RT Daily Blog

Rosetta Books Introduces Crimescape A Digital Imprint Featuring True Crime Short Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Digital publisher Rosetta Books has just launched a new imprint called Crimescape. This is a line of true crime short stories penned by previously published authors. The line has debuted with six titles and the company has plans to release two more in each of the following months. 

These Crimescape titles will all run between 10,000 and 20,000 words and be Kindle exclusives during the first year. Even more exciting? These new non-fiction e-reads are all priced below $3.00. We predict that readers will enjoy knowing that they can always expect a Crimescape story to be both a fast read and easy on the wallet.

In order to guide the imprint, Rosetta Books has brought on Marilyn Bardsley, who is known in the industry for founding the popular site CrimeLibrary.com. Bardsley will be both working with authors she knows from her previous projects as well reviewing submissions from prospective new authors.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Enter To Win A Samhain Gift Card!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love e-reading for many reasons, not the least of which is that we can buy a bundle of these books without breaking the bank. Readers have let us know that you love our Cheaper by the Dozen feature, where we round up twelve e-book deals of the week. So we are thrilled to be able to pass along this awesome chance to save even more as you go about your e-book buying: eight lucky readers will each win their own Samhain Publishing gift card! 

These gift cards are good for just over five dollars off any Samhain e-purchase. Below are three of RT's Whitney's recent favorites from the publisher — any of which you could get for free if you win this giveaway. 

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diane Escalera Shares An Insider's Look At Dangerous Desire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Diane Escalera's newest release, Dangerous Desire will thrill contemporary romance and romantic suspense readers alike. RT's Dawn Crowne praises the story saying, "Escalera gives her hero and heroine great personalities — both have eclectic interests and unique backgrounds that bring the story to life. " So we went to the author to find out what inspired these compelling characters.

Ideas are funny little things. They can come from anywhere — the news, something I read, an overheard (eavesdropping) conversation. I have a curious (nosy) mind and tune into details that most people don’t pay much attention to. The simplest thing could spark an idea, but then, I have a pretty wild imagination.

When I set out to write Dangerous Desire, I wanted to do something different, a little more edgy than my previous books. I chose to make the hero a pet detective (No. He’s nothing like Ace Ventura!) because frankly, I hadn’t seen many tough guys with this profession. A love for animals softened his hard exterior. I found it attractive, and thought my heroine would too.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeaniene Frost's First E-Novella Now $1.99

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thanks to the e-book revolution, there are more books available to readers than ever before, and oftentimes they can be found at great prices. Another reason to love digital content is because now publishers are able to get even more creative in the ways they release stories. For example, take anthologies. Before, if you wanted to read a short story in an anthology, you had to purchase the entire collection. But now publishers are releasing single stories for readers to buy. This is the case for Jeaniene Frost’s “Happily Never After.” First appearing in the 2008 anthology Weddings From Hell, readers can now pick up this e-novella for only $1.99.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Kindle Or $100 Worth Of E-Books!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

No matter how much cash there is in our wallets, there’s never enough money in the budget for all of the books we want to buy. So we were over the moon to hear about the giveaway over at PrizesforReaders.com. A group of authors who write Harlequin Intrigues, as well as independently published stories have come together to offer readers a chance to win $100 worth of e-books or a Kindle. That’s right, they are giving away a Kindle.

The authors involved include RT’s December 2010 Seal of Excellence winning author B.J. Daniels, the talented Julie Miller, HelenKay Dimon and many more and signing up for your chance to win is as easy as entering your email and selecting which prize you’d rather win.

But remember the last day to enter the contest is July 31 — so head on over and enter today!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Free E-Books From Inspirational Publisher Tyndale House

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational publisher Tyndale House is offering five free e-reads! In honor of the publisher's new Digital First line, you can take advantage of this offer with reads that range from contemporary romance to fast-paced suspense. (There's even a non-fiction in the mix.)

Tyndale is offering the books in a variety of e-formats, but the post also includes the friendly reminder that you don't need an e-reader to enjoy this e-book deal — you can also read them on your computer. 

So will you be diving into Reinventing Leona by Lynne Gentry, the story of a pastor’s wife who must learn to stand on her own two feet? Or are you more in the mood to learn about the employees at a small town florist shop who must band together to save one of their own in Delivery by Diana Prusik? The great thing about free books is that you don’t need to choose just one, you can check out all five titles at the Tyndale blog!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Last Day For The E-book Bundles Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Everyone loves a deal, and we are certainly no exception. We were thrilled to learn about the Simon & Schuster e-book bundles that are on sale now across the genres. From the paranormal, like the Highlanders, Howlers and Heroes collection, to the inspirational, like the Reshonda Tate Billinglsey selection, these e-bundles are great for both genre newbies and die-hard fans. Topping our must-read list are the following three:

 

Historical Romance

Johanna Lindsey's Passion at Sea: The Malorys

E-books Include: That Perfect Someone, No Choice But Seduction and Captain of My Desires


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sophie Littlefield Invites Readers Inside Her Aftertime Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

We raved about Sophie Littlefield's new series starter, Aftertime, back in March when the book hit shelves. The post-apocalyptic story about a mother named Cass who is trying to get back to her daughter Ruthie won that month's Seal of Excellence and had the RT editors singing its praises with such endorsements as, "Reading Aftertime will make you realize how lucky you are to have running water, fresh food, a job, friends and no flesh-eating zombies trying to kill you outside the door...This is one you’ll be sad to finish, but luckily a sequel is coming out ..."

We are overjoyed that the series second, Rebirth, is out now so everyone can get more of this terrifying world full of cannibalistic zombies called Beaters, intricate conspiracies and dangerous characters with dark pasts. But be warned, just like Aftertime left readers wanting more, Rebirth will have you asking when you can get your hands on more of this series. 

Thankfully Sophie Littlefield is not leaving us out in the cold. The author has made a series of extras available for Aftertime fans.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reading E-Books For The Environment?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

E-books continue to increase in popularity. Here in New York City you can’t step onto the subway without seeing an e-reader. Many of those who read e-books list perks such as their e-readers are lighter to carry, the e-books are often less expensive than traditional books and they are definitely easier to buy — most devices include an option for digital purchasing and delivery of new reads almost simultaneously.

Another popular reason for reading in e-format is that it is better for the environment. Without the waste of such things as obsolete text books, and even as part of the book production process itself, e-books come out the winner in terms of the carbon footprint that they leave behind. In Australia they are going so far as to apply the country’s “Carbon Tax” to the sale of traditional format books. Although the tax is only going to add nine additional cents to the price of each hardcover book, that amount can add up quickly. 

What do you think, should traditional format books be more expensive than e-books?

Find out why Australia thinks so here >>


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Congratulations To Author Shannon Stacey And Her Publisher Carina Press

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just learned that author Shannon Stacey has hit the New York Times Bestseller List with her latest contemporary romance Yours to Keep. This is the first e-book from by Carina Press to make the list since the Harlequin digital-first imprint began publishing books a little bit more than a year ago.

The author's two latest e-books, Yours to Keep and Undeniably Yours both received ratings of four and a half stars from RT's Kate Girard. Says our reviewer, "It is always a joy to spend time with the extended Kowalski family. And this contemporary tale is full of the love (and requisite family high jinks) that readers have come to expect from Shannon Stacey."

Want more Shannon Stacey? Check out our reviews of the books below and visit Carina Press to pick up your own copies!

 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST