RT Daily Blog

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Last week we featured Croco Designs and this week we consult Sarah Hansen of Okay Creations about what self-published authors need to know about creating covers.

Give us some examples of your favorite covers, and tell us why they're your favorites.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Virna DePaul's Turned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? We know we are! Today we've got a treat for you, Virna DePaul's Turned, a intriguing vampire romance. It's the story of FBI Agent and vampire Ty, who's trying to recruit ex-gang member Ana to join Belladonna, a secret agency that monitors vampires. RT reviewer Melanie promises a crisp narrative and stellar pacing. Want to take a peek? Read on, vampire fans!

Ty strode out of Ana’s coffee shop and kept walking despite the strong urge to go back to her. To kiss her again. To do far more to her soft lips, her slick tongue, and her warm, fragrant body.

Lust the likes of which he’d never felt before, even during the first two months of his transition, was riding him hard, making him nearly dizzy. When he’d first been turned, his lust had been for sex, regardless of who it was with. Now, his lust seemed reserved for Ana alone.

The


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Duke of Her Own by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your New Adult Guide To New Orleans Hot Spots

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Booze, sunshine, skimpy clothes and, of course, hook ups with hot guys! What could be better? The four authors of Avon's latest erotic new adult anthology, Spring Fling, agree, as they've each contributed a story young women spending their spring breaks in New Orleans — we couldn't think of a better setting — and finding true love — or just some hot, hot loving. With the upcoming RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans this May, we asked each author to share their favorite New Orleans hot spots. Because who knows, maybe we'll relive a spring break moment or two. (We behaved, Mom, we swear.)

***

Julia Kent: The allure of Maison Bourbon, New Orleans’ notorious jazz club, isn’t the music. What draws me in is the sense of timelessness, of enormity. Those first hesitant steps across the threshold of a jazz bar in the wee hours of the night make me feel like I'm crossing over into world unknown. The music turns into my own pulse as my senses take over. The air is redolent of a part of myself I know I possess, but that is too buried to be known just yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Tamara Morgan's If I Stay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, it's Monday again. In case you're in the doldrums about this news, we've got a cover reveal to cheer you up! Up today is Tamara Morgan, a rising contemporary star who won the RT editors' hearts with The Derby Girl. Her upcoming If I Stay, the first in Tamara's Montgomery Manor series, which hits stores May 12, is a contemporary-set, upstairs-downstairs tale. This sounds like such a fun twist for our Downton obsession that we can't wait to get our hands on it. Here's the back cover copy:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Fool Me Twice by Meredith Duran

Pre-order On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Pre-order B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

When Lightening Strikes by Brenda Novak

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

New Adult

Fifty First Times by Various Authors

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

But It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Part 3, "Taunts Me"

BY Elisa Verna, MARCH 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for my part three recap of Megan Hart's erotic serial, Every Part of You, titled "Taunts Me." Part three Elliott and Simone asking "What exactly is it that were doing here?" Is it casual sex? A relationship? Is Elliott too closed off and controlling to let anyone into his life? Does Simone still have the hots for her ex fun buddy? So many questions!

First off, let me say that the two week gap between each part is too much. I kind of forgot where part two left off and had to go back and check. After a fight, Simone and Elliott both end up (separately) at the kind of smarmy Louisiana politician's dinner party. Elliott figured out some business things while watching Simone from across the room, and pretty soon they're groping each other because who can really stay mad at someone they're having fantastic sex with?

They head back to Elliott's place for more sexytimes, during which Elliott urges her to talk more about her masochistic tendencies, which is super dirty and hot.

The morning after …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sharon Page Asks: Why Do We Really Love Bikers?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, biker heroes. Their appeal is real, raw — and has romance fans begging for more. They're cropping up in our erotica, New Adult and contemporary romances — not to mention on TV and in films. So we asked erotica author Sharon Page, whose latest story "Fast and Mine" is one of 14 in the Riding Desire box set, to tell us why we can't get enough of those biker heroes. After consulting her fellow romance authors, here's what she has to say:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeannie Lin Tells Us: How My Worst Seller Became a Bestseller and What it Means to Write “Different”

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Any author will tell you, publishing can be a volatile industry in which to build a career. Even as we as readers clamber for more, finding one’s way amongst the pitfalls of contracts, self-publishing, marketing and more can be tough.

Late last year, Jeannie Lin announced that the sequel to her RT Award Nominee, China-set historical romance, The Lotus Palace, would be published digitally only, thanks in part to poor sales. Her candid post rallied those in the romance industry. Today, that digital-only sequel, which earned a 4.5 star rating The Jade Temptress, releases. We asked Jeannie to weigh in about her transition to digital, her publishing career, and what it all means. Take it away, Jeannie!

The Jade Temptress, which releases today, will be the sixth full-length historical romance I’ve published set in the Tang Dynasty. Do you know that Jade Lee, an author I consider my idol, my publishing big sister, had six books in her Tigress series set in Qing Dynasty China?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST