RT Daily Blog

How To Load Books Onto Your iDevice

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***

Dear Jane: I just got an iPad for Christmas, but have never worked anything like this device before! I am excited to read books on the iPad, but am totally confused about how to go about it. Help!

-M.

***

Dear M: Not to worry adding books to the iPad, iPhone or iTouch (hereinafter collectively referred to as iThing) is quick and easy to do using a process called sideloading. In order to do this, you must use iTunes. Here is how it is done:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Reader Refresher

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***

I spent the last week fielding questions from my family members about how to use their new devices. I thought that there might be several people out there who previously were uninterested in ereading posts that might need a refresher course. The instructions below are for Mac users, however, Kindles and nooks are also PC-compatible.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Picks Holiday E-Book Novellas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Are you looking for some great holiday e-books? Well, you are in luck because Carina Press is currently offering eight great Christmas novellas in two separate anthologies. In Naughty and Nice authors Jaci Burton, Megan Hart, Shannon Stacey and Lauren Dane write both contemporary and erotic tales. While authors Josh Lanyon, L.B. Gregg, Harper Fox and Z.A. Maxfield offer up short stories in His For The Holidays that feature four M/M romances to keep the holidays hot!

Readers can buy the complete anthologies on the Carina site, or they can pick-and-choose stories to buy individually. In an effort to save you time, we asked the reviewers which is their favorite story from each anthology. Here is what they said:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eloisa James and the Digital Delight!

BY Whitney Sullivan, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance maven Eloisa James is thrilling fans with the announcement of her new e-exclusive novella, Storming the Castle. I can't wait to watch James' trademark antics ensue.

Readers will remember Storming the Castle's hero, Wick, from James' summer release, A Kiss at Midnight. But will this wily gentleman be able to persuade one miss Phillipa Damson that he's the man for her?

The novella is on sale today! In addition to the story, fans also get bonus content from A Kiss at Midnight and this winter's release, When Beauty Tamed the Beast. And never fear my e-reading friends, Avon is offering the story through all of the major e-retailers, to ensure that you don't get left out in the cold this holiday season.

Order your copy now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's all Geek to Her! Mechele Armstrong on Science Fiction Conventions and Geek Culture

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Mechele Armstrong’s new novel Geek Love, much of the action is woven through a science fiction convention and the story is full of geek culture references. Now find out what makes this “a great time to get your geek on” and find out the author’s top five things you should know about science fiction conventions. And don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* and the excerpt of Geek Love at the end of this post!

I’m a geek.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Behind the Scenes of Sherry James' The Cowboy and the Hellcat

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sherry James is known for her contemporary tales of love and passion, but with her new release, The Cowboy and the Hellcat, the author embarks on her first historical series. Now get an insider look at this tale that whisks readers to Christmastime in Nebraska during 1876 for a whirlwind romance between two people who never thought that love would be in their future. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of this holiday western novella after this interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In The Cowboy and the Hellcat Adam has recently suffered the loss of his father and Ellie is soon to lose hers as well. What inspired you to write a holiday romance laced with such sadness? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Guided Tour of Konigsburg, a Fictional Texas Town Alive With Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Meg Benjamin takes readers on a guided tour of the fictional Texas town of Konigsburg. Her latest Konigsburg-set novel, Long Time Gone, won the author a nomination for Best Small Press Romance in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. And don't miss the excerpt of Long Time Gone at the end of the post!

William Faulkner used to have a sign in his study: “Yoknapatawpha County, William Faulkner, Sole Owner and Proprietor.” That’s sort of the way I feel about Konigsburg, Texas, the Texas Hill Country town I created for my first novel with Samhain Publishing, Venus In Blue Jeans. I’ve returned to Konigsburg several times since then, for Wedding Bell Blues, Be My Baby, and Long Time Gone, which was a Contemporary Romance RT Book Reviews Top Pick! in the December issue. My fifth Konigsburg book, Brand New Me, will be published by Samhain on December 7.

Konigsburg resembles other Hill Country towns like Kerrville, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, and Boerne. But it’s unique in that (besides being mythical), it’s home to the Toleffson brothers and their families.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Collected Inspirations for a Surprising Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

With thousands of books published every year, it can be difficult for authors to come up with a unique premise for a book. So when we found out that the e-book Trash Course revolved around a mystery set in a hoarder's booby-trapped house, we were immediately intrigued. We knew that we had to find out Penny Drake's inspiration for this unusual romantic suspense.

Humans collect stuff. But for some of us, this natural instinct goes haywire, and the victims discover they can’t throw anything away because they might need it some day. It’s not laziness or stupidity. It’s a psychological illness that’s very difficult to treat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tips and Tricks For Surviving Family During The Holidays

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Shannon Stacey’s latest novel, Undeniably Yours, is a heart warming contemporary romance that revolves around an unexpected pregnancy. As parents-to-be, Beth Hansen and Kevin Kowalski work on their relationship, their future is shaped by their very different relationships with their families. So with the holidays — and all that family time — right around the corner, the author considers how to enjoy the festivities without the strife. 

Big families and the holiday season…a recipe for love, laughter and a little bit of chaos. Every family celebrates in a different way. Some have quiet, semi-formal dinners. Some small, intimate celebrations with their spouses and children. And some have rowdy family get-togethers that threaten to topple the Christmas tree.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Ready For Three Sci Fi Space Operas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Nathalie Gray, Robert Appleton and J.C. Hay each wrote an e-book science fiction novella for the Space Opera project Impulse Power. Now the authors sit down to answer RT’s questions about the project, their individual novels and their science fiction inspirations. And don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Reviews* of Gray’s Metal Reign, Appleton’s The Mythmakers and Hay’s Hearts and Minds!

***

Other than all being science fiction romances set in outer space, what ties the Impulse Power stories together?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST