RT Daily Blog

Eloisa James and the Digital Delight!

BY Whitney Sullivan, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance maven Eloisa James is thrilling fans with the announcement of her new e-exclusive novella, Storming the Castle. I can't wait to watch James' trademark antics ensue.

Readers will remember Storming the Castle's hero, Wick, from James' summer release, A Kiss at Midnight. But will this wily gentleman be able to persuade one miss Phillipa Damson that he's the man for her?

The novella is on sale today! In addition to the story, fans also get bonus content from A Kiss at Midnight and this winter's release, When Beauty Tamed the Beast. And never fear my e-reading friends, Avon is offering the story through all of the major e-retailers, to ensure that you don't get left out in the cold this holiday season.

Order your copy now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's all Geek to Her! Mechele Armstrong on Science Fiction Conventions and Geek Culture

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Mechele Armstrong’s new novel Geek Love, much of the action is woven through a science fiction convention and the story is full of geek culture references. Now find out what makes this “a great time to get your geek on” and find out the author’s top five things you should know about science fiction conventions. And don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* and the excerpt of Geek Love at the end of this post!

I’m a geek.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Behind the Scenes of Sherry James' The Cowboy and the Hellcat

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sherry James is known for her contemporary tales of love and passion, but with her new release, The Cowboy and the Hellcat, the author embarks on her first historical series. Now get an insider look at this tale that whisks readers to Christmastime in Nebraska during 1876 for a whirlwind romance between two people who never thought that love would be in their future. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of this holiday western novella after this interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In The Cowboy and the Hellcat Adam has recently suffered the loss of his father and Ellie is soon to lose hers as well. What inspired you to write a holiday romance laced with such sadness? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Guided Tour of Konigsburg, a Fictional Texas Town Alive With Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Meg Benjamin takes readers on a guided tour of the fictional Texas town of Konigsburg. Her latest Konigsburg-set novel, Long Time Gone, won the author a nomination for Best Small Press Romance in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. And don't miss the excerpt of Long Time Gone at the end of the post!

William Faulkner used to have a sign in his study: “Yoknapatawpha County, William Faulkner, Sole Owner and Proprietor.” That’s sort of the way I feel about Konigsburg, Texas, the Texas Hill Country town I created for my first novel with Samhain Publishing, Venus In Blue Jeans. I’ve returned to Konigsburg several times since then, for Wedding Bell Blues, Be My Baby, and Long Time Gone, which was a Contemporary Romance RT Book Reviews Top Pick! in the December issue. My fifth Konigsburg book, Brand New Me, will be published by Samhain on December 7.

Konigsburg resembles other Hill Country towns like Kerrville, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, and Boerne. But it’s unique in that (besides being mythical), it’s home to the Toleffson brothers and their families.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Collected Inspirations for a Surprising Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

With thousands of books published every year, it can be difficult for authors to come up with a unique premise for a book. So when we found out that the e-book Trash Course revolved around a mystery set in a hoarder's booby-trapped house, we were immediately intrigued. We knew that we had to find out Penny Drake's inspiration for this unusual romantic suspense.

Humans collect stuff. But for some of us, this natural instinct goes haywire, and the victims discover they can’t throw anything away because they might need it some day. It’s not laziness or stupidity. It’s a psychological illness that’s very difficult to treat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tips and Tricks For Surviving Family During The Holidays

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Shannon Stacey’s latest novel, Undeniably Yours, is a heart warming contemporary romance that revolves around an unexpected pregnancy. As parents-to-be, Beth Hansen and Kevin Kowalski work on their relationship, their future is shaped by their very different relationships with their families. So with the holidays — and all that family time — right around the corner, the author considers how to enjoy the festivities without the strife. 

Big families and the holiday season…a recipe for love, laughter and a little bit of chaos. Every family celebrates in a different way. Some have quiet, semi-formal dinners. Some small, intimate celebrations with their spouses and children. And some have rowdy family get-togethers that threaten to topple the Christmas tree.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Ready For Three Sci Fi Space Operas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Nathalie Gray, Robert Appleton and J.C. Hay each wrote an e-book science fiction novella for the Space Opera project Impulse Power. Now the authors sit down to answer RT’s questions about the project, their individual novels and their science fiction inspirations. And don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Reviews* of Gray’s Metal Reign, Appleton’s The Mythmakers and Hay’s Hearts and Minds!

***

Other than all being science fiction romances set in outer space, what ties the Impulse Power stories together?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The New Bluefire Reader iApp

BY Dear Jane, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What Is the Best App For Inventorying E-books?

BY Dear Jane, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: What is the best i-app to use for book inventory? I have an iPod Touch that travels with me and have fiddled with some of the apps but so far haven't found 'the one' to fit this need.

Currently I have all my books listed on an Excel spreadsheet - it works great when I'm at home in front of the computer, but is useless when I'm at a bookstore trying to remember what books I do/don't have, what's on my 'to get' list and what I've already read.

Oh, and it'll need to handle a LOT of books, like 2000+ for my current list with room to grow... Any suggestions? ~ S

***

Dear S: I tested out the ones for the iPhone/iTouch and I like myBookshelf app the very best. Unfortunately, you would have to have the Google ID for each book to be able to import your list, but by searching on the author's name, you can easily add books to your inventory i-app.

Here's a review of the apps I tested:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Changes To The E-Book Buying Landscape

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Samhain is consolidating with the online bookstore My Bookstore and More to bring readers more coupons, pre-ordering for upcoming releases and a better book buying experience. We talked to Samhain CEO Christina M. Brashear about the upcoming changes. 

The popular online publisher, Samhain, primarily publishes books in e-book format. The company has been rapidly expanding since it launched 2005. Now they are evolving in a new direction by consolidating their publishing house with the online bookstore that currently distributes Samhain’s e-books, My Bookstore and More. In the past, Samhain has sold their books online via the MBaM bookstore. The online bookstore has been a destination for readers searching for e-books published by a wide range of publishing houses both large and small. But soon MBaM will sell Samhain e-books exclusively. RT caught up with Samhain’s Publisher, Christina M. Brashear, to find out about the changes and what they will mean for readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST