RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

This Abduction of Julia by Karen Hawkins

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Run the Risk by Lori Foster

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

 

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Newspapers to New Adult: A Q&A with Christina Lee

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

When we first heard about Christina Lee's new adult romance, All of You, we were immediately drawn in by the story's unique premise. The way she has taken the usual bad-boy, good girl trope and turned it on its head is refreshing and intriguing. Today, Christina chats about All of You, her transition from newspaper columnist to fiction writer and new adult literature — she even spills some details on the upcoming companion novel, Before You Break!

Your first official foray into writing was as a newspaper columnist. How have your experiences in journalism influenced your novel writing?

Even in newspaper writing, where fact-gathering is essential, every column had a beginning, middle and end, with hopefully a compelling enough story to keep the reader’s interest. But probably the biggest way my experience as a columnist influenced me was that it helped me realize that I truly wanted to write fiction. I wanted to create imaginary worlds with realistic characters, and so I completed my first full-length novel in 2008.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, E/book, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Download and Go — Read Lindsay McKenna's Series Starter for Free Right Now

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Feel like a free book to start off your week? Then have we got news for you. A free download of Lindsay McKenna’s RT Top Pick! GOLD Valkyrie, which has been repackaged with a new title, Danger Close, is available from now until October 15 from Harlequin — all to launch McKenna’s new Shadow Warrior series.

So if you want to catch up on Corporal Cathy Fremont as she stands in the midst of the battleground — in a Thai jungle — over whether women should be in ground combat, with only Captain Jim Boland on her side, download away! And get ready for book two in the Shadow Warrior series, Down Range, out in December.

Get Danger Close on Harlequin.com for Free >>

For more genre news and coverage visit our Everything Romance page.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Sally Mandel Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Well, we made it to Friday! To celebrate, we've got a great giveaway for you, from a wonderful blast from the past, Sally Mandel

New York Times bestelling author, Sally became known for her weepy, sweeping stories. RT's own Jill Smith called Mandel's Out of the Blue, "a genuinely superb and poignant story," and her Heart and Soul "flawless."  But then an accident after routine surgery left Mandel seriously impaired with brain damage — with a long recovery ahead of her.  

But just like her heroines she perservered, and now, she's back with a new saga, Take Me Back.

Mandel told us about the aftermath of her accident:

I confronted, as best I could, the challenges necessary to lead a semblance of a normal life, which, for me, includes the act of writing. It was a leap of faith. For a long time, the concept was unimaginable. But one evening over dinner, my husband asked, “How about trying to write again?"


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Mainstream
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A New Voice in New Adult: An Interview with Mila Ferrera

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a blend of psychological twists, romance and art, Mila Ferrera's Only Between Us had no trouble catching our attention. Neither did Mila herself. With a psychologist day job and a love for authors like Jeaniene Frost, we knew we wanted to pick Mila's brain about her journey as a writer, her thoughts on the New Adult craze and the inspiration behind her book. So sit back and relax with this exclusive interview!

***

Is there a specific author or book that inspired you to become a writer?

I had been on an absolute romance binge after reading very little for pleasure while in graduate school. I don't know that there's a specific author or book that got me going, but Jeaniene Frost, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Gena Showalter were certainly my go-to authors for escapist fiction. I think I eventually decided that those novels were so much fun that I wanted to try writing, too. I wrote some speculative fiction before turning to contemporary romance. 

What do you love most about writing New Adult?


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, E/book, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

This Duchess of Mine by Eloisa James

 

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Trouble with Valentine's Day by Rachel Gibson

  

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

New Adult

While It Lasts by Abbi Glines

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

When She Was Wicked by Anne Barton

  

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Forever and A Day by Jill Shalvis

 

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Rebellious Desire by Julie Garwood  

Buy On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Tangled Up in You by Rachel Gibson

 

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

Buy On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friendship, Fistfights and Fishnets: Tamara Morgan on the Appeal of the Derby Girl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

The RT office is abuzz about Tamara Morgan's second in her Getting Physical series, The Derby Girl, out now from Carina. But who are these derby girls, we wondered — out loud, Carrie Bradshaw style — are they like us? Surely not! Well, we talked to Tamara herself, and she set us straight, derby girl style. 

The first time I saw a derby girl in real life was at my city’s St. Patrick’s Day parade. Wedged between the cement truck carrying the mayor and a group of Girl Scouts throwing candy were about a dozen fierce-looking women on roller skates. They skated around the crowd, handing out flyers in ripped fishnet tights, clunky knee pads, and short skirts — the whole derby package — despite the fact that it was about five degrees outside at the time. 

That should have been my first clue that roller derby girls weren’t your average sort of athlete.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, Contemporary Romance, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Burn With Me By R.G. Alexander

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

The summer days are dwindling and the kids are heading back to school. Doesn't that just put you in the mood to cozy up to a London-set, paranormal romance? Well, friends, we at RT are here for you. Today we've got an exclusive excerpt of R.G. Alexander's Burn with Me, out today from Samhain, which reviewer Jaime Giraldi calls, "an awesome start to a series."

Trilogy starter Burn with Me stars Aziza, a heroine living on borrowed time. Believing herself cursed, her demise on its way, Aziza begins hallucinating — or is she? — during a trip to London. Little does she know what fate has in store for her ...

Death was following her.

She’d left her coat in the pub, she thought absently, wrapping her arms around herself as the air chilled her. As if she might split apart if she didn’t. She made her way around the men, most of whom had taken their hats off or bowed their heads in a sad, habitual form of respect at the view in front of them. Aziza reached the front of the circle of people and looked down.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, E/book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST