RT Daily Blog

Friday Free for All: Up by Five by Erin Nicholas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Up by FiveYou made it to Friday! We're so proud of you, because this week was kind of a long one, huh? Today we've got a treat, an exclusive excerpt from rising contemporary star Erin Nicholas, and an awesome giveaway. Erin's the author of the addictive Counting on Love series, the fifth entry of which, Up by Five, is out next week.

It's the story of Connor Dixon, who finally has his sisters' lives sorted out. He's ready for some solitude, some guy time. So of course he ends up rooming with fellow paramedic Gabby, who all of the sudden is looking pretty sexy. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

What the Duke Desires by Sabrina Jeffries

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Summer He Came Home by Juliana Stone

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Parts 4 & 5

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Megan Hart’s five-part serial Every Part of You concluded yesterday with the release of the final episode, “Takes Me.” As with most serials I try to read, I fell behind and read parts four and five together. What can I say, I like reading my books in one sitting just how I like binge-watching entire TV series at once. Gimme it all!

Part four starts out with Elliott and Simone acting like a “normal couple,” going on dates, canoodling — and not humping each other every chance they get because they’ve deciding to take things slow. We finally learn, through a visit with his sick stepmom Molly, about Elliott’s trauma, which is a common source of hero trauma in many BDSM-themed romances — his father was abusive and he doesn’t want to hurt women because he doesn’t want to be his father. Which, of course, means that when the sexual tension between Elliott and Simone is too much to bear and they get to some sexytimes, Elliott freaks out and acts like a complete ass when Simone once again asks him to hurt her sexually.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: March 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists at The New York Times, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published titles of the month. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Just to Be With You by Bella Andre

Genre: Contemporary romance

Release Date: March 2014 

The Story: If you haven’t already discovered Bella’s amazing Sullivan series, now is as good a time as any to get on board!

Just to Be With You stars powerful CEO Ian Sullivan, who’s kicking butt at life — except for, you know, those pesky personal relationships. Enter smoking hot actress Tatiana, who’s been waiting for her one true love. She thinks Ian is it. Ian has other ideas …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Everlasting Enchantment by Kathryne Kennedy

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Bride Wore Chocolate by Shirley Jump

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Take a Roman Holiday with Ruthie Knox: The Finale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, dear readers. It's finally here. The finale to contemporary romance star Ruthie Knox's serialization, Roman Holiday. We'll be honest, the three-month break between halves was tough. (We recapped the first half, starting here.) As romance fans, we want our HEA, and we want it now. Having to wait several months, while we read a bunch of other great books, made us forget why we loved Ashley, why we wanted Roman to come out of his shell. But we're happy to report that once the second half of Roman Holiday gets rolling (pun intended, and also, it's being released in one big chunk, so no more waiting, yay!), it's a really lovely, wonderful romance. How much did we like it? Let us count the ways!

The Cover of Roman Holiday: The Adventure Continues

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Devil's Mistress by Heather Graham

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Touble in Texas by Katie Lane

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Last week we featured Croco Designs and this week we consult Sarah Hansen of Okay Creations about what self-published authors need to know about creating covers.

Give us some examples of your favorite covers, and tell us why they're your favorites.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Virna DePaul's Turned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? We know we are! Today we've got a treat for you, Virna DePaul's Turned, a intriguing vampire romance. It's the story of FBI Agent and vampire Ty, who's trying to recruit ex-gang member Ana to join Belladonna, a secret agency that monitors vampires. RT reviewer Melanie promises a crisp narrative and stellar pacing. Want to take a peek? Read on, vampire fans!

Ty strode out of Ana’s coffee shop and kept walking despite the strong urge to go back to her. To kiss her again. To do far more to her soft lips, her slick tongue, and her warm, fragrant body.

Lust the likes of which he’d never felt before, even during the first two months of his transition, was riding him hard, making him nearly dizzy. When he’d first been turned, his lust had been for sex, regardless of who it was with. Now, his lust seemed reserved for Ana alone.

The


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST