RT Daily Blog

Finding Free (Or Nearly Free) E-book Deals

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I'm see all these promotions for free e-books (or cheap ebooks) but I don't own an e-book reader and I don't want to buy one just yet (I'm waiting for that perfect device). But I still want to read some of these books for free. Is there anyway I can do that?

~Lynn

****

Dear Lynn: Yes, for almost all free ebooks or cheap e-book promotions, you can take advantage of these deals by using just your laptop or desktop. The truth is nearly half of people who read e-books do so using some type of personal computer. The only disadvantage is that you might have to download more than one software program to your desktop to take advantage of these promotions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lilly Cain Makes A Change Of Pace

BY admin, JUNE 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lilly Cain moves her focus from vampires to outer space in her new novel, Alien Revealed, from Carina Press. The author discusses why she made the change and what was unexpected about her newest work. And don't miss the RT BOOK REVIEWS *Web Exclusive Review* of Alien Revealed.

I loved writing the dark side of erotic paranormal romance. Darkness, blood, possible death; the shadows are a potent place for the fiery life or death romance of a vampire on the run. This was the setting of my first foray into erotic romance – Dark Harmony, the first book of the Dark Seduction series. And I loved it. Reveled in the gritty fantasies of a female vampire who’d been forced into a sexually submissive role by her sadistic maker, and those of the human dom that could be her salvation. Even their fight for freedom was filled with frightening images and physical action.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which E-Book Format Should You Buy?

BY admin, JUNE 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to ebooks. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

scroll  

Dear Jane: Unless I am missing something, it does not appear that I can buy e-books from the eHarlequin bookstore for my iPod Touch. Instead I have to wait a full month for the books to show up on Fictionwise. Any chance Harlequin is developing an app? Or can I use one of the formats already available?

 - Phyl

reverse scroll

Dear Phyl,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cindy Spencer Pape Sees The Possibilites Of Her City

BY admin, JUNE 09, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

On June 7th, Harlequin launched their new e-book arm, Carina Press. Cindy Spencer Pape's Motor City Fae is one of the new e-books from Carina Press. We gave it a *WEB EXCLUSIVE REVIEW* and asked Pape for an insider's look at her fantasy series. Pape shares how she knew Motor City Fae could have easily been titled "Detroit: Fae City" ...

When people think about settings for romance, Detroit is one of the last cities to come to mind. My hometown has a rough reputation, and much of it is earned. When I was dreaming up my Urban Arcana series of paranormal romances, though, I never thought twice about using Detroit as the home for elves, witches, werewolves and more. So why is the Motor City such a perfect backdrop?

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Carrie Lofty Has Historical Attention Deficit Disorder

BY admin, JUNE 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carrie Lofty's Song Of Seduction was released on June 7th as one of the e-books that Carina Press, the new e-book arm of Harlequin, launched with. She discusses why her latest historical romance is set in Salzburg in the 1800s ...

 

I spent my first ten years as an amateur and trained historian studying the American West. Gunslingers to lawmen, boomtowns to ghost towns — they were my investigative playground. But upon concluding my master's degree with a thesis on Jesse James and Wild Bill Hickok, I found that I'd become ... restless. I'd since married an Englishman and had seen more of the world. My curiosity began to get the better of me.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get A Behind-The-Scenes Look At The New Arm Of Harlequin: Carina Press!

BY admin, JUNE 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Today, Harlequin is launching a new e-book arm, Carina Press. Angela James, Executive Editor of Carina Press, shares that Harlequin is calling Carina Press "a brand new day in Genre and Romance publishing."

Carina Press will deliver e-book stories in a wide range of genres and heat levels. James calls this diversity part of the Carina Press promise that "no great story goes untold."

RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews Angela James:

More About The Carina Press Launch With Angela James


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

R.G. Alexander Guest Blogs About The Final Story In The Erotic Wasteland Series

BY admin, JUNE 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

In 2012, the world came to a grinding halt as radiation hit from a massive solar storm. Crops died, animals perished, cities fell and humans became little more than beasts themselves. Under the threat of starvation, civility was reduced to mere memory. Only the strongest men survived, and physically weaker women and children wasted to nothingness.

More than a century later, humanity struggles in the desert Wasteland. The solar radiation rendered most women infertile, and the population dwindles more with each year that passes. Scattered up and down coasts, isolated cities eke out an existence from fishing, foraging and hunting for what little game is left. Outside the city walls, men face the threat of pirates and raiders.

Few women remain, divided into four classes — Whores, Breeders, Priestesses and Wanderers. They are as reviled as they are worshiped, a commodity any man must pay to touch. To touch a Whore, a man must sacrifice his riches. To touch a Breeder, a man must sacrifice his freedom. To touch a Priestess, a man must be chosen by the gods. And to touch a Wanderer may end up costing him his life.

There is only one rule in the Wasteland — survive.

Guest Blogger R.G. Alexander


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jean M. Auel To Complete The Earth Children Series

BY admin, JUNE 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jean M. Auel is set to complete the bestselling Earth Children series with installment six, The Land Of Painted Caves.

Auel's Earth Children series has been making waves since the first title, Clan Of The Cave Bear, was released in 1980. It quickly became a modern classic. The third installment in the series, The Mammoth Hunters, also made history as the first hardcover novel with a one million-copy printing. The fifth book, The Shelters Of Stones (2002) released at the top of sixteen bestseller lists internationally.

And now Earth Children is making waves again. The Land Of Painted Caves will be released in hardcover and e-book format simultaneously around the world.

This series finale, in a deal between Crown (a division of Random House, Inc.) and the Jean Naggar Literary Agency, will be released on March 29th, 2011. So far the Naggar agency has also contracted like deals around the world, the U.K. Japan, Serbia and Spain are only a few of the countries where fans can eagerly anticipate this new release.

Before the release of The Land Of Painted Caves, Bantam will publish the series' five earlier installments in e-book format. Bantam, which owns the rights to publish Auel's paperback backlist, is also set to publish The Land Of Painted Caves when it comes to paperback in 2012.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Annie Nicholas Forces Her Characters To Question Human (And Not-So-Human) Nature

BY admin, JUNE 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Annie Nicholas doesn't hold her punches when it comes to putting her characters in life-threatening situations. But it's all for a greater good ...

 

Our destination was a mystery to me. As a rule, the bait never gets informed. Basically, it's a need-to-know relationship and a safeguard.
Good bait was hard to find. Can't exactly place an ad in the classifieds.

HELP WANTED: Fast, nimble, and intelligent young person to be used as vampire bait. High risk job but well compensated with pay and benefits. Travel the world, all expenses paid. Passport a must, clean record not necessary, no education requirements, and fighting skills a bonus. Contact Red at 555-1212. Humanity needs you.

I snorted at the thought. Getting groped, chased, and then enthralled by vamps were not my idea of benefits. However, when a plan worked and a vampire got dusted, it made up for all the other stuff.


Read More>>

Tags: E/book, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST