RT Daily Blog

Happy Birthday Georgette Heyer E-Book Sale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week marks the 109 birthday of author Georgette Heyer. Although almost four decades have passed since her death, the English author remains beloved around the world for her brilliant and intriguing novels. She is undeniably one of the foremost trailblazers of the romance genre. Heyer is best known for her historical romances and mysteries, but she also wrote contemporaries, historical fiction and short stories.

To honor her amazing talent we've come up with a list of three facts that all readers should know about her:

1) Heyer published her first novel The Black Moth in the year 1921 — when she was just 19 years old!

2) Heyer was always lauded for her historical accuracy, and wrote with incredible historical detail even while she and her husband were living in Africa and Macedonia. Once they returned to England she published a mystery and a historical romance each year between 1934 and 1941

3) Heyer wrote up until her death in 1974. Her final book My Lord John was published posthumously — she had intended it to be the start of a new trilogy. She wrote for over five decades and during that time published fifty-six full-length novels and several more short stories.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Conquers All In Regency England

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Two penniless misses meet their match in Regency England in this month's Harlequin Historicals. Although both Helene and Beatrice are worried about their futures, things may not be so bleak after they've won the attention of Max and Julius. But will these relationships be able to survive the challenges ahead?

In An Innocent Debutant in Hanover Square by Anne Herries, the well-mannered miss Helene Henderson worries that the venerable Lord Maximus Coleridge will feel he can not marry her after he learns of her lower class heritage. However, it turns out that there are much more dangerous problems stalking Max — he's in the crosshairs of an assassin! But this handsome lord won't let anything, not questionable lineage or life-threatening incidents, keep him away from the woman who has stolen his heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lee Child Releases E-Original Jack Reacher Novella For $1.99

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fans of Lee Child's popular hero Jack Reacher should be sure to check out the author's first e-original novella "Second Son", which is available today. "Second Son" is on sale now for $1.99 and features an adventure from Jack Reacher's younger years.

Reacher, who is now an ex-military drifter, was first introduced in 1997 in Child's Killing Floor. The tough hero has been the main character of fifteen subsequent tales that follow him across America and around the world. These days legions of Reacher fans are eagerly awaiting a new full-length Reacher novel, The Affair, this September. 

However, "Second Son" is a perfect starting point for readers who are new to the series, as the short novella delves far into Reacher's past. Lee Child says the novella focuses on a time "... when [Reacher] was just a kid (right before he became a really BIG kid) and centers on a incident involving both his father, Stan, and his brother Joe, after his family moves to a new base on Okinawa." The story showcases the way that young Reacher was already protecting his family, and the hardships that he faced as they relocated whenever their father was stationed at a new military base.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

KindleGraph Allows Autographs on Digital Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

The reasons why we love e-reading are numerous however, the one thing digital e-readers have never allowed for are the author autographs and personal messages that so many readers cherish. This has all changed now that the masterminds at Amazon have created a new application called KindleGraph. The program allows readers to obtain a personal hand-written message from their favorite authors.

The best part? No more waiting in long lines at bookstores or conventions! When you want a book signed, you simply put in a request on your Kindle, the author receives an e-mail, inputs a digital message or signature using DocuSign, and the message is delivered back to your Kindle.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rosetta Books Introduces Crimescape A Digital Imprint Featuring True Crime Short Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Digital publisher Rosetta Books has just launched a new imprint called Crimescape. This is a line of true crime short stories penned by previously published authors. The line has debuted with six titles and the company has plans to release two more in each of the following months. 

These Crimescape titles will all run between 10,000 and 20,000 words and be Kindle exclusives during the first year. Even more exciting? These new non-fiction e-reads are all priced below $3.00. We predict that readers will enjoy knowing that they can always expect a Crimescape story to be both a fast read and easy on the wallet.

In order to guide the imprint, Rosetta Books has brought on Marilyn Bardsley, who is known in the industry for founding the popular site CrimeLibrary.com. Bardsley will be both working with authors she knows from her previous projects as well reviewing submissions from prospective new authors.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Enter To Win A Samhain Gift Card!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love e-reading for many reasons, not the least of which is that we can buy a bundle of these books without breaking the bank. Readers have let us know that you love our Cheaper by the Dozen feature, where we round up twelve e-book deals of the week. So we are thrilled to be able to pass along this awesome chance to save even more as you go about your e-book buying: eight lucky readers will each win their own Samhain Publishing gift card! 

These gift cards are good for just over five dollars off any Samhain e-purchase. Below are three of RT's Whitney's recent favorites from the publisher — any of which you could get for free if you win this giveaway. 

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diane Escalera Shares An Insider's Look At Dangerous Desire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Diane Escalera's newest release, Dangerous Desire will thrill contemporary romance and romantic suspense readers alike. RT's Dawn Crowne praises the story saying, "Escalera gives her hero and heroine great personalities — both have eclectic interests and unique backgrounds that bring the story to life. " So we went to the author to find out what inspired these compelling characters.

Ideas are funny little things. They can come from anywhere — the news, something I read, an overheard (eavesdropping) conversation. I have a curious (nosy) mind and tune into details that most people don’t pay much attention to. The simplest thing could spark an idea, but then, I have a pretty wild imagination.

When I set out to write Dangerous Desire, I wanted to do something different, a little more edgy than my previous books. I chose to make the hero a pet detective (No. He’s nothing like Ace Ventura!) because frankly, I hadn’t seen many tough guys with this profession. A love for animals softened his hard exterior. I found it attractive, and thought my heroine would too.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeaniene Frost's First E-Novella Now $1.99

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thanks to the e-book revolution, there are more books available to readers than ever before, and oftentimes they can be found at great prices. Another reason to love digital content is because now publishers are able to get even more creative in the ways they release stories. For example, take anthologies. Before, if you wanted to read a short story in an anthology, you had to purchase the entire collection. But now publishers are releasing single stories for readers to buy. This is the case for Jeaniene Frost’s “Happily Never After.” First appearing in the 2008 anthology Weddings From Hell, readers can now pick up this e-novella for only $1.99.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Kindle Or $100 Worth Of E-Books!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

No matter how much cash there is in our wallets, there’s never enough money in the budget for all of the books we want to buy. So we were over the moon to hear about the giveaway over at PrizesforReaders.com. A group of authors who write Harlequin Intrigues, as well as independently published stories have come together to offer readers a chance to win $100 worth of e-books or a Kindle. That’s right, they are giving away a Kindle.

The authors involved include RT’s December 2010 Seal of Excellence winning author B.J. Daniels, the talented Julie Miller, HelenKay Dimon and many more and signing up for your chance to win is as easy as entering your email and selecting which prize you’d rather win.

But remember the last day to enter the contest is July 31 — so head on over and enter today!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Free E-Books From Inspirational Publisher Tyndale House

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational publisher Tyndale House is offering five free e-reads! In honor of the publisher's new Digital First line, you can take advantage of this offer with reads that range from contemporary romance to fast-paced suspense. (There's even a non-fiction in the mix.)

Tyndale is offering the books in a variety of e-formats, but the post also includes the friendly reminder that you don't need an e-reader to enjoy this e-book deal — you can also read them on your computer. 

So will you be diving into Reinventing Leona by Lynne Gentry, the story of a pastor’s wife who must learn to stand on her own two feet? Or are you more in the mood to learn about the employees at a small town florist shop who must band together to save one of their own in Delivery by Diana Prusik? The great thing about free books is that you don’t need to choose just one, you can check out all five titles at the Tyndale blog!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST