash!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Tonight Ellora’s Cave helped us kick off the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention with a dance party that got us all movin', groovin’ and shakin’ our tail feathers! The publisher brought in a Hip Hop dance troupe to perform and teach us some moves including — but not limited to — the step, stomp and slap. And convention attendees got into the rhythm of things, dancing until the clock struck midnight!

Ellora's Cave authors were presented to the crowd

Hip-hop gear was mandatory


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Dreaming by Jill Barnett

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Build A Man by Talli Roland

Buy for 99 cents >>

 

Young Adult

Boyfriend From Hell by E. Van Lowe

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Judging Ongoing Series: What Works And What Doesn’t

BY Dawn Crowne, MARCH 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Writing an ongoing series can be extremely difficult, because series come with baggage. There are so many details to keep straight! I’ve chatted with authors who use different methods to make sure all their facts line up, from intensive documents, to color coded binders and even using fact checker beta readers. But the truth is that it’s about more than making sure that your secondary characters from book two shows up in book seven with the right color eyes. It’s a challenge to keep a series installments appealing for longtime fans and accessible to new readers. It’s a balancing act and one that is incredibly tough to master. Recently I’ve read several stories that are part of much larger series, and found some elements that really worked well — and some that did not. Today I break down three new stories in running series so that you can judge for yourself.

The Outsiders series by Rebecca Royce

Down And Dirty Series Summary: The “Outsiders” in the series are several couples with magical powers that must find and anchor each other so that they can successfully save the world from an evil demon.

Current Release: The fourth story in the Outsiders series, “Love Beyond Sight”, features vulnerable foreseer Eden Roan. She is in desperate need of protection, but her anchor, Samuel Quinn, cannot go to her because of his physical deformities. But when danger comes calling, Samuel overcomes his difficult issues in order to fight for the lovely Eden.

What Works: The author has a terrific writing style that allows readers to feel what her characters are feeling. While the plot may be confusing at points, the prose is smooth and showcases Royce’s skills as a wordsmith.

What Doesn’t: With the fourth story in The Outsiders series, readers are literally dropped into an alternate world without a roadmap. There are so many characters that newcomers’ heads will swim as they desperately try to figure out which hero goes with which heroine.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST