RT Daily Blog

Hump Day Excerpt: Tamed By Emma Chase

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Te cover of Tamed by Emma ChaseAh, finally, another Hump Day. This week we've got a fun, steamy scene from Tamed by Emma Chase. If you've always wondered what you get when you combine a Taylor Swift sing-along with hot shower sex, this excerpt will enlighten you. Enjoy!

I wake up Saturday morning to the sounds of running water from the shower. And the screechy echo of Delores’s singing from inside it. “I Knew You Were Trouble” by Taylor Swift is probably the most annoying song ever written—but hearing Dee’s awful rendition just makes me chuckle.

Never one to waste good wood—particularly the morning kind—I grab a condom out of the nightstand drawer, slip out of bed, and step into the bathroom.

“... trouble . . . ah ... ah ...” Her eyes are closed and her head is tilted back to rinse her long hair under the spray. “... ah ...”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Straddling The Line By Jaci Burton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Hump Day, it's Hump Day! And what a Hump Day it is, because today we've got an excerpt from Jaci Burton's latest smokin' Play by Play novel, Straddling the Line. This flirty dinner scene leads up to baseball and football-playing hero (Because why should a sports romance hero play just one sport?) Trevor and sportscaster heroine Haven gettin' busy, because sometimes verbal foreplay is just as hot as the sex itself. Enjoy!

Trevor enjoyed seeing this side of Haven, when she put on her journalist’s hat and dug deep into her question box, drilling at him with probing questions.

Sure, he’d avoided her last question. It wasn’t like it hadn’t been asked of him before, and he’d given his standard pat answer.

But with Haven, he wanted to think about how to respond, because he wanted to be honest with her. Not with her network, but with her. And he wasn’t ready yet to answer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The King-Off: J.R. Ward's Wrath and Tiffany Reisz's Kingsley Face Off

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

This year, two highly anticipated romance novels titled The King release(d) — The King by J.R. Ward, which released in April, and The King by Tiffany Reisz, which comes out in December. This got me thinking, what would happen if Wrath and Kingsley met? Kingsley would probably try and have sex with Wrath, and Wrath likely wouldn't let him. (Someone please write that fic.) I doubt Beth would be into it either. And this of course would turn Kingsley on even more. My weird book fantasies aside, let's compare Wrath and Kingsley:

The King by J.R. Ward

 

 

The King by Tiffany Reisz

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Loose Id Is Giving RT Readers A 20% Discount For The Month Of July

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image of a sexy man in glasses that reads 'Everyone knows that smart is sexy. Indulge that glorious brain of yours, get unleashed!'

We're enablers here at RT, and we're more than happy to keep your book-buying addiction going strong by bringing you as many deals and discount codes as we can find. This month romance ebook publisher Loose Id is making things easier by offering RT readers a special discount code. Valid from July 1 through July 31, readers can get 20% off their total purchase by using the coupon RTUNLEASHED. The coupon is good for two uses per person. Their titles are already reasonably priced (most of them are less than $8, with many in the $4-5 range), so 20% off is just the cherry on your massive ebook-hoarding sundae. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Rusty Nailed By Alice Clayton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

We did it! Hump Day is finally here! Are you ready for some more smut? This week we've got a scene from book two in Alice Clayton's Cocktail series, Rusty Nailed. Caroline and Simon are now "officially" in a relationship, but can they keep things hot when Caroline's job demands so much of her time? We think yes, she can make it work, and here's a scene to prove it. Enjoy!

“So you came home early just to see little ol’ me?” I breathed into his ear, sneaking a wet kiss just underneath it. His hands dug a little deeper into my hips as he shifted on the bed.

“I did.”

“Think you can help me with this turtleneck?”

“I do.”

“And then after that, you wanna show me your hammer?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press Announces New Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the November 2013 issue of RT Book Reviews we teamed up with Cleis Press to host a special contest that would determine the name of Cleis’s upcoming imprint dedicated to publishing unique and compelling romances. Readers were asked to submit their ideas and the winner would win a $250 cash prize, a complete collection of Cleis titles and a copy of every future title from the new imprint. Today, Cleis officially announced the new imprint and its name, chosen by grand prize winner Laura Wilson!

Drum roll, please...

Tempted Romance will be headed by Cleis Press publisher Brenda Knight, who will carefully curate the imprint's list. Beginning with Janine Ashbless’s Cover Him With Darkness, which releases September 22, Tempted will release one book a month, resulting in twelve books a year.

When asked about how the new imprint will differ from Cleis, Knight said, “Tempted Romance is very different from 34-year-old Cleis in that all the books are very carefully selected by me, a life-long romance reader who fell in love with the genre as a teen. A major distinction is that I am acquiring several romance novels, and even novellas, something Cleis has never done.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Star Struck By Laurelin Paige

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cheers to another hump day! With the weekend in sight, we've got another steamy excerpt for you. This week is a shower scene from Laurelin Paige's Star Struck, the latest in her Lights, Camera series, about a snobby Hollywood actress who falls for a production designer with little patience for diva attitudes. Enjoy!

Heather’s stomach twisted. Seth was late. Seven minutes late. Maybe he got caught up on the set. Or lost track of time. Or wanted to give her a few extra minutes to finish her meal.

Or maybe he wasn’t coming.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon's Banned Book Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

After cover artist Erin Dameron-Hill posted these tips for how to prevent a cover from being flagged on Amazon, we had to ask: which covers has she seen flagged on Amazon and how does she, as a cover artist, work within Amazon's vague content guidelines to edit "racy" covers? Erin is here today to give us the rundown. (Note: Parts of this post appear in Erin's original post on her blog. She has expanded on it for RT readers.)

"What we deem offensive is probably about what you would expect.” - Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing Content Guidelines

For someone like me, that rule from Amazon’s KDP program is a little vague as to what makes a cover offensive. As an Award-Winning Cover Artist at EDHGraphics, Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, and Blushing Books Publishing with a focus on Romance and Erotica genres, I find there is little that offends me. How am I supposed to know what is appropriate for Amazon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review - Beyond Repair By Charlotte Stein

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Beyond Repair by Charlotte SteinThe novella "Beyond Repair" was my first story by Charlotte Stein, and up until maybe halfway through the book, I had a lot of mixed feelings about it. The premise wasn’t entirely appealing to me — the heroine finds a sexy movie star passed out on her floor? Really? But since I’ve suspended my disbelief for dragons, vampires and shifters, fine, ok, Alice wakes up to a movie star passed out in her home. Let’s do this.

20-year-old Alice wakes up to find A-list celebrity Holden Stark has pulled a Robert Downey Jr. all over her living room floor. At first, I was frustrated that there wasn’t much of a context. She manages to drag him to the bathroom and wake him up, but never once does Alice say “Um, what the hell are you doing here? How did this happen?” or do something sensible like call an ambulance. She thinks about doing all of the normal things one would do in this situation, but she never actually does because “awkward” doesn’t even begin to describe Alice — she’s severely agoraphobic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt - Crave By Sierra Cartwright

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's finally Hump Day! Are you ready for another smutty excerpt? Positive reviews for Sierra Cartwright's Crave have been floating around the web, and after we heard about what a great time she had at RT this year (Her first RT!), we decided a scene from Crave would be perfect for this week. Crave is a second chance BDSM romance, and in this scene heroine Sarah and hero Reece are getting ready to go out to dinner. Let's just say Sarah has a very interesting "getting ready" routine. Enjoy!

A photo of Sierra Cartwright at RT Convention 2014 

Sierra Cartwright at Mardi Gras World during this year's RT Booklovers Convention


The cover of Crave by Sierra Cartwright“Please,” she said. “Fuck my ass with the plug, Reece.”

He took hold of the base and pulled out the glass. She grunted, and he slid it back in, using a bit of force to get the fattest part past her sphincter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST