RT Daily Blog

Win Editorial Services From Dark World Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Today we're offering an extra special holiday treat for authors and writers: the chance to win free edits for one full-length novel, courtesy of the UK-based company Dark World Books. Dark World Books offers customized boutique services for independent and published authors of Urban/Dark Fantasy, Dystopian, Steampunk, YA/NA Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Historical Romance, Dark Erotica, Contemporary Erotica and Erotic Romance.

Having problems with your author business? Their job is to guide you through this sometimes overwhelming process and take care of manuscript edits, covers and marketing material creation, trailers and book tours! Curious what customers have to say? You can read their testimonials here and learn more about their editorial and marketing services here.

To celebrate their first year, DWB is delighted to offer free edits for one full-length novel for the genres mentioned above. Fill out the Rafflecopter form, and make sure to check back on December 9th when we announce the contest winner!

 Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck everyone!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Sweet Revenge by Zoë Archer

 

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Wager by Rachel Van Dyken

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Kristen Proby On How To Find The Good Ones

BY Cyndy Aleo, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

The December issue of RT Book Reviews featured a letter from reader Karen Ancell, who was frustrated with her experiences in trying to find good — and even great — self-published romance and erotica.

I'm a self-published author myself — although not in either romance or erotica — and the email from Ms. Ancell inspired me to go out and ask some other self-published authors what makes a good self-published book, as well as how to find these standouts.

The first of this three-part series featured popular self-published authors Penny Watson  and Kit Rocha.

In this second part, reviewer- (she's nominated for a 2013 Reviewers's Choice Award!) and fan-favorite author Kristen Proby talks about switching between the worlds of self and traditional publishing. She also provides more tips for finding the great stuff in self-published romance and erotica.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Dana Lorraine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

There are few things we haven't seen in a book here at the RT offices. Gods with more than one, erm, piece of equipment? Yep. Shifters of all shapes and types? You bet. Vampire viking angels? Oh yea. So when we heard that Dana Lorraine's debut, Dying to Love Her, featured vampire gym-owning heroes who provide horizontal workouts, we had to know more about both the story and the author, because this was something we'd never heard of before!

Name: Dana Lorraine

Debut Book: Dying to Love Her

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Ménage

Current Home: Sunny South Florida

Favorite word: Just. It’s not clever or pretty sounding but judging from the sheer number of times I have to remove it from my manuscripts, it must be my favorite.

How did you start writing? Like many authors, I stumbled upon my passion for writing through reading. The first year I attended the Romantic Times Convention I found myself gravitating to workshops for writers. I came home, started to write and realized that I got the same rush of excitement creating a story as I did from reading a great book. I was hooked.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Young adult author Katie Kacvinsky is gearing up for the 2014 release of Still Point, the third and final entry in her exciting and harrowing dystopian romance series. And to help her celebrate, we're giving away one e-book copy of the first book, Awaken! First, let's take a look at what Awaken is all about:

Maddie lives in a world where everything is done on the computer. Whether it’s to go to school or on a date, people don’t venture out of their home. There’s really no need. For the most part, Maddie’s okay with the solitary, digital life—until she meets Justin. Justin likes being with people. He enjoys the physical closeness of face-to-face interactions. People aren’t meant to be alone, he tells her.

Suddenly, Maddie feels something awakening inside her—a feeling that maybe there is a different, better way to live. But with society and her parents telling her otherwise, Maddie is going to have to learn to stand up for herself if she wants to change the path her life is taking.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Indie/Self-Pubbed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Paranormal & UF Indie/Self-Pubbed!

 


       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read-Along: Ruthie Knox's Roman Holiday 2: Hitched

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK
Last week we kicked off our first RT read-a-long with episode 1 of Ruthie Knox’s Roman Holiday, “Chained.” After seven days of (im)patiently waiting, we’re back with episode two, “Hitched.” If you’re new here, RT’s Elisa and Elissa (aka EV and EP, for your sanity) are reading along with the 10-part serial, which will be released in two chunks, one between now and mid-December, and the second in March. If you’re reading along with us, let us know! We love company.

EP: EV, it’s true what Tom Petty says, the waiting is indeed the hardest part. Now that Roman Holiday is really starting to gather speed (a road trip pun, don’t cha know), waiting each week for the next installment is tough! I actually clapped my hands in delight when episode two, “Hitched” hit my inbox. Then I downloaded it right quick.

EV: I thought I loved the concept of serialized romances, but not I’m not so sure. Waiting is HARD. Especially when the story is really good (and, lucky for us, this one is!).  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrate The Big Easy With An Erotic E-Book Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s Monday, so let’s start the week off with a giveaway! Because it turns out we’re not the only ones super excited about heading to New Orleans for the RT Convention in May 2014, eight erotica authors, including Jayne Rylon, Eden Bradley and Mari Carr, were so … ahem … inspired, they wrote stories set in the city of sin, all compiled in the Midnight Ink anthology. Tell us more, ladies! And don't forget to check out our giveaway details below.

The Midnight Ink box set was always going to be in New Orleans. There was never any doubt. Not only has it been on all our minds since we discovered the 2014 RT convention was going to be held there, but the city instantly brings to mind words like sultry, steamy and decadent. How could eight erotic romance writers resist?

It doesn't hurt that most of the authors have or are beginning series that take place in the Big Easy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Ebook Erotic Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better!

Today, we celebrate the nominees of Ebook Erotic Romance!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How To Lose A Bride In One Night by Sophie Jordan

 

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

All He Ever Dreamed by Shannon Stacey

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

 

Buy It On Amazon For $2.90 >>

Buy It On Amazon For $2.90 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST