RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

To Love A Dark Lord by Anne Stuart

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Let Me Be The One by Bella Andre

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Foreplay by Sophie Jordan

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Romances: April 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published romances of the month. Get your TBR list ready!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Push by Claire Wallis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, we get a lot of pitches for book coverage here at RT, so it can be hard to really snag our attention. But when this email came in, proclaiming Claire Wallis's New Adult Push to be "Gone Girl meets Beautiful Disaster" well, we had to know more. (This is why our TBR piles are always out of control.) We thought you might be similarly intrigued, so we asked the nice folks at Harlequin to provide you with a sneak peek. 

The cover of Push

I open the rest of the boxes in the living room and finish filling the bookcase with my favorite novels and some college textbooks I can't bear to part with. David is still working in the kitchen when the door buzzer rings.

"Ah," he says. "That'll be the cupboards then. Would you mind letting them in? I've got my hands full of spackle in here."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

White Lion's Lady by Lara Adrian

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

A Sweet Life boxed set by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Hard Time by Cara McKenna - beefcake alert!When I read the blurb for Hard Time by Cara McKenna I thought to myself: this book will either be completely amazing or an absolute train wreck. Luckily for me, it was the former. Told in first person, the story follows young public librarian Annie Goodhouse, who recently graduated with her MLS and has taken a position as an outreach librarian for a medium-security correctional facility, where she finds herself attracted to inmate Eric Collier. With such sensitive subject matter, which could have been handled carelessly, you can see why I thought this book might be a disaster. But McKenna does not sensationalize prison or the relationships male inmates can have with women on the outside. What impressed me most about this novel is how the author approached the subject matter so skillfully.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Freelance Editing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, a sometimes confusing one for authors trying to navigate its many possible avenues. But as always, your RT Web Team is here to help with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important process of editing. A big complaint readers often have is that self-published books aren’t edited, polished — or sometimes even spell checked. So how to avoid these pitfalls? Hiring a freelance editor could be the answer. To tell us more, today we’ve got longtime freelance editor Bev Katz Rosenbaum to give us the scoop.

***

How do you become a freelance editor?

A

I hold Specialist Certification in English Language and Literature from the University of Toronto (which is a fancy way of saying I have an Honors English degree), and I have also taken courses in substantive editing and copy editing from the Freelance Editors Association of Canada (now called the Editors Association of Canada). Immediately after graduating from university, I landed an editorial assistant position at Harlequin, and worked my way up to an editing position from there.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Fiction

The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Jagged by Kristen Ashley

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Score! Six Sports Romances Readers Can Root For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hey there, sports fan! While we mostly appreciate sports because we can drink beer while watching them, and also those tight pants the athletes often wear — we mean, is that spandex? — there’s a growing subgenre of sports romances that are hitting it big (scoring big? winning … matches? Like we said, we’re mainly in it for the beer and pants.).

If you’re already a fan or want to try these romances out, you’re in luck, because this week, six steamy sports romances are being published by Carina. Each of the books features a different sport, so the authors have stopped by today to tell us why their sport is best! (Also we made them include pictures of hot athletes. Because we care.)

RUGBY

Kat Latham (Playing It Close) - In a sport where players have thighs like redwoods, tackle each other with the force of high-speed car crashes, yet are almost always respectful to referees, it’s no wonder rugby is often called “a sport for thugs, played by gentlemen.” Not only are they strong, devoted and passionate, but they also have a sense of honor and fair play — and that makes them perfect romance heroes!  

Rugby player Jonny Wilkinson

English rugby player Jonny Wilkinson

Image © Lena via Wikimedia Commons

TENNIS


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Duke Diaries by Sophia Nash

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Breathe by Abbi Glines

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Bad Influence by K.A. Mitchell

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Hump Day, folks! We're back with another steamy excerpt to get you through the mid-week slump. Today we've got a scene from Bad Influence by K.A. Mitchell — the fourth M/M romance in the author's Bad in Baltimore series. The book tells the story of Zeb and Silver, whose meet cute isn't so cute — it lands them both in jail. Both men are dealing with scars from their past, but together they find intense chemistry. Enjoy!

Zeb leaned forward, his hands bracketing Silver’s neck where it rested against the chair. “You are a nice guy.”

Silver wanted to brush the praise away, force the reality that nice guys in Zeb’s world didn’t do bareback porn just to stay off the street.

Zeb loomed closer, hands on Silver’s shoulders. “No, screw that. I’ve had nice guys. I’ve dated and taken my time before ending up in bed with them.”

Silver’s skin prickled with gooseflesh.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST