RT Daily Blog

Christi Barth's Heroine Ivy On Planning For Love

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Christi Barth's new contemporary romance, Planning For Love, treats readers to a tale of unsuspecting romance when wedding planner Ivy Rhodes falls for handsome videographer Bennett Westcott. But after a one-night stand leaves Ivy thinking Bennett is afraid of commitment, the two are thrown together to work on a wedding reality TV show. Now Ivy and Bennett must decide if there's any future for their own "I dos."

We love the idea of a wedding planner finding her own HEA. And we were curious to know what Ivy has learned about marriages and romance after all of her time spent planning other people's nuptials. So we went to Ivy herself to debunk commonly held perceptions about The Big Day. We now leave the blog in the capable (and expert!) hands of Ivy Rhodes:

Thanks to my reality television show, Planning for Love, many of you know that I’m Chicago’s premiere wedding planner. Which means you can trust me to kibosh some stale wedding traditions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Confessions at Midnight by Jacquie D'Alessandro

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love Will Find A Way by Barbara Freethy

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Mayfair Moon by J.A. Redmerski

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

A Gentleman Says "I Do" by Amelia Grey

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Holiday in Stone Creek by Linda Lael Miller

Buy For $1.24 >>

 

Young Adult

Become by Ali Cross

Get It For Free >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August 2012: Which Self-Published Historical Heroine Are You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Authors today have many outlets for their creativity. If a story doesn't fit with a traditional publisher, the work is no longer relegated to the back of a file cabinet, a box under the bed or the depths of a computer hard drive. These days, books have a chance to reach interested readers via the popular avenue of self-publishing, which is great news for historical fans. With unique reads available online, we get to venture out and explore new worlds — much like the exploring that was done by the heroines of old! Unsure where will you head next? Then take our quiz to find out which recent self-published historical romance is right for you!

***

1. Every girl has to have a signature song. Which tune fits your attitude best?

A) "No More Drama" by Mary J. Blige. There’s more than enough of that in your life as it is.

B) "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" by The Police, because you’ve got it going on.

C) “Love Story” by Taylor Swift. You’re still waiting for your Romeo.

D) "Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover" by Sophie B. Hawkins, because you would rock him 'til the daylight comes.

 

2. So many online dating profiles, so little time to sort through them all. Going on usernames alone, who would you wink at first?

A) UKSwashbuckler4Life

B) SirSeeksLady

C) CallXMeXDaddy

D) Ur_Soldier_of_Fortune

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bring On The Scandalous E-Sale: Nine Historical Tales For Under $3

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Cheaper by the Dozen, our weekly column that rounds up inexpensive e-book deals, will be available later this week. But today we've uncovered nine historical tales that will whisk you back in time — on sale for under $3.00 each! Check out this steal of a deal and discover new romances and happily-ever-afters that stand the test of time.

Your Scandalous Ways by Loretta Chase

James Cordier is a man on a mission working for the Crown, so he has no time for scandalous widow Francesca Bonnard. But she has no such problem and is excited to get her plan for seduction underway!

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

A Scandal to Remember by Linda Needham

Princess Caroline is looking for passion and finds it in the arms of Andrew, Earl of Wexford. But will their fragile love be destroyed when his secret is revealed?

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

 

Lady Scandal by Shannon Donnelly

Alexandria Sandal and Paxton Marsett have a past that both wish they could forget. But when this couple reunites and sparks begin to fly, perhaps it is time for a second chance at love.

Buy From Amazon >>
Buy From Barnes & Noble >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Your Scandalous Ways by Loretta Chase

    

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Return to You by Kate Perry

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Project Gutenberg Launches Self-Publishing Library

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Project Gutenberg is an online resource library of all the works in the public domain. It was founded by Michael Hart in 1971 in an attempt to coordinate a worldwide effort to create digital versions of the world’s classic literature. Until this point, Project Gutenberg has been focused on researching the copyright information of classic works, as well as creating e-book versions of the work and making them available to the public. However, Project Gutenberg has just announced that it has created a new facet to its website, the Authors Community Cloud Library. Authors can now upload — and distribute — their self-published works. 


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cat Kalen Introduces Her New Heroine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

We were intrigued when RT reviewer Amy raved that Cat Kalen's self-published series first was something special. "Completely different from the other werewolf novels out there, this one's a keeper," she said about Pride's Run. Teen shifter heroine Pride is trapped by a cruel master, but when her life is on the line will this runt of the litter decide that it's time to take control of her life? With this intriguing premise in mind, we went straight to the author to find out just what it is that inspired her heroine.

People have been fascinated by werewolves for years. Pride’s Run, the first book in my Wolf’s Pride series offers a deeper focus, a situation that seems to have caught the curiosity of readers, especially when they understand these wolves have been confined their whole lives and used as assassins by a cruel drug lord master.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

By Royal Command by Laura Navarre

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Where The Heart Lies by Michelle Garren Flye

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Young Adult

A Job from Hell by Jayde Scott

Buy For 99 Cents >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

With self-published books making big waves in the world of publishing, a reader can feel lost, adrift on a sea of potentially fantastic (but possibly terrible) tales. Never fear, the S.S. RT BOOK REVIEWS is here to guide you reading happiness. Each month in the magazine we investigate some of the new self-published books and authors that will delight readers in the “Self-pub Hub” column and the reviews sections. So take a look at our top titles of the month and let us guide you to a reading safe harbor by answering a few simple questions about the direction you’d like to set sail. 

***

1. If you’re on a first date with a guy who shows off one of these skills, which will win him a second date?

A) Juggling — He’s always happy to clown around

B) Knowing if your burger is cooked to perfection — He’ll keep you safe from (just about any) blood-born disease ...

C) Ordering the perfect meal — This man knows what you want before you do

D) Sweet talks the maitre d’ into giving you the best table — Baby will not be put into a corner with this man

E) Performing CPR — Even on your worst days, you’ll look good to this doctor hero

 

2. You love to read about a heroine who ...

A) Is curious like a cat

B) Rolls with the punches

C) Challenges the status quo

D) Isn’t afraid to start over

E) Has a healing heart

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST