RT Daily Blog

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Beverley Kendall Details Her Comprehensive Survey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing! It’s been the buzz word in the publishing world for quite some time, as authors, editors, agents and more debate just where the future of publishing is heading. To help us all figure it all out, we'll be spotlighting various self-publishing heavy hitters — including authors, editors and industry professionals — here on the RT blog each month with our new Self-Pub Like a Pro column.

So what’s really going on behind the curtain? Author Beverley Kendall recently conducted a comprehensive survey to find out just that, and the results were surprising and illuminating. We got in touch with Beverley to find out more.

***

What are the top three most important takeaway points from your survey?

My first takeaway from the results of the survey is that self-publishing definitely isn’t a “get rich quick” scheme. It requires hard work and being successful in it takes time.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Checkmate My Lord by Tracey Devlyn

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Secrets of the Lost Summer by Carla Neggers

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

A Little Too Much by Lisa Desrochers

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

But It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love And Other Games: Romance at the Winter Olympics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Athletes are hot. There, we said it. It's no secret, really, what with their well-toned bodies, confidence and skill on the field or wherever else they display their speed and agility. Sports romances have quickly amassed a devoted following with readers, so when Swoon Romance released their Love and Other Games anthology, featuring New Adult short stories set at the Winter Olympics, we were more than a little excited to read it. Today, Aria Kane, who contributed "The Girl Behind the Gold", which was one of our reviewer's favorites, offers up her view on why athletes and the Olympics make for a potent combination. Take it away, Aria!

The Winter Olympics. The World Stage.

Nearly 3000 of planet Earth's most elite athletes living, eating, sleeping within a few square miles.

A fraction of a second can literally change a person's entire life. A slip of the foot can end a person's career. Dreams live and die on the edge of a blade. Every single day is home to hundreds of make-or-break moments. Most of them break, but we mainly remember the ones that make it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Wicked Wallflower by Maya Rodale

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Bring on the Blessings by Beverly Jenkins

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

New Adult

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Part 2, "Resists Me"

BY Elisa Verna, FEBRUARY 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for another RT Read Along — where we ask you to join us in reading a brand new e-serial from one of our favorite authors. This week I continue with part two in Megan Hart's five-part erotic serial Every Part of You, available February 18. This installment there's tons o' sexytimes and hero Elliott wins me over! Giant SPOILER ALERT for anyone who hasn't read parts one or two yet.

Picking up exactly where part one left off, "Resists Me" starts out with Simone dragging Elliott to a goth night club (Simone used to be a bit of a wild child) after she cornered him in their office's lobby and convinced him to go out with her again. She purposely chooses a place that would annoy Elliott, and I'm amazed by how much I can love this heroine. Straight-laced Elliott is not having any of it, and sulks at the bar drinking whiskey while Simone dances her little butt off alone, until some rando dude joins her. Elliott steps in, showing that he does have feelings for Simone — and he can dance! The dancing quickly becomes too much for either of their libidos and they quickly return to Simone's place for sexytimes.

And here's where things get interesting. Elliott obviously has some issues. I mean, up until he met Simone he had been boning random women in his office so, clearly we've got a hero who can't commit and had some intimacy issues. But he likes Simone, and she lays all her cards out on the table, straight up telling Elliott she would like to have sex. There's lots of superbly written foreplay, but Elliott draws the line at intercourse. Another reluctant hero who can't commit. Instead of a traditional finish, he relieves himself all over her. Which, for this erotica reader, is always a nice change of pace. As soon as he's done he up and leaves, and Simone is kind of annoyed but not really bothered because she just had an orgasm and can't be bothered with Elliott's issues right now. Still, she likes Elliott enough to have a talk with him about it at work the next day. She even brings him food!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vivian Arend, Lauren Dane and Kit Rocha Get Marked

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

 It didn’t take very long, nor was it difficult, for authors Vivian Arend, Lauren Dane and Kit Rocha to settle on Marked for the title of their new self-published anthology. Because as readers will soon discover, each of the three stories feature tattooed and pierced characters. Today the authors are here to share why tattoos hold meaning for their characters, plus their favorite ink-related lines from their respective Marked stories.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My Favorite Sentence: Five Crimson Authors Share — with Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

A  digital series shared among authors. It's a fun new publishing trend we've noticed. First some New Adult authors started with their Unfiltered series, then MJ Rose and Liz Berry tackled their version of 1001 Arabian Nights with a bevy of bestselling authors. And now five Crimson authors are on the scene with the Emerald Springs Legacy. They had us at the tagline, "romance flourishes in the lush organic farms of Emerald Springs, Washington, amidst sabotage, family fueds and rivalries, new and old.We're suckers for any sort of saga, so we wanted to know more about this five-book series. Below, each author has shared her favorite paragraph from her addition to the series. If you're hooked by the end — and we think you will be — be sure to enter our giveaway at the bottom of this post. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Sweet Release by Pamela Clare

 

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Wedding Favor by Cara Connelly

 

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

New Adult

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Antiheroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Boyfriend Smack Down: Anti Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're halfway through Valentine's Week, and in addition to eating tons of chocolate and wearing lots of pink, we're paying extra special attention to those important men in our lives — our book boyfriends! (Our real-life partners are used to being ignored while we read, it's fine.)

 

We've already crowned our ultimate alpha and bad boy heroes, and today we move onto those sneakiest of book boyfriends: the Antihero.

 

Antiheroes sneak up on you. They can be dastardly. You might outright hate them at first. And then after awhile … they get under your skin. They do something thoughtful, like remember your favorite perfume. And it's all the more touching because it's so … surprising. Next thing you know, you've got antihero fever, and ain't no cure for that!

 

Vote for your favorite antihero and be entered to win! And check back all week as we continue with our Book Boyfriend Smack Down. Friday we'll declare the Ultimate Book Boyfriend! 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST