RT Daily Blog

The Mystery Of the Hohokam People Has Turned Author Liz Fichera Into A Captive Spirit

BY admin, JULY 02, 2010 | PERMALINK
  Author Liz Fichera delves deeply into the cultures of native american tribes for her historical romance Captive Spirit. Now she shares how she brings the mystery of the Hohokam people to life in her new release. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive* review of Captive Spirit.

Trivia likes to lodge itself in my brain and never leave. I can remember the most obscure facts and anecdotes. Whenever my friends and family play Trivial Pursuit or Jeopardy I’m suddenly popular, but if you’re ever stranded in Phoenix, Arizona, and happen to ask me for simple directions to a grocery store or gas station, I will most assuredly disappoint you with a blank stare.

I forget where I was when I learned about the Hohokam Indians but I most definitely remembered the history behind Phoenix’s original inhabitants. It stuck in my brain like a seed. And it’s also what inspired my historical romance novel, Captive Spirit.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Comic Books - There Is An App For That

BY Morgan Doremus, JUNE 29, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

DC Comics launched an app last week that makes its comics available for the iPad, iPhone and iPod Touch. Prices range from free to $2.99 per issue and digital comics will be released the same day as print versions. Payment is quick and easy as the user makes purchases through their iTunes account.

This weekend I downloaded the app and within two minutes was looking over a variety of DC comics. What did I find? All of the usual DC fare including Superman, Jonah Hex, Justice League, Green Lantern and many more. The app also includes a section for featured comics, one for free reads and another for new releases. (I also really liked the browse feature which allowed me to search the comic database by series, genre, creator, imprint or storylines.)

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Janni Nell Asks The Audience

BY admin, JUNE 28, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Author Janni Nell stops by to give us a behind-the-scenes look at the making of her novel Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator. And don't miss her question for readers at the end of the blog entry.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Books In The Public Domain

BY admin, JUNE 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

I received an email from reader Lynn about MyPadMedia selling access to free books. MyPadMedia was using Feedbooks feed improperly but the email prompted an issue I have wanted to talk about for a bit but never gotten around to: The sale of public domain books through every Internet retailer out there.

*****

 

Dear Jane: 

I see promotions for e-book readers saying that the e-book readers come with $100 of free books but is this really a great deal?

~ Curious

*****

Dear Curious:

Short Answer: It really is no deal at all. What the e-book device sellers are doing is collecting a number of popular books in the public domain and preloading them onto your reader. This can actually be a hassle when you go to power up your e-book device and have 100 unwanted books you'll need to delete.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Gift of Art By J. Wachowski

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debut Romantic Suspense author J. Wachowski writes about her art.

A long time ago, I read that a finished piece of art (book, painting, or song) is the beautiful corpse of a time of creation. Sounds a little creepy but that idea resonated in my head. A writer gives a book energy and passion to bring it to life. After the story’s complete, it exists separate from you.

“The End” always brings a mix of relief, accomplishment, and sadness. I celebrate with a present. I find a piece of art to represent the story--a print, painting or photo—something to hang in my office, maybe? Sometimes, I find the perfect thing at a craft fair. Sometimes, they come from friends or family.
Sometimes, there’s magic involved.

After I wrote my first mystery, In Plain View, I happened to wander into a store up the road from my house. There was a poster on display. A panorama photograph of a farm house surrounded by weather worn fences and bare limbed trees.

My story is set in the deep Midwest, where hundred year-old oaks rise from oceans of grass. These trees embody survival. Shaped by fire, lightning, drought and snow, they rarely have perfect forms. They’ve seen too much for that.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Finding Free (Or Nearly Free) E-book Deals

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I'm see all these promotions for free e-books (or cheap ebooks) but I don't own an e-book reader and I don't want to buy one just yet (I'm waiting for that perfect device). But I still want to read some of these books for free. Is there anyway I can do that?

~Lynn

****

Dear Lynn: Yes, for almost all free ebooks or cheap e-book promotions, you can take advantage of these deals by using just your laptop or desktop. The truth is nearly half of people who read e-books do so using some type of personal computer. The only disadvantage is that you might have to download more than one software program to your desktop to take advantage of these promotions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lilly Cain Makes A Change Of Pace

BY admin, JUNE 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lilly Cain moves her focus from vampires to outer space in her new novel, Alien Revealed, from Carina Press. The author discusses why she made the change and what was unexpected about her newest work. And don't miss the RT BOOK REVIEWS *Web Exclusive Review* of Alien Revealed.

I loved writing the dark side of erotic paranormal romance. Darkness, blood, possible death; the shadows are a potent place for the fiery life or death romance of a vampire on the run. This was the setting of my first foray into erotic romance – Dark Harmony, the first book of the Dark Seduction series. And I loved it. Reveled in the gritty fantasies of a female vampire who’d been forced into a sexually submissive role by her sadistic maker, and those of the human dom that could be her salvation. Even their fight for freedom was filled with frightening images and physical action.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which E-Book Format Should You Buy?

BY admin, JUNE 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to ebooks. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

scroll  

Dear Jane: Unless I am missing something, it does not appear that I can buy e-books from the eHarlequin bookstore for my iPod Touch. Instead I have to wait a full month for the books to show up on Fictionwise. Any chance Harlequin is developing an app? Or can I use one of the formats already available?

 - Phyl

reverse scroll

Dear Phyl,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cindy Spencer Pape Sees The Possibilites Of Her City

BY admin, JUNE 09, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

On June 7th, Harlequin launched their new e-book arm, Carina Press. Cindy Spencer Pape's Motor City Fae is one of the new e-books from Carina Press. We gave it a *WEB EXCLUSIVE REVIEW* and asked Pape for an insider's look at her fantasy series. Pape shares how she knew Motor City Fae could have easily been titled "Detroit: Fae City" ...

When people think about settings for romance, Detroit is one of the last cities to come to mind. My hometown has a rough reputation, and much of it is earned. When I was dreaming up my Urban Arcana series of paranormal romances, though, I never thought twice about using Detroit as the home for elves, witches, werewolves and more. So why is the Motor City such a perfect backdrop?

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST