RT Daily Blog

Ellora's Cave Announces Changes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The rumor mill has been running rampant around Ellora’s Cave, leading many to speculate what the future does or doesn’t hold for the erotica publisher. But the rumors can finally be put to rest thanks to an email originally sent to EC authors from the company’s CEO, Patricia L. Marks.

In the email, which was posted on Absolute Write’s forums yesterday and has since been removed, Marks states Ellora’s Cave has been suffering a “sharp decline of ebook sales via Amazon” and that the publisher is now having to make quick changes to avoid losing further money. The most drastic change is a shake-up in their editorial line-up. Ellora’s Cave has let go all of its freelance editors and cover artists. In-house editors and artists will take over these duties, which will hopefully result in “a more direct relationship with [its] authors”.

Additionally, Marks urges EC authors to direct readers to the EC website, Barnes and Noble and other ebook vendors instead of Amazon in an effort to provide authors with higher royalty rates and more visibility to readers. Marks also stressed that this is not “meant to be a statement about Amazon” and its ongoing feuds with Hachette.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Own by Katie Porter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Aw yea, it's Hump Day! You all know how much we love Katie Porter's limit-pushing erotic romance, and today we've got a scene from their upcoming release, Own, which kicks off their Command Force Alpha series about a team of special ops and all the fun kinkery they get into (oh, and they save people). Colonel's daughter Katsu "Kat" Stafford and former Marine Corps captain Evan Sommers rekindle a flame that Evan snuffed out years ago, only to find that Kat is more than willing to follow Evan's commands. In this scene Evan learns just how willing Kat is. Happy reading!

“We shouldn’t be doing this,” Evan muttered, but he didn’t sound like he meant it. “We should stop.”

Katsu moaned deep in her throat. Her sex was wet and throbbing. She clenched her inner muscles around his length and realized he was still hard. Not as iron thick and ready as he’d been moments ago, but he had way more than enough to work with. She slid her hips back.

He pulled away.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: His Every Need By Terri L. Austin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of His Every NeedIt's a bird .... it's a plane ... oh wait no it's Hump Day! This week we've got a scene from His Every Need by Terri L. Austin, and if you're into hot British tycoons with a fondness for dirty talk and BDSM, well, you've probably already bought this book, which released yesterday. In this scene, heroine Allie and hero Trevor discuss safe words and Trevor coaxes Allie into, well, just read the excerpt. Trust us. It's hot.

Swirling the brandy, he studied her. “Afraid I’ll bring out a whip and handcuffs?”

Allie took a sip of her drink, feeling the fire of it burn the back of her throat. “How would I know? No pain though, that was our deal.” “Right.” He nodded slowly. “So what would be an appropriate safe word, do you imagine?”

Allie shrugged. He made her feel silly for even bringing it up. “How about ‘ouch’? Will that do, Miss Campbell?” He raised a brow and took a sip from his glass.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Seal of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. July 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to A.R. Torre's sexual thriller, The Girl in 6E.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Bound to be Tamed by Becca Jameson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy Hump Day! If you've always wondered why BDSM romance heroines always settle for one Dom when they can have two, we've got just the excerpt for you today. In Bound to be Tamed by Becca Jameson, heroine Stephanie is the submissive of two sexy Doms, Aiden and Dane. Because sharing is caring, in this scene the guys decide to take Stephanie to their photographer friend's studio for a naughty photoshoot. Enjoy!

Steve spoke as though he’d read her mind. “Don’t worry, love. What happens in my studio, stays in my studio. Let yourself go. Enjoy.” When he continued, he spoke to Duke. “Lean her back a little more.”

Duke tugged her a few inches to the front of the lounge. Her neck rested more solidly on the raised back. Most of her hair hung down behind her.

Duke pulled a few locks of curls to the front and arranged them on her shoulders.

She relaxed as he worked. They’re just pictures, she reminded herself for the umpteenth time. Only for us. They must be steaming because that’s how I feel right now.

Duke worked.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Fit By Rebekah Weatherspoon

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Fit by Rebekah WeatherspoonI bought a copy of Fit by Rebekah Weatherspoon back in June after hearing some good buzz about it, which honestly surprised me since it features a chubby heroine who begins a relationship with her personal trainer. Books about weight loss are typically stories I avoid, because they’re very hard to do without being completely offensive. So I bought it, and then inevitably put it on hold until I had a gap in my reading schedule, which happened to be last night. I finished it in one evening and absolutely loved it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Kissed By The Wave by Serena Gilley

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

When I met with some folks from the Forever team during RWA last week, one of the publicists casually mentioned Kissed by the Wave, a mermaid erotica releasing next week from their Forever Yours imprint. I immediately begged her to email me a copy ASAP so I could read it on the plane — how could I not read a mermaid erotica?

The world Serena Gilley created consists of two parts — the human world and the Forbidden Realm, made up of all sorts of creatures. In order to keep the supernatural world a secret, faeries grant wishes so humans are kept happy (surprise, most of what humans wish for is sex). When mermaid Aliya sees human Devin bringing ladies back to his yacht for sexytimes night after night, she’s intrigued. But being half fish, things are a little complicated.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's Here! Watch the First Trailer for Fifty Shades of Grey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

The wait is over, folks! This morning, Universal Pictures released the first trailer for the hotly anticipated movie adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey, E.L. James's debut novel that took the world by storm. Watch the trailer below:

With a seductive new remix of Beyonce's "Crazy In Love", the trailer absolutely sizzles! Let us know what you love most about it and which scene you hope to see come to life on the big screen! Fifty Shades of Grey releases on February 14, 2015.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Rogue By Katy Evans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Since rules were made to be broken, we're doing a little something different for Hump Day this week. Instead of a steamy excerpt from an erotic romance, we've got scene from Katy Evans' upcoming New Adult novel Rogue. But let's be real, we all know New Adult can get pretty hot and heavy. This scene from Rogue is so tantilizing, Katy's publicist confessed it left her red-faced in her cubicle. So clearly we had to share it with you. Greyson ... we just, we have no words. Enjoy!

“Leave it on,” he murmurs, then he rolls me onto my back and yanks my arms up over my head.

“But I want to touch you,” I breathe, undulating my body against the weight of his.

He pins my arms up in one hand and pulls off his tie with the other, then he wraps it tightly around my wrists. “Tonight, only I touch.”

“Why?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Get What You Need by Jeanette Grey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy Hump Day! Today we've got an excerpt that will take you back to your college years — who remembers cuddling up with their crush and watching a movie? Ok, maybe it's something you'd rather forget, but in Get What You Need by Jeanette Grey, geek Greg and jock Marshall test the attraction between them in a very hot way. Enjoy!

The room went dark and quiet all at once. There was just the faint glow of the still-powered-up TV, thin lines of light from the slats in the blinds. There was just silence.

Just the sound of breathing.

And that was all it took. Suddenly, although they weren’t touching, they were entirely too close. Greg could feel the static, could feel the inches between their bodies.

His swallow was an audible gulp in the quiet and the dark. He turned his neck, only to find eyes staring back at him. Marsh’s gaze was a buzz of electricity, something that had Greg lighting up from the inside out. Everything blurred except those twin points, and beneath them the curl of Marsh’s lips.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST