RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Excerpt: Larissa Ione's Apocalypse

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Every year at the RT Booklovers Convention's Giant Book Fair, there is a breakout author. Amidst the sea of writers autographing, one author will have a line so long that it will wrap around the entire event. This year, the one to watch was Larissa Ione. A writer of the paranormal romance variety, Ione is known for creating great characters, complex plots and steamy, steamy reads and her newest series, Lords of Deliverance, is incredibly popular. Featuring the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse, these books have readers' hearts racing, desperate for more end of the world action! This month, Ione is feeding our need with the next novel in her series, Lethal Rider and "Apocalypse," an e-only compendium about the series. Included in "Apocalypse" is a behind the scenes look at the author's sexy heroes, daring heroines and smashing series. This 99-cent buy also sports a terrific short story that will have readers wanting more. Whether you are already a fan or are just getting your first taste of Ione's Lords, enjoy this RT-exclusive excerpt from the new e-short "Apocalypse".

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

May 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying it, self-publishing is booming and the result is an enormous amouts of great books ready for readers. Each month in the RT magazine we take a look at some of the authors and titles in our new “Self-pub Hub” column and in our review sections. But with so many books, how do you choose which one to try first? Well, now you can take our simple quiz and we’ll help you figure out which new self-published book from this month’s issue is your next read!

***

I like a book that is filled with:

A) Long-hidden secrets

B) Everyday challenges

C) Revenge plots

D) Supernatural adventure

 

You never know when you might need:

A) A pair of rain boots and an umbrella, so you are ready for any storm

B) A bike, so you can get away from it all

C) A laptop with a 4G wireless connection, so you are always connected

D) A book of spells, so you can use your special abilities

 

Your celebrity idol is:

A) Diane Lane

B) Kate Hudson

C) Michelle Rodriguez

D) Amanda Seyfried

 

Your always fall for a hero that:

A) Has a problem his buckets of money can't fix

B) Is hard-working and steadfast

C) Has a code of honor that is black and white

D) Believes in doing his duty, no matter the personal cost

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Alternatives To DRM E-book Technology Are In The Works

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Booklovers who read e-books know that there are a few ways that digital reads are very different from ink and paper books. At the top of the list is that most e-books are more difficult to share and move across e-reading devices. These days, Digital Rights Management — commonly known as DRM — software, protects most e-books. However, DRM is not particularly popular with readers some e-publishing ventures are opting to skip the form of protection entirely. Thus the GiantSteps Media Technology Strategies is proposing that the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF) look at ways to revolutionize the way that digital content is protected by finding a middle ground between DRM and no protection at all.

DRM technology limits how digital content or devices are used, working to make sure that those uses are within the guidelines or parameters set by the company that sold the content to a user. DRM is mostly in place to stop piracy, the illegal act of copyright infringement, and preserve artistic control. However, this is not just an issue that affects those who download illegally, the Electronic Frontier Foundation has some really great examples of when you might run into problems with DRM:


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

I Kissed an Earl by Julie Anne Long

  

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Risky Business by Suzanne MacPherson

Buy For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

My Life as the Ugly Stepsister by Juli Alexander

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Crichton's Classics Are Going Digital

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

Dinosaurs, super viruses and killer primates, oh my … Michael Crichton, that is! Nine of this prolific author’s chilling tales are now available as e-reads for the first time. The famous author and creator passed away in 2008; however, as his stories were techno thrillers and science-y suspenses, we bet that enjoying them on our e-readers will feel absolutely fitting.

If you’ve never tried a Crichton story, now’s the perfect time to get a taste for these haunting tales. RT BOOK REVIEWS Features Editor Mala raves about the authors work saying, “There’s no denying that Crichton was ahead of the game for thrillers. He wrote edge-of-your-seat, science-based adventures that always kept me turning pages!” Intrigued readers should head to their favorite online bookseller to get a piece of all this terrifying reading action.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we feature some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

A Study In Scandal by Robyn DeHart

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Unbreak My Heart by Helen Scott Taylor

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

From the Two Rivers by Robert Jordan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Simon & Schuster's Pocket Star Imprint Will Be E-Only

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying, these days it’s all about digital books. In fact, AAP’s recently revealed sales figures show that a large portion of the increase in book sales can be attributed to the robust e-book market. And publishers have definitely been paying attention to the trend with new e-lines popping up on an almost weekly basis. Entering the fray is Simon & Schuster which has just announced that the mass market imprint Pocket Star will be re-launched as an e-only imprint.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Wildblossom by Cynthia Wright

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Private Pleasures by Jami Alden

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Young Adult

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lila Dubois On Her Rockabilly BDSM Story Undone Rebel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Lila Dubois has a flair for writing unique erotica, and especially scorching BDSM stories. The first book in her Undone Lovers series, "Undone Rebel", is no exception. When fetish model Addie, a retro babe with rockabilly style, agrees to do a BDSM photo shoot, she thinks she may be in a little over her head. But when geek-turned-Dom Lane helps Addie explore her submissive side, she knows she may have found exactly what she's always wanted. We asked the author to tell us more about these two intriguing characters — and what's next in this hot new series.

***

Addie is a perfect erotic romance character because she is not scared of her sexuality. She is shown throughout “Undone Rebel” as an adventurous, non-judgmental woman who likes to have fun. How did she come to have such a healthy outlook on sex and her own appeal?


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Crazy For The New E-Novella Crazy On You By Rachel Gibson

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Crazy On You” is a story for every woman out there who hasn’t lived life on the straight and narrow. Maybe you’ve spent a little bit too much time in bars, maybe you don’t know the names of everyone you’ve ever kissed or punched (depending on the kind of gal you are), maybe you attended the school of hard knocks and have fought for every single thing you’ve got, and maybe you’ve got a bit — or a whole luggage collection’s worth — of a checkered past. And despite how it may feel when you pick up novel after novel with seemingly perfect heroine, you are not alone.

For every woman who has ever thought that maybe (or even probably) she doesn’t deserve a happy ending, that she isn’t worthy of true love, well, Rachel Gibson has something to tell you, as long as you want it, the possibility of love is there, and heck if you’re lucky it may even be living next door.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST