RT Daily Blog

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Indie/Self-Pubbed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Paranormal & UF Indie/Self-Pubbed!

 


       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read-Along: Ruthie Knox's Roman Holiday 2: Hitched

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK
Last week we kicked off our first RT read-a-long with episode 1 of Ruthie Knox’s Roman Holiday, “Chained.” After seven days of (im)patiently waiting, we’re back with episode two, “Hitched.” If you’re new here, RT’s Elisa and Elissa (aka EV and EP, for your sanity) are reading along with the 10-part serial, which will be released in two chunks, one between now and mid-December, and the second in March. If you’re reading along with us, let us know! We love company.

EP: EV, it’s true what Tom Petty says, the waiting is indeed the hardest part. Now that Roman Holiday is really starting to gather speed (a road trip pun, don’t cha know), waiting each week for the next installment is tough! I actually clapped my hands in delight when episode two, “Hitched” hit my inbox. Then I downloaded it right quick.

EV: I thought I loved the concept of serialized romances, but not I’m not so sure. Waiting is HARD. Especially when the story is really good (and, lucky for us, this one is!).  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrate The Big Easy With An Erotic E-Book Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s Monday, so let’s start the week off with a giveaway! Because it turns out we’re not the only ones super excited about heading to New Orleans for the RT Convention in May 2014, eight erotica authors, including Jayne Rylon, Eden Bradley and Mari Carr, were so … ahem … inspired, they wrote stories set in the city of sin, all compiled in the Midnight Ink anthology. Tell us more, ladies! And don't forget to check out our giveaway details below.

The Midnight Ink box set was always going to be in New Orleans. There was never any doubt. Not only has it been on all our minds since we discovered the 2014 RT convention was going to be held there, but the city instantly brings to mind words like sultry, steamy and decadent. How could eight erotic romance writers resist?

It doesn't hurt that most of the authors have or are beginning series that take place in the Big Easy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Ebook Erotic Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better!

Today, we celebrate the nominees of Ebook Erotic Romance!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How To Lose A Bride In One Night by Sophie Jordan

 

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

All He Ever Dreamed by Shannon Stacey

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

 

Buy It On Amazon For $2.90 >>

Buy It On Amazon For $2.90 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read-Along: Ruthie Knox's Roman Holiday 1: Chained

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

As we discussed yesterday, serials are making a comeback! It’s an interesting concept, especially to we romance readers, who like to devour a story in as close to one sitting as possible, to get to that HEA. So your intrepid web editors, Elisa and Elissa (we know, we confuse ourselves sometimes) have decided to experience this whole trend in real time. We’ll be reading along with Ruthie Knox’s Roman Holiday, a 10-part serial that will be released in two chunks, one between now and mid-December, and the second in March. If you’re reading along with us, let us know! We love company.

***

Elissa (who hereafter shall be referred to as EP, for all of our sanity): I’m so glad you decided to read a Ruthie Knox story with me! I’ve been a fan of hers since I snagged a copy of “About Last Night” at RT’s e-book fair last year in Kansas City.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Everything Old is New Again: Ruthie Knox on Serials and Serialization

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

The serialized novel is making a comeback, thanks to websites like Wattpad and the proliferation of fan fiction. Today, rising contemporary star Ruthie Knox begins her own serial adventure, Roman Holiday. The 150,000-word road trip romance will be released in 10 parts and the "episodes" will take a three-month break in between — the second half of Roman Holiday will be available in March.

We were so curious about this new trend that your intrepid web editors, Elisa and Elissa, are going to read along. Every Tuesday we'll post our thoughts on the latest epsiode, and we'd love it if you'd join us. To get you excited about this adventure, we asked Ruthie for her thoughts on serialization, and why she wanted to give it a whirl. 

As soon as I signed on to write a serial romance novel, people started telling me how much they hate them. “I don’t want to read things in pieces,” I heard. “I read fast, and want to know what happens now.”

Yikes.

I was surprised by these reactions at first, but then I realized that most of my feelings about serials had to do with the challenges the format presents to writers. I wasn’t thinking as a reader.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Forged by Jennifer Rush (AKA The Novella With a Hot Guy On It)

BY DJ DeSmyter, NOVEMBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you follow me on Twitter or on my own personal blog, then you know I'm kind of obsessed with Jennifer Rush's Altered series. With its high-stakes action, secret government operations and swoon-worthy guys (yes, plural), what's not to love? Now, what makes this YA series even better is the fact that the books have rather lovely covers that not only tie into the stories inside, but are also incredibly sexy and lovely to stare at. And the latest cover in the series, for the upcoming novella "Forged," is no exception! Let's take a look:

First, let's just admire the shirtless guy for a moment.

Maybe we should take another moment, yeah?

Okay, now that we've sufficiently ogled, let's talk about the rest of the cover. I absolutely love the hot pink color of the title and how it really pops against the image's general black and white scheme. And the vertical position of the title and Jennifer's name add yet another eye-catching element.

So, fellow readers, what do you think? Are you as in love with this series as I am, and can't wait for the December 3 release of "Forged"? For more YA covers, visit our Everything Young Adult Page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Back to the Bedroom by Janet Evanovich

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi   

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Kristen Ashley's Jagged — Warning, Mild Spoilers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Being a reviewer for RT means you get to read a lot, inside and outside your comfort zone. Today reviewer Marie Bongiorno tackles her first Kristen AshleyJagged — and we made her report back in depth. Beware of mild spoilers below, okay? 

If you’ve ever accessed the internet, you’ve probably heard of Kristen Ashley — or KA, as she’s known to her fans — the über-popular romance author who writes mega alpha heroes. I was intrigued, but also trepidatious, because while I enjoy a hero who takes charge, I don’t go in much for machismo.

But when Jagged, KA’s latest in her Colorado Mountain series, came up for review, I was curious enough to take a chance.

Jagged is the story of Zara and Reece. They had an on-again, off-again thing for years. Zara broke it off, knowing Reece couldn’t commit, and married another man. Things didn’t work out, and when the book opens, she’s down on her luck big time, having lost her business and her home.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST