RT Daily Blog

Congratulations To Author Shannon Stacey And Her Publisher Carina Press

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just learned that author Shannon Stacey has hit the New York Times Bestseller List with her latest contemporary romance Yours to Keep. This is the first e-book from by Carina Press to make the list since the Harlequin digital-first imprint began publishing books a little bit more than a year ago.

The author's two latest e-books, Yours to Keep and Undeniably Yours both received ratings of four and a half stars from RT's Kate Girard. Says our reviewer, "It is always a joy to spend time with the extended Kowalski family. And this contemporary tale is full of the love (and requisite family high jinks) that readers have come to expect from Shannon Stacey."

Want more Shannon Stacey? Check out our reviews of the books below and visit Carina Press to pick up your own copies!

 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.K. Rowling To Launch Interactive Harry Potter-Themed Website Pottermore

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series is growing in an all-new way with the launch of the interactive website Pottermore.com

The author announced that the Pottermore will have a soft-launch on July 31 of this year (fitting, as it is the title character’s birthday, the date that started it all) and then be open to all browsers this coming October. The site will take fans through the world of the series, starting with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and continuing all the way through to the final book. As readers make their way along the new digital landscape of the popular series they will find out more about their favorite Potter characters and world. For the project Rowling has put together over 18,000 new words worth of backstories and details fans will stumble on as they explore the site. 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Random House Publishing Re-Launches Loveswept Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Romance fans will be thrilled to learn that publisher Random House has made plans to bring back their popular Loveswept imprint as an exclusively digital line of books. Loveswept was a staple of the romance publishing industry through the '80s and ‘90s and helped launch the careers of many bestselling authors including Janet Evanovich and Tami Hoag. 

Romance fans will be able to get some of their favorite classic romance titles in e-book format from the re-launched line. These classic titles will come with all-new bonus content and updated packaging. Readers can also be on the lookout for original e-book titles as well. 

The Loveswept line is set to re-launch in August with eight titles including Iris Johansen’s This Fierce Splendor, Remember The Time by Annette Reynolds and more.

Until the books become available in August, you can visit Random House’s new website RomanceatRandom.com, where Sue Grimshaw — who many may remember from the Borders’ True Romance blog — will be sharing news about what is happening with the Loveswept and Ballantine Bantam Dell titles.

For more information click here >>


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean On Cowboy Sex Appeal - Give Me A Real Good Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

This morning author Julianne MacLean stops by to chat about Taken by the Cowboy, her new self-published romance that hits releases today. Get a special look at one of sources of inspiration and find out where you can pick up this new read!

I’m a romance writer, and I love my job. Want to know why? I get to do research, and some of it is mind-blowingly enjoyable.

Today I am releasing a new book called Taken by the Cowboy, and it’s a time travel romance, where a contemporary heroine is flung back to the Wild West. As soon as she gets there, she dodges bullets and squares off with a gorgeous, hunky, gunslinging sheriff in a black hat who makes her heart go pitter-patter.

What kind of man is he? I will now turn the stage over to YouTube for a visual demonstration, and I highly recommend that you click on the link and enjoy yourself. Seriously. Watch this. It doesn’t matter that it’s a Monday morning. In fact, that is all the more reason to watch it. Trust me, you’ll thank me afterward.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Librarian's Quest with Robyn Bachar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robyn Bachar invites readers behind the scenes for an up-close look at the paranormal world of her two most recent e-books.

When I began building the supernatural world of The Importance of Being Emily and Blood, Smoke and Mirrors, there were a few must-have details that I wanted. First, it was important to me to not have any “accidental” vampires. If a magician wants to live forever, she’s going to have to study her butt off, put in years of training, and run the risk of the transformation not working at all. Second, I wanted to include a wide variety of paranormal creatures and magic users. Witches, shapeshifters, faeries, sorcerers, seers, librarians—

Yes, librarians. Magic librarians. Even vampire librarians.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unbridled Books Is Offering Inexpensive E-Books Through Indie Bookstores

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

It seems like almost everyday news breaks about another independent bookstore closing. These stores are being edged out by bigger chains and online retailers, not to mention the rise in e-books. However, publisher Unbridled Books feels that there is a definite place for independent bookstores amidst the new era of technology. Unbridled has partnered with the American Bookseller Association in order to promote the IndieCommerce program and make affordable e-books available through the 250 indie bookstores that sell through Google’s ABA platform. 

To jumpstart the partnership, for the next three days Unbridled will be selling twenty-five of their e-books titles for 25 cents each. Digital books that readers will be able to purchase include M. Allen Cunningham’s Green Age of Asher Witherow which is a coming of age tale set in a 19th-century California mining town; Marc Estrin’s The Good Doctor Guillotine, a fictional novel that follows five characters that are all destined for the guillotine during the French Revolution; and Masha Hamilton’s The Distance Between Us, a moving tale of a journalist who loses her colleague and lover while on assignment in Lebanon.

For a complete list of Unbridled's e-books on sale, see the publisher's Facebook page


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amanda E. Alvarez Wants You To Know Werewolves Are People Too

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

"It is rare to find a paranormal story so rooted in reality." This is how the review for debut author Amanda E. Alvarez's Hunting Human begins. The author's paranormal romance impressed RT's Dawn Crowne with the way that this novel is very much a story about people who happen to be werewolves. So with that in mind, we went straight to the author to find out how she made her paranormal characters so real, so human. 

Braden Edwards, the hero from my debut novel, could totally be the guy that you’d meet on Match.com. I he had a profile, it might read: 6’0”, brown hair, athletic. His summary might tell you that he lives in Portland, works for the family business and has a fierce addiction to coffee. He’d tell you he’s the oldest of four kids, that his parents are still married, and that family is important to him. And somewhere, down at the bottom of the list behind his love of a good steak and appreciation for old architecture he’d tell you he’s a werewolf. Not because he’s necessarily trying to hide that fact, but because that’s where being a werewolf ranks in his life. Between steak and architecture. It doesn’t define him; it’s just a part of the whole.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How A Visit To A BDSM Club Inspired A Series Of Anthologies — With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

A couple years back, authors Cherise Sinclair and Belinda McBride took a "research fieldtrip" to San Francisco's Citadel, a well-known BDSM club. After their evening at the Citadel, they sat down to exchange notes on the experience and realized how differently they experienced the club. One thing led to another, and they decided to pitch a BDSM anthology to Loose Id. The idea would be three different women visiting a fictional club called Dark Haven on the same night. Fellow author Sierra Cartwright came on board and this month's Doms of Dark Haven was born. Today the authors answer our questions about the anthology and discuss what's coming next ...

***

 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Maria Zannini On The Zombie Chicken Apocalypse

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

You may remember Maria Zannini from the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars competition. This month the Zannini's newest tale of love and adventure, titled Apocalypse Rising, is releasing from Carina Press. Today the author gives readers a taste of her writing style with this special blog post! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Science Fiction
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wendy Soliman's Road To Publication

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Wendy Soliman shares a look back at the route she took to get published. She points out some of the pitfalls along the way and how she overcame obstacles to jump-start a successful e-book career.

I can't remember a time when I didn't invent stories in my head, making the world behave precisely as I thought it should. Seemed to me like a perfectly natural thing to do. But dreaming's one thing, committing those dreams to paper is entirely another, as I discovered when I picked up my pen eight years ago and got serious about it.

Even then, before e-publishing had really taken off and nobody had heard the dreaded words "credit crunch", everyone told me it was almost impossible to get an agent or publisher to look beyond the first page of a manuscript. But I was convinced I'd be the exception that proved the rule. I no longer had to bash my thoughts out on a typewriter and had the added bonus of the internet at my fingertips to help with research. It didn't occur to me that the same rules applied to all the other would-be writers out there, producing a glut of material that enabled the publishing houses to be even more selective.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, E-Book
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST