RT Daily Blog

RWA 2013: Discussing Self-Publishing With Bella Andre And Barbara Freethy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

The biggest news in the publishing industry today is the success of self published authors. From becoming bestsellers, to selling to NYC houses and winning over millions of readers, there has never been a better (or more lucrative) time to be an indie author. At the 2013 RWA National Conference, self-published authors Barbara Freethy and Bella Andre held several workshops on how to become a self-pub success and why you might want to consider being your own boss. In the panel "Self-Publishing Chat with Barbara Freethy and Bella Andre" these authors answered audience questions on the nitty gritty that goes into self-publishing. Here is an overview on what was discussed.

Authors Barbara Freethy and Bella Andre

Beginning the workshop, Bella gave some bullet points of what authors ready to self publish should do. These included:

1) Write your next book!

2) Get a content editor and copy editor

3) Don’t price your work too low

But out of all of these tips, Bella says that the first is the absolute most important because there is no better way to market yourself than to publish that next book. And for her, this means continuing to write her popular Sullivans series. She describes the process:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giddyup!: Joley Sue Burkhart On Discovering Pony Play

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Readers know that when they pick up an erotic romance, there's a good chance it may come with a heavy dose of kink. But this goes beyond just BDSM. One aspect of kinkery that is rarely explored by erotic romance writers is pony play. An act of dominance and submission, pony play is exactly what it sounds like: the submissive partner acting as a pony and the dominant partner acting as the rider/trainer. Joley Sue Burkhart is one of the few authors who has dared to explore this subject and she's here to tell us what sparked her interest in pony play and why she felt it fit perfectly into her erotic science fiction tale, Her Grace's Stable.

It's all Anne Rice's fault. (That's my story and I'm sticking to it.)


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sharing Yoga: Samantha Hunter On Yoga's Romantic Nature

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Exercise isn't normally thought of as sexy — but there's something downright sensual about yoga. The slow, provocative movements, not to mention thinking about what else someone that flexible can do. Yoga is the focus of author Samantha Hunter's latest romance, Bending Over Backwards, and we asked Hunter, a yogi herself, to tell us about why yoga compliments romance and how the exercise can be a highly enjoyable couples activity.

I’ve been a solo practitioner of yoga for the last three years, which basically means I don’t attend classes. Yoga is not only exercise for me, but it’s quiet time when I can relax and let all of the stress go. This is why home practice has been my choice. I rely primarily on DVDs, magazine and internet, and I’ve developed enough skill to work through whatever poses feel right on a certain day. I can pick whatever time of day I want to practice (sometimes in the middle of the night, if I can’t sleep) and I can do it for as long as I feel I want to. Still, it’s nice to share yoga, too, and couples or partner yoga is a very popular aspect of practice.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean

 

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Glitter Baby by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Crossing the Line by Katie McGarry

Buy For $1.63 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christi Barth On How To Have A Successful Summer Fling (Hint: Don’t Bring Your Family)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Summer means warm weather, vacations and lots of beach or poolside relaxation. It also means for us single folks a chance at a summer fling! But what's the right strategy for making your summer romance unforgettable? According to Christi Barth, managing family is the key. Today the author is here to share her advice, and some excerpts from her summer romance Love at High Tide, to help you navigate the waters of summer lovin'.

For a summer fling, you basically need sun, sand, and a willing (and cute!) member of the preferred sex. Seems simple, right? No obvious obstacles. If it gets too hot, you jump in the ocean/lake/pool. If it rains, you get cuddle time on the couch. If it gets late, it is warm enough to fall asleep under the stars. But often times summer vacations come with a very unwelcome obstacle: family.

Whether you’re at the family cabin, a family reunion, or the family beach house (do you sense a theme?), nothing can block impending romance like your nearest and dearest. Here’s an example from my very own beach fling book, Love At High Tide:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Ice Princess by Elizabeth Hoyt

Buy For 89 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Treading Water by Marie Force

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Keary Taylor and Her Cybernetic World

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last week, we shared some of our favorite self-published authors in our article on the rise of self-publishing. One of the authors we spotlighted was Keary Taylor, the inventive writer behind the Fall of Angels series and, most recently, the Eden Trilogy, a Young Adult dystopian series. Set in a world where a cybernetic technology has taken over the human race, the series started earlier this year with The Bane and continues with The Human. Taylor’s journey to publication hasn’t been easy, but it has most definitely been rewarding. Today, the author discusses her writing experiences, the inspiration behind her bestselling Eden Trilogy and provides insightful advice for writers looking to self-publish.

***

Can you describe how your experience in self-publishing has been so far? Have there been any particular challenges and what's the most important thing you've learned?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Rebellious Desires by Julie Garwood 

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

One Perfect Night by Bella Andre

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Pivot Point by Kasie West

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Publishing On The Rise (No Surprise Here)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

In a recent study regarding the way self-publishing affects the market, Bowker Market Research concluded that self-published works make up 12% of all e-book sales. When looking at specific genres, such as crime, romance and popular fiction, this percentage rises to 20%, which indicates a shift in the way consumers purchase books.

Steve Bohme, UK research director at Bowker, said this research marks the first time the company has “looked at self-publishing in this depth to find out what part it plays” and Bohme hopes this data will enable self-published writers to better navigate the market.

The market can indeed be tricky road to travel, as it is always changing and is heading deeper and deeper into digital territory. With Barnes and Noble’s selection of free Nook books and the extremely low prices of Kindle books on Amazon, more and more consumers are browsing online rather than in store. Since self-published authors release their works primarily in e-format, this enables consumers to discover self-published material easily and quickly. Bowker’s research also shows that online recommendation sections and special e-offers help spotlight self-published works as well.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Christine D'Abo's Choose Your Shot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Remember those fun “Choose Your Own Adventure” books from your childhood and how exciting it was to be in control of the story? Well, fasten your seatbelts because Christine D’Abo’s upcoming novel Choose Your Shot gives readers an interactive story with a very erotic twist, and we have an exclusive look at the book’s cover!

But first, let’s tell you a little bit about the book:

When Tegan receives an invite to the reopening of a BDSM club, she can’t wait to satisfy her needs that have been ignored for too long. But which man and pleasures should she choose? Readers will get to explore the club’s many seductions through Tegan and ultimately decide how her story ends. Are you ready to play?

Not only does the book sound exhilarating, but the cover is sensational! With a simple, yet evocative background, the cover features Tegan in some very skimpy clothing. While her back is to the reader, she is certainly no wilting flower. Her arched pose and come-hither look screams confidence. The author says that this is the absolute perfect depiction of her character.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST