RT Daily Blog

Flight: How Authors And Readers Co-Wrote A Novella During The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Great things come from book conventions. Readers meeting authors. Authors pitching books. Publishers finalizing contracts. But what happens when all three of these groups come together? Well, if you were at the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, you had a chance to take part in a fantastic workshop where readers participated in a brainstorming session that resulted in a story the authors co-wrote and have now published.

“Flight,” the newly-released, self-published short story is the result of the “You Done It” workshop at the 2012 RT Convention. After readers and workshop attendees brainstormed the plot, it was up to the writers of the authors of “The Outfit,” a collective of Chicago crime writers, to get the story written. Talent including Libby Fischer Hellmann, Laura Caldwell, Jamie Freveletti and Michael Allen Dymmoch wrote the story in round-robin segments. The result is a mystery with a unique voice.


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Flirting with Ruin by Marguerite Kaye   

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Against the Wind by Virginia Kelly

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Putting Boys on the Ledge by Stephanie Rowe

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Wild One by Danelle Harmon

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Slow Summer Kisses by Shannon Stacey

Buy For $1.50 >>

 

Young Adult

Clockwise by Elle Strauss   

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

A Kiss At Midnight by Eloisa James

   

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love Me by Bella Andre

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Lost Voices by Sarah Porter

    

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Smashwords Founder And CEO Mark Coker

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Smashwords.com is one of the top platforms for authors looking to take the self-publishing route. At this year's RT Booklovers Convention, Smashwords CEO and founder Mark Coker was on-hand to chat with aspiring and published authors about the world of self-publishing. In this video interview, Coker chats with RT's Morgan about how he started Smashwords and built it into a highly successful online self-publishing platform.

Discover some of the amazing opportunities out there for authors to directly reach readers. Then find out what analyzing Smashwords' e-book sales over the last year has revealed in terms of the best-selling price points, story lengths and genres for your self-published writing. (Coker does advise that authors approach self-publishing with a cautious optimism, because not everyone will be instant bestsellers.) Discover what Coker knows about the new frontier that is self-publishing with this RT-exclusive interview. And if you want more self-publishing tips from Mark Coker after watching the video, check out the blog post about his RT Convention panel for even more tips on the best self-publishing practices.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying it, self-publishing is booming and the result is an enormous amounts of great books ready for readers. Each month in the RT magazine we take a look at some of the authors and titles in our new “Self-pub Hub” column and in our review sections. But with so many books, how do you choose which one to try first? Well, now you can take our simple quiz and we’ll help you figure out which new self-published book from this month’s issue is your next read!

***

1. Which type of romance do you prefer?

A) One that involves chivalry and a knight in shining armor

B) A modern-day relationship

C) The kind that seems a little bit magical

D) One where you put your heart — and maybe your life — on the line

E) Love that comes with a double helping of heat

 

2. Your perfect hero...

A) Is dark, broody and good with a broadsword

B) Has superstar talent

C) Can tap into an ancient heritage

D) Will go the extra mile to “protect and serve”

E) Is not afraid to make a grand gesture — like moving across the country unasked

 

3. A good book best read with which of these at your side ...

A) A purring cat

B) A can of soda or glass of wine to drink

C) A dictionary to look up words you don’t know

D) The keys to your front door, just so you know you’ve locked it


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: We Compare Amazon's CreateSpace to Kindle Direct Publishing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Yesterday we brought you a look at the perks of using CreateSpace and Kindle Direct Publishing to self-publish your manuscript. So why would you opt to use CreateSpace versus KDP, or vice versa? Well, today we outline the two platforms to help you decide which to use to take your book from manuscript to moneymaker!

***

CreateSpace in one easy phrase … is for authors looking to self-publishing print books.

What does it cost? This process can be completely free, and that experience comes with several no-fee tools to help you go from manuscript to print book. These include a cover creator, a way to preview your book in order to get customized feedback, share your work with a select audience and make updates to your manuscript based on what people say, and finally an updated way to take a look at your manuscript before it becomes a book with Interior Reviewer.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Lord of Vengeance by Lara Adrian (writing as Tina St. John)

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just The Way You Are by Barbara Freethy

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

   

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: How To Publish With Amazon's Kindle Direct Publishing And CreateSpace

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This year at BookExpo America one of the newest publishers on the block — Internet giant Amazon — was making waves. Not only were they all over the showroom floor, accessible to readers and authors alike, during the convention Amazon’s indie publishing arm hosted a panel specifically for authors. During the seminar, Amazon Community Outreach Product Manager Thom Kephart gave writers a look inside of Amazon’s self-publishing ventures.

With so much going on at Amazon, it was great to get easy-to-understand breakdown of the two indie publishing services — CreateSpace and Kindle Direct Publishing — and take a look at some of the perks of using the Amazon publishing tools.


Authors who have self-published with Amazon share their success stories with audience members at BEA 2012

So what is the fundamental difference between CreateSpace and KDP? Kephart explained that it’s very simple. CreateSpace is a tool that allows authors to self-publish print books. While KDP allows authors to self-publish e-books.

Kephart started the panel with a look at some of the many reasons that authors may want to opt for one of the retailer’s self-publishing, or what they call indie publishing, options. He explained that there are four prongs to the perks of using either Amazon’s CreateSpace or KDP options to get your book into the hands (or onto the e-readers) of book lovers.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Lessons in French by Laura Kinsale

Buy For $1.99 >> 

 

Contemporary Romance

Looking for Trouble by Erin Kern

Buy For 99 cents >>

 

Young Adult

Breathless by Scott Prussing

Buy For 99 cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST