RT Daily Blog

Rie Warren On How Fanfiction Got Her Into Writing M/M Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 06, 2013 | PERMALINK
Today marks two big firsts: author Rie Warren's first male/male romance, and publishing imprint Forever's first male/male romance! We're all about spreading the love, and to celebrate this leap for both author and publisher, Rie Warren is here to share how she got started writing M/M romance (Hint: it involves sparkly vampires) and tells us a bit about In His Command, the first in her dystopian Don't Tell trilogy, in which two men exist in a society that forbids homosexual relations who must fight to escape their dangerous, oppressive government.

I don’t think I’ve ever taken the logical route in my life, always seeming to get from point A to point B along a twisty path that has led me to some very interesting places. How I started writing gay romance is certainly an amusing example of jumping headlong off the beaten path.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Our E-book Haul From RWA 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 31, 2013 | PERMALINK

This year at 2013 RWA Annual Conference we not only grabbed some of the best print romances to give away (which we did here), we also snagged some free e-book download cards all signed by the authors! Yup, we're giving away digital downloads for five super steamy erotic romances, including titles from authors Christine D'Abo and Carla Swafford, plus an anthology of sexy short stories. To enter, leave a comment below telling us which type of erotica subgenre is your favorite. Perhaps you like a bit of a paranormal flavor along with the steamy scenes. Or maybe some suspense added to a sexy story. Could it be that your ultimate (fictional) fantasy takes place in a contemporary setting? We're waiting to hear from you, but make sure to respond before Wednesday, August 7, when we will be announcing the winner! (U.S. mailing addresses only, please.)

UPDATE: The winner is Crystal S


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
36COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Converting to the Church of Søren: How I Fell In Love With Tiffany Reisz's Controversial Original Sinners Character

BY Cyndy Aleo, JULY 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

With the release of The Mistress, Tiffany Reisz completes the story arc of the four books she calls "The Red Years," wrapping up the story of Dominatrix/erotica author Nora Sutherlin and her merry band of kinksters.

It's fairly obvious that most of us here at RT are big fans of the series; once editors and reviewers have read the ARC, emails and instant messages start flying with loads of shouty caps, emoticons, and flailing GIFs. We've written about the books, what we thought was coming, let Ms. Reisz talk to us about BDSM, and generally raved about the series. Reisz even won the 2012 RT Reviewers' Choice Award for Best Erotic Romance.

What we haven't done, however, is talk about one of the most polarizing figures in erotic fiction: Søren. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA 2013: BDSM 101 With Tiffany Reisz And Roni Loren

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

While they both started out writing erotica “accidentally,” Tiffany Reisz (who first plotted her books while in seminary) and Roni Loren (a former Young Adult author) have quickly gained loyal fan followings for their sizzling stories. At the RWA National Conference last week, these ladies gave a workshop titled "BDSM: 101" and cleared up misconceptions about erotica as well as shared down-and-dirty instructions on some of the ways aspiring authors can write about domination, submission and more!

Authors Tiffany Reisz and Roni Loren discuss kink and how to write BDSM fiction

Tiffany and Roni started the discussion by explaining that there are endless types of erotica, but two main distinctions are 'erotica' and 'erotic romance.' Roni writes erotic romance which means her stories end with a happily every after, or at least a happily for now. While erotica (which RT labels erotic fiction) is about a sexual journey. Tiffany says she enjoys writing erotica because it allows her to break a lot of rules and explore taboo subjects.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wanna Self-Publish An Erotic Romance? Read This First!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you're an aspiring author or a traditionally published writer looking for more options in the publishing world, self-publishing has proved to be lucrative for many authors. But with many factors to consider, taking on the duties of a publishing house — not to mention writing an excellent story — can feel overwhelming. Today two stars of erotic romance self-publishing, the writing team known as Kit Rocha, are here to share 5 essential tips for jumping into the world of self-publishing with a steamy tale.

The single biggest piece of advice we could offer to writers looking to self-publish is that it’s fast, but not easy — especially not if you do it right. You’re not only responsible for the creative work, but also for every aspect of production. That said…

1. You don’t have to do it all yourself. Play to your strengths, but don’t be afraid to hire out tasks or barter for services to supplement areas of weakness — say you’re great at editing but not art, and you have a friend who can design awesome covers. Don’t be afraid to ask!

2. That means you’ll have to invest in your work. Time or money — make sure you spend enough to make your book the best it can be.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giddyup!: Joley Sue Burkhart On Discovering Pony Play

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Readers know that when they pick up an erotic romance, there's a good chance it may come with a heavy dose of kink. But this goes beyond just BDSM. One aspect of kinkery that is rarely explored by erotic romance writers is pony play. An act of dominance and submission, pony play is exactly what it sounds like: the submissive partner acting as a pony and the dominant partner acting as the rider/trainer. Joley Sue Burkhart is one of the few authors who has dared to explore this subject and she's here to tell us what sparked her interest in pony play and why she felt it fit perfectly into her erotic science fiction tale, Her Grace's Stable.

It's all Anne Rice's fault. (That's my story and I'm sticking to it.)


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jory Strong Talks Magic And Ménage

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

When magic is added to an already complex ménage, things can become complicated in a hurry. In Jory Strong's Inked Magic series, heroine Etaín is a tattoo artist with the unusual ability to see a criminal's face by touching a victim's palm. But soon she discovers that her power comes from her true identity as an elf changeling. Caught between her human lover and an elf determined to help her hone her skills, magic certainly makes Etaín's life interesting. Today the author visits the RT blog to shed some light on her latest release, Inked Destiny, and how supernatural abilities can enhance (and harm) a ménage relationship.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Four Hot New Erotic Romance Audiobooks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

It's not only heating up outside, but in the audiobook world as well. Four recent erotic romance releases are making their way to audiobook format, which means more spicy love stories for readers (and listeners!) to enjoy. We're teaming up with Simon & Schuster and giving two lucky readers this bundle of 4 erotic romance audiobooks. Each winner will get a digital copy of the titles below:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
73COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Marina Anderson's The Dining Club

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

Serialized novels are the latest hot publishing trend, and when it comes to erotic romance many publishers are experimenting with this new way of digitally releasing chapters of a book over the course of several weeks. Today, we're happy to share with you the covers of the first two installments of Forever Romance's first serialized erotic romance, The Dining Club by Marina Anderson, a pseudonym for British mystery writer Margaret Bingley (who also writes erotic romance as Fredrica Alleyn).



   

Forever made the decision of going with tastefully modest, yet alluring, object covers that genre fans have come to know and love. A detailed door handle with a key turned in the door's lock adorns part one, "Desire," as if to invite readers into an unknown world, while "Bound" gives us a possible clue as to what you can find behind the door. What kind of world can readers expect from Anderson? Check out the story's description:

You are invited to the Dining Club.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Katie Porter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Here at RT, we simply can’t get enough of Katie Porter's smoking hot erotic romance heroes, witty heroines and emotional twists and turns each book presents. Known on their own for historical romance, Carrie Lofty and Lorelie Brown are the co-authors behind the much-talked about Katie Porter name and are a match made in heaven. Their kinky and emotionally satisfying stories have earned several RT Top Picks and a Reviewers Choice Award. Recently, the bestselling duo sat down with RT’s Morgan for a rousing discussion about their writing history together, their controversial Vegas Top Guns series and what readers can expect from their newest release, Chains and Canes!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST