RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Cowboy for Christmas by Bobbi Smith

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Jagged by Kristen Ashley

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Helping Hands: How Mark Henry Found His Way To Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Publishing is a tough business. From cancelled contracts to amazing books that never get their due, it's a tough road for authors and aspiring writers to walk. Today Mark Henry, UF-turned-romance author, is here to tell us about how he got over a major bump in the road, and we're so glad he did! The author shares:

In the interest of transparency, I’m going to do a little oversharing to explain how I came to writing romance. It’s a tale fraught with desperation and hardship, love and regret … also horrible periods of overeating. But to say that my publishing journey has been a unique struggle is doing a disservice to the vast majority of writers both aspiring and published. We all struggle, most of us clinging to a career by our fingernails. I’m not especially begrudged or bedraggled and in many ways I’m lucky. Only a very small percentage of us ever achieve a comfortable success. I think as readers with aspirations to join the ranks of our favorite writers, that’s an unusual idea to wrap our heads around, that this person who’s achieved what I so desperately crave is likely not considered a success and may, in fact, be worried about where they’ll scrounge up money for groceries. That’s changing in this age of indie publishing, but only for the truly flexible and ambitious. Suffice it to say, up until about about six months ago, I didn’t fall into either camp.

After some mighty encouraging buzz, my venture into young adult (Velveteen as Daniel Marks) seemed to have flown so far under the radar as to barely blip. By a month out of the gate, we knew it was a disappointment. This after two years of toiling over that book, rewriting, scrapping half of it post sale and reorganizing it to a degree I’d not experienced during my entire adult urban fantasy series career. I had set my mind to positivity. This book was going to be the one.

Not so much.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read-Along: Ruthie Knox's Roman Holiday 4: Ravaged

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last week we continued our first RT read-a-long with episode 3 of Ruthie Knox’s Roman Holiday, “Blindsided.” After seven days of (im)patiently waiting, we’re back with episode four, “Ravaged.” If you’re new here, RT’s Elisa and Elissa (aka EV and EP, for your sanity) are reading along with the 10-part serial, which will be released in two chunks, one between now and mid-December, and the second in March. If you’re reading along with us, let us know! We love company.

EP: Well! We’re really getting somewhere now, aren’t we? This episode had sexytimes, backstory and mud.

EV: Finally! I have been wanting some Romand and Ashley sexytimes. Although they don’t go “all the way,” I’m glad they’re getting there.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Heart of the Hunter by Tina St. john

  

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Heartsong by Debbie Macomber

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

But It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Giveaway: Win A Kindle Loaded With Haunting YA Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
39COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read-Along: Ruthie Knox's Roman Holiday 3: Blindsided

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last week we continued our first RT read-a-long with episode 2 of Ruthie Knox’s Roman Holiday, “Hitched.” After seven days of (im)patiently waiting, we’re back with episode three, “Blindsided.” If you’re new here, RT’s Elisa and Elissa (aka EV and EP, for your sanity) are reading along with the 10-part serial, which will be released in two chunks, one between now and mid-December, and the second in March. If you’re reading along with us, let us know! We love company.

EP: Well! We’re three parts into the great serial experiment. What do you think so far of reading a piecemeal romance?

EV: I haven’t quite decided yet. On one hand, I want to read the rest of the book ASAP, and on another it’s a nice surprise every week. I also read so much, that it’s nice to have Ruthie’s “Letter From the Author” recapping what’s happened so far to remind me what’s going on.

EP: I’m finding that I like the little bites of story, but I definitely want to Know. What. Happens. Next. C’mon, Knox!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Black Friday Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

For those of us celebrating Thanksgiving this week, there is only one thing more satisfying than stuffing your face with food all day on Thursday — and that's shopping til you drop the glorious day after, better known as Black Friday. Whether you shop in stores or online, buy from businesses big or small, there are deals to be savored. Today, for book lovers everywhere, we've rounded up Black Friday deals (some exclusive to the season and some always-this-cheap deals for gifting or for yourself) for print books, e-books and reading devices, for the reader looking to keep their wallets full and their TBR pile towering this holiday.

PRINT BOOKS

INDIE BOOKSTORES

By all means, if you're buying print books this holiday season, your local independent bookseller can most likely hook you up with whatever you need. Many authors are also offering signed copies of recent releases available through their local indie bookstore, and it's worth browsing author websites and Twitter accounts to see whose doing what. Here are a few we found:

- John Scalzi

-Yasmine Galenorn*


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Editorial Services From Dark World Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Today we're offering an extra special holiday treat for authors and writers: the chance to win free edits for one full-length novel, courtesy of the UK-based company Dark World Books. Dark World Books offers customized boutique services for independent and published authors of Urban/Dark Fantasy, Dystopian, Steampunk, YA/NA Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Historical Romance, Dark Erotica, Contemporary Erotica and Erotic Romance.

Having problems with your author business? Their job is to guide you through this sometimes overwhelming process and take care of manuscript edits, covers and marketing material creation, trailers and book tours! Curious what customers have to say? You can read their testimonials here and learn more about their editorial and marketing services here.

To celebrate their first year, DWB is delighted to offer free edits for one full-length novel for the genres mentioned above. Fill out the Rafflecopter form, and make sure to check back on December 9th when we announce the contest winner!

 Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck everyone!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Sweet Revenge by Zoë Archer

 

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Wager by Rachel Van Dyken

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Kristen Proby On How To Find The Good Ones

BY Cyndy Aleo, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

The December issue of RT Book Reviews featured a letter from reader Karen Ancell, who was frustrated with her experiences in trying to find good — and even great — self-published romance and erotica.

I'm a self-published author myself — although not in either romance or erotica — and the email from Ms. Ancell inspired me to go out and ask some other self-published authors what makes a good self-published book, as well as how to find these standouts.

The first of this three-part series featured popular self-published authors Penny Watson  and Kit Rocha.

In this second part, reviewer- (she's nominated for a 2013 Reviewers's Choice Award!) and fan-favorite author Kristen Proby talks about switching between the worlds of self and traditional publishing. She also provides more tips for finding the great stuff in self-published romance and erotica.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST