RT Daily Blog

Judging Ongoing Series: What Works And What Doesn’t

BY Dawn Crowne, MARCH 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Writing an ongoing series can be extremely difficult, because series come with baggage. There are so many details to keep straight! I’ve chatted with authors who use different methods to make sure all their facts line up, from intensive documents, to color coded binders and even using fact checker beta readers. But the truth is that it’s about more than making sure that your secondary characters from book two shows up in book seven with the right color eyes. It’s a challenge to keep a series installments appealing for longtime fans and accessible to new readers. It’s a balancing act and one that is incredibly tough to master. Recently I’ve read several stories that are part of much larger series, and found some elements that really worked well — and some that did not. Today I break down three new stories in running series so that you can judge for yourself.

The Outsiders series by Rebecca Royce

Down And Dirty Series Summary: The “Outsiders” in the series are several couples with magical powers that must find and anchor each other so that they can successfully save the world from an evil demon.

Current Release: The fourth story in the Outsiders series, “Love Beyond Sight”, features vulnerable foreseer Eden Roan. She is in desperate need of protection, but her anchor, Samuel Quinn, cannot go to her because of his physical deformities. But when danger comes calling, Samuel overcomes his difficult issues in order to fight for the lovely Eden.

What Works: The author has a terrific writing style that allows readers to feel what her characters are feeling. While the plot may be confusing at points, the prose is smooth and showcases Royce’s skills as a wordsmith.

What Doesn’t: With the fourth story in The Outsiders series, readers are literally dropped into an alternate world without a roadmap. There are so many characters that newcomers’ heads will swim as they desperately try to figure out which hero goes with which heroine.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Catriona by Jeanette Baker

   

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Here Comes the Bride by Rita Herron

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Grounding Quinn by Stephanie Campbell

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Warrior's Lady by Gerri Russell

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Redwood Bend by Robyn Carr

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Unidentified by Trenton Hughes

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon Publishing Update — Will It Turn the 'Big Six' Into the 'Big Seven'?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Recently Amazon has launched several publishing initiatives and added four new imprints to their publishing arm. Last year, Montlake Romance, 47North, Thomas & Mercer and Amazon NY joined Amazon Crossing and Amazon Encore. In just a short amount of time, these lines have managed to acquire a list of author names and titles that would make even the most jaded reader giddy. So fans will be excited to learn that there are even more books on the horizon.

Earlier this week, Publisher’s Marketplace reported that in the last quarter it has seen a “large volume of deal reports for [Amazon’s Publishing’s] various imprints ...” And that certainly bears out with a look at these numbers. 

AMAZON PUBLISHING DEALS

Publishers Marketplace points out that Amazon’s 52 deals in the past four months are “roughly equal to the adult publishing deal reports for two of the ‘big six,’” and that both Hachette Book Group and HarperCollins reported just over 50 deals. Amazon’s adult fiction deals are commensurate, and certainly nothing to scoff at. But it looks like Amazon has no intention of resting on their laurels; they know that adult fiction is only a piece of the picture.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
36COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Once Upon A Wicked Night by Jennifer Haymore

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Falling For You by Julie Ortolon

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Cheyenne by Lisa Wiedmeier

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Courting Claudia by Robyn DeHart

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Midnight In The Garden of Good and Evie by Marianne Stillings

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Glimpse by Stacey Wallace Benefiel

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Avon's Historical Romance E-Book Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Cheaper by the Dozen, our weekly column that rounds up inexpensive e-book deals, won’t be posted until tomorrow, but we just couldn’t wait to share a look at some of the great e-reads being offered by Avon books. This digital sale includes some of our favorite historical romances — each of which received an RT rating of 4 stars or higher! Making the news even better, this e-book sale includes several stories that are no longer available in print. And at just $1.99 each, readers can feel good about downloading these affordable tales! 

More Than a Scandal by Sari Robins

Hero Marcus’s loyalty is split, will he side with the country he loves or the woman who stole his heart?

Buy Now >>

 

Midnight by Beverley Jenkins

Set in Colonial-era Boston, this multicultural romance will have readers looking at the pre-revolutionary era in a whole new light. 

Buy Now >>

 

Duke of Sin by Adele Ashworth

Originally published in 2004, this novel set in the mid 1800s pairs a vulnerable florist with a reclusive Duke. 

Buy Now >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Love Remembered by Ellen Fisher

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Perfect Partners by Carly Phillips

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Queen Bee of Bridgeton by Leslie DuBois

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Questions For Romance Author Ruthie Knox — WIth Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

New author Ruthie Knox debuts with this month's lighthearted, sexy contemporary romance Ride With Me. When cyclist Lexie places an ad for a someone to bike across the country with her, she's hoping for a fun companion. Instead, she gets Tom, her polar opposite. But as the two journey across the country on their bikes, sparks fly and soon it's clear that Lexie and Tom may just be the perfect pair. Today we take readers inside the story with an author interview, and then give you a chance to win a copy of Ride With Me!

***

Ride With Me is all about extreme cycling. What made you think about writing a romance that literally takes place on the TransAmerica Trail?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Forever Mine by Delilah Marvelle

Buy For $2.51 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Where The Heart Is by Jenny Gardiner

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Bound by Kira Saito

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST