RT Daily Blog

Win A Kindle Or $100 Worth Of E-Books!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

No matter how much cash there is in our wallets, there’s never enough money in the budget for all of the books we want to buy. So we were over the moon to hear about the giveaway over at PrizesforReaders.com. A group of authors who write Harlequin Intrigues, as well as independently published stories have come together to offer readers a chance to win $100 worth of e-books or a Kindle. That’s right, they are giving away a Kindle.

The authors involved include RT’s December 2010 Seal of Excellence winning author B.J. Daniels, the talented Julie Miller, HelenKay Dimon and many more and signing up for your chance to win is as easy as entering your email and selecting which prize you’d rather win.

But remember the last day to enter the contest is July 31 — so head on over and enter today!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Free E-Books From Inspirational Publisher Tyndale House

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational publisher Tyndale House is offering five free e-reads! In honor of the publisher's new Digital First line, you can take advantage of this offer with reads that range from contemporary romance to fast-paced suspense. (There's even a non-fiction in the mix.)

Tyndale is offering the books in a variety of e-formats, but the post also includes the friendly reminder that you don't need an e-reader to enjoy this e-book deal — you can also read them on your computer. 

So will you be diving into Reinventing Leona by Lynne Gentry, the story of a pastor’s wife who must learn to stand on her own two feet? Or are you more in the mood to learn about the employees at a small town florist shop who must band together to save one of their own in Delivery by Diana Prusik? The great thing about free books is that you don’t need to choose just one, you can check out all five titles at the Tyndale blog!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Last Day For The E-book Bundles Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Everyone loves a deal, and we are certainly no exception. We were thrilled to learn about the Simon & Schuster e-book bundles that are on sale now across the genres. From the paranormal, like the Highlanders, Howlers and Heroes collection, to the inspirational, like the Reshonda Tate Billinglsey selection, these e-bundles are great for both genre newbies and die-hard fans. Topping our must-read list are the following three:

 

Historical Romance

Johanna Lindsey's Passion at Sea: The Malorys

E-books Include: That Perfect Someone, No Choice But Seduction and Captain of My Desires


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sophie Littlefield Invites Readers Inside Her Aftertime Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

We raved about Sophie Littlefield's new series starter, Aftertime, back in March when the book hit shelves. The post-apocalyptic story about a mother named Cass who is trying to get back to her daughter Ruthie won that month's Seal of Excellence and had the RT editors singing its praises with such endorsements as, "Reading Aftertime will make you realize how lucky you are to have running water, fresh food, a job, friends and no flesh-eating zombies trying to kill you outside the door...This is one you’ll be sad to finish, but luckily a sequel is coming out ..."

We are overjoyed that the series second, Rebirth, is out now so everyone can get more of this terrifying world full of cannibalistic zombies called Beaters, intricate conspiracies and dangerous characters with dark pasts. But be warned, just like Aftertime left readers wanting more, Rebirth will have you asking when you can get your hands on more of this series. 

Thankfully Sophie Littlefield is not leaving us out in the cold. The author has made a series of extras available for Aftertime fans.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reading E-Books For The Environment?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

E-books continue to increase in popularity. Here in New York City you can’t step onto the subway without seeing an e-reader. Many of those who read e-books list perks such as their e-readers are lighter to carry, the e-books are often less expensive than traditional books and they are definitely easier to buy — most devices include an option for digital purchasing and delivery of new reads almost simultaneously.

Another popular reason for reading in e-format is that it is better for the environment. Without the waste of such things as obsolete text books, and even as part of the book production process itself, e-books come out the winner in terms of the carbon footprint that they leave behind. In Australia they are going so far as to apply the country’s “Carbon Tax” to the sale of traditional format books. Although the tax is only going to add nine additional cents to the price of each hardcover book, that amount can add up quickly. 

What do you think, should traditional format books be more expensive than e-books?

Find out why Australia thinks so here >>


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Congratulations To Author Shannon Stacey And Her Publisher Carina Press

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just learned that author Shannon Stacey has hit the New York Times Bestseller List with her latest contemporary romance Yours to Keep. This is the first e-book from by Carina Press to make the list since the Harlequin digital-first imprint began publishing books a little bit more than a year ago.

The author's two latest e-books, Yours to Keep and Undeniably Yours both received ratings of four and a half stars from RT's Kate Girard. Says our reviewer, "It is always a joy to spend time with the extended Kowalski family. And this contemporary tale is full of the love (and requisite family high jinks) that readers have come to expect from Shannon Stacey."

Want more Shannon Stacey? Check out our reviews of the books below and visit Carina Press to pick up your own copies!

 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.K. Rowling To Launch Interactive Harry Potter-Themed Website Pottermore

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series is growing in an all-new way with the launch of the interactive website Pottermore.com

The author announced that the Pottermore will have a soft-launch on July 31 of this year (fitting, as it is the title character’s birthday, the date that started it all) and then be open to all browsers this coming October. The site will take fans through the world of the series, starting with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and continuing all the way through to the final book. As readers make their way along the new digital landscape of the popular series they will find out more about their favorite Potter characters and world. For the project Rowling has put together over 18,000 new words worth of backstories and details fans will stumble on as they explore the site. 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Random House Publishing Re-Launches Loveswept Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance fans will be thrilled to learn that publisher Random House has made plans to bring back their popular Loveswept imprint as an exclusively digital line of books. Loveswept was a staple of the romance publishing industry through the '80s and ‘90s and helped launch the careers of many bestselling authors including Janet Evanovich and Tami Hoag. 

Romance fans will be able to get some of their favorite classic romance titles in e-book format from the re-launched line. These classic titles will come with all-new bonus content and updated packaging. Readers can also be on the lookout for original e-book titles as well. 

The Loveswept line is set to re-launch in August with eight titles including Iris Johansen’s This Fierce Splendor, Remember The Time by Annette Reynolds and more.

Until the books become available in August, you can visit Random House’s new website RomanceatRandom.com, where Sue Grimshaw — who many may remember from the Borders’ True Romance blog — will be sharing news about what is happening with the Loveswept and Ballantine Bantam Dell titles.

For more information click here >>


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean On Cowboy Sex Appeal - Give Me A Real Good Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

This morning author Julianne MacLean stops by to chat about Taken by the Cowboy, her new self-published romance that hits releases today. Get a special look at one of sources of inspiration and find out where you can pick up this new read!

I’m a romance writer, and I love my job. Want to know why? I get to do research, and some of it is mind-blowingly enjoyable.

Today I am releasing a new book called Taken by the Cowboy, and it’s a time travel romance, where a contemporary heroine is flung back to the Wild West. As soon as she gets there, she dodges bullets and squares off with a gorgeous, hunky, gunslinging sheriff in a black hat who makes her heart go pitter-patter.

What kind of man is he? I will now turn the stage over to YouTube for a visual demonstration, and I highly recommend that you click on the link and enjoy yourself. Seriously. Watch this. It doesn’t matter that it’s a Monday morning. In fact, that is all the more reason to watch it. Trust me, you’ll thank me afterward.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Librarian's Quest with Robyn Bachar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Bachar invites readers behind the scenes for an up-close look at the paranormal world of her two most recent e-books.

When I began building the supernatural world of The Importance of Being Emily and Blood, Smoke and Mirrors, there were a few must-have details that I wanted. First, it was important to me to not have any “accidental” vampires. If a magician wants to live forever, she’s going to have to study her butt off, put in years of training, and run the risk of the transformation not working at all. Second, I wanted to include a wide variety of paranormal creatures and magic users. Witches, shapeshifters, faeries, sorcerers, seers, librarians—

Yes, librarians. Magic librarians. Even vampire librarians.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST