RT Daily Blog

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Part 3, "Taunts Me"

BY Elisa Verna, MARCH 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for my part three recap of Megan Hart's erotic serial, Every Part of You, titled "Taunts Me." Part three Elliott and Simone asking "What exactly is it that were doing here?" Is it casual sex? A relationship? Is Elliott too closed off and controlling to let anyone into his life? Does Simone still have the hots for her ex fun buddy? So many questions!

First off, let me say that the two week gap between each part is too much. I kind of forgot where part two left off and had to go back and check. After a fight, Simone and Elliott both end up (separately) at the kind of smarmy Louisiana politician's dinner party. Elliott figured out some business things while watching Simone from across the room, and pretty soon they're groping each other because who can really stay mad at someone they're having fantastic sex with?

They head back to Elliott's place for more sexytimes, during which Elliott urges her to talk more about her masochistic tendencies, which is super dirty and hot.

The morning after …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sharon Page Asks: Why Do We Really Love Bikers?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, biker heroes. Their appeal is real, raw — and has romance fans begging for more. They're cropping up in our erotica, New Adult and contemporary romances — not to mention on TV and in films. So we asked erotica author Sharon Page, whose latest story "Fast and Mine" is one of 14 in the Riding Desire box set, to tell us why we can't get enough of those biker heroes. After consulting her fellow romance authors, here's what she has to say:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeannie Lin Tells Us: How My Worst Seller Became a Bestseller and What it Means to Write “Different”

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Any author will tell you, publishing can be a volatile industry in which to build a career. Even as we as readers clamber for more, finding one’s way amongst the pitfalls of contracts, self-publishing, marketing and more can be tough.

Late last year, Jeannie Lin announced that the sequel to her RT Award Nominee, China-set historical romance, The Lotus Palace, would be published digitally only, thanks in part to poor sales. Her candid post rallied those in the romance industry. Today, that digital-only sequel, which earned a 4.5 star rating The Jade Temptress, releases. We asked Jeannie to weigh in about her transition to digital, her publishing career, and what it all means. Take it away, Jeannie!

The Jade Temptress, which releases today, will be the sixth full-length historical romance I’ve published set in the Tang Dynasty. Do you know that Jade Lee, an author I consider my idol, my publishing big sister, had six books in her Tigress series set in Qing Dynasty China?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: February 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash? As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured several online book retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and more, as well as bestseller lists, to put together the bestselling fiction titles of the month that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

The Private Club: Three Days by JS Cooper and Helen Cooper

Genre: Contemporary Short Story

Release date: February 2014

The story: You may recognize JS and Helen from last month’s self-pub bestseller list, for their über-popular Ex Games series. The Private Club is a three-part erotic serial, a spin-off of sorts, starring Meg, an unemployed lawyer looking for work. She meets the ubiquitous hero of this genre, the ‘handsome and elusive’ Greyson at her interview at The Club. Thinking she’s applying for a bartending job, Meg learns she’s in for so much more. As her connection with Greyson grows, as do her questions about the true nature of the club. At a short 67 pages, don’t expect to get too many answers, but never fear, those savvy Coopers have already released the second entry, The Private Club: Two Days.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Scandal Wears Satin by Loretta Chase

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

About Last Night by Ruthie Knox

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

But It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Six Avon Historical Romance Ebooks On Sale For $1.99 Each

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Thursday is the big day for ebook deals here on the RT Daily Blog, but if you can't wait for tomorrow's Cheaper by the Dozen column, we've got even more deals for you! Avon, the publisher synonymous with historical romance, has lowered the ebook prices of several of their more recent historicals. Grab each of these full-length romances for only $1.99 each while the sale lasts! Happy shopping. Note: All prices listed are accurate at the time of this posting.

 

It Happened One Midnight by Julie Anne Long

  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Beverley Kendall Details Her Comprehensive Survey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing! It’s been the buzz word in the publishing world for quite some time, as authors, editors, agents and more debate just where the future of publishing is heading. To help us all figure it all out, we'll be spotlighting various self-publishing heavy hitters — including authors, editors and industry professionals — here on the RT blog each month with our new Self-Pub Like a Pro column.

So what’s really going on behind the curtain? Author Beverley Kendall recently conducted a comprehensive survey to find out just that, and the results were surprising and illuminating. We got in touch with Beverley to find out more.

***

What are the top three most important takeaway points from your survey?

My first takeaway from the results of the survey is that self-publishing definitely isn’t a “get rich quick” scheme. It requires hard work and being successful in it takes time.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Checkmate My Lord by Tracey Devlyn

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Secrets of the Lost Summer by Carla Neggers

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

A Little Too Much by Lisa Desrochers

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

But It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love And Other Games: Romance at the Winter Olympics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Athletes are hot. There, we said it. It's no secret, really, what with their well-toned bodies, confidence and skill on the field or wherever else they display their speed and agility. Sports romances have quickly amassed a devoted following with readers, so when Swoon Romance released their Love and Other Games anthology, featuring New Adult short stories set at the Winter Olympics, we were more than a little excited to read it. Today, Aria Kane, who contributed "The Girl Behind the Gold", which was one of our reviewer's favorites, offers up her view on why athletes and the Olympics make for a potent combination. Take it away, Aria!

The Winter Olympics. The World Stage.

Nearly 3000 of planet Earth's most elite athletes living, eating, sleeping within a few square miles.

A fraction of a second can literally change a person's entire life. A slip of the foot can end a person's career. Dreams live and die on the edge of a blade. Every single day is home to hundreds of make-or-break moments. Most of them break, but we mainly remember the ones that make it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Wicked Wallflower by Maya Rodale

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Bring on the Blessings by Beverly Jenkins

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

New Adult

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST