RT Daily Blog

Lauren Dane: The Brown Family, POV and Redemption...Or Not

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

Whether she's writing erotic and enthralling stories or sending out snarky tweets, Lauren Dane is one of those authors who is constantly pushing boundaries — and winning over readers. With Drawn Together, which our reviewer called a "super-hot tale," Lauren is set to get us all hot and bothered once more. Today, Lauren discusses the latest entry in her Brown Family series, Raven's transformation and understanding characters.

The challenge with a series is to bring secondary characters and their growth to life so that when it’s their turn, readers are ready to take that trip with you. To do it without overshadowing the main characters’ journey, and to bring them to life when readers only see them through the perspectives of the current main characters, who are telling their own story. You’ve seen this character over a number of books from everyone else’s perspective and reactions. And when that character is one readers have a mixed reaction to, the challenge is manifold, but one I really enjoy.


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Erotic Romance, Erotic Romance, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break: Elle Kennedy's Getting Hotter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2013 | PERMALINK

We can't resist a gorgeous guy in (and out of ... we'll never get sick of making that joke, by the way) uniform, and in Elle Kennedy's erotic Out of Uniform series, she delivers plenty of hunky military men. Reviewer M.H. Morrison says Kennedy's latest installment, Getting Hotter, earns high marks when it comes to "sexy military men and the women who love them, Kennedy gets a 'seal' of approval." The story of a SEAL and a Vegas showgirl-turned- dance instructor piqued our interest, so today we're sharing the full first chapter, available as a downloadable PDF. But before you download, try the first page:

“C’mon, girl, don’t be hatin’. Just gimme your digits. I promise you won’t regret it.”

Miranda Breslin slammed a bottle of Coors on the counter and flashed a polite smile at the very young, very cocky guy who’d been hitting on her for the past twenty minutes. “Sorry, not interested,” she shouted over the techno beat blaring out of the club’s speakers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My Dream Casts For The Beautiful Bastard Movies

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sometimes a series takes a slow burn to really get going for you. Case in point: Christina Lauren's Beautiful series. Beautiful Bastard was a tough one for me, not because it was originally fan fiction (you won't find me complaining about published fanfic, I think a good story is a good story), but because I don't have a thing for detached heroes who need fixing. The second book, Beautiful Stranger, garnered tons of rabid fans for writing duo Lauren, but it wasn't until Beautiful Player, the third novel in the series releasing next month, that I finally started coming around. I can't stop thinking about how much I enjoyed geeky heroine Hanna and sweet, patient hero Will's story. 

And now that 50 Shades has been cast, and attention has turned toward who will play whom in Lauren's film adaptation, let's just say I have some thoughts, not just for Beautiful Bastard, but for the other two books as well (you know, in case they make it to the big screen). So who would I cast for the heroes and heroines of Beautiful Bastard, Beautiful Stranger and Beautiful Player? Let's see ...

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break: Kelly Jamieson's Slammed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

Fall might be right around the corner, but that doesn't mean we're going to turn down a sexy surfer hero. Kelly Jamieson's latest contemporary erotic romance, Slammed, features PR maven Brooke Lowry, who is called to Tahiti to work on pro surfer (and full-time bad boy) Dylan Schell's bad reputation. While she's determined to turn this playboy's image around, the two get stranded during a three-day storm, and Brooke realizes there's more to Dylan than hanging ten and cruising the beach for ladies. If a sports romance featuring a surfer hunk and the woman caught up in his waves sounds right up your alley, we've got the complete first chapter available for download! But before you commit to a whole chapter, try the first page...

Stand up as best man at Matt and Corey’s wedding? Jesus, he’d rather take a longboard in the nuts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Katie Porter's New Boston Boys Series

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. The end of Katie Porter's Vegas Top Guns series is definitely bittersweet, but I was eager to learn more about their next project, The Boston Boys — an erotic romantic suspense series following a group of civilian ops as they track down a Russian villainess and, of course, find lasting love. How do these guys find time to hunt down baddies and get down and dirty? Is Boston really that sexy? When can readers get book 1, Own? Lucky for me the authors had all these answers, and more!

***

The Boston Boys are a Boston-based team of special forces and civilian operatives who are after an ex-KGB female villain. And these boys aren't just badass military guys, there also pretty kinky. We're sensing a theme here! What is it about military men and kink for you two?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Language Of Erotica: Where Do You Stand On The Word "Cream"?

BY Cyndy Aleo, SEPTEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Getting to read tons of romance and erotica is a terrific job perk. But with the amount I read as a RT reviewer, it sometimes takes a little more "oomph" to get me to perk up and take notice. By the same token, I think everyone has their own set of what the heroes & heartbreakers blog dubbed "squick" words: the ones that make you clench in all the wrong ways when you read them.

One of my own personal Waterloos when it comes to sex scenes is the word "cream." That sentiment was echoed in an informal Twitter survey I took of romance and erotica authors. That being said, however, when it's used by the right author in the right situation? Still hot. A perfect example is author Karen Erickson's Tangled, the amazing chemistry between her characters takes you right past the verboten word:

Her breath caught, he heard it and it made him smile. "Then I want you to touch yourself, gather up all the cream from your pretty little pussy and come back out. Let me have a taste."

If there's another word she could have used there, I definitely can't think of it. And it helps that the chemistry between the characters would make Walter White excited.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

September Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. September 2013's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Megan Hart's erotic fiction tale Tear You Apart. 



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: J. Kenner's Heated

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh, readers, summer's on the wane. There's a chill in the nighttime air. If you need to be warmed up, we at RT are here for you. Today we've got the exclusive cover reveal of J. Kenner's Heated, the second in her Most Wanted trilogy, and, friends, it is hawt


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: 5 Questions For Beth Kery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

This week Beth Kery released the print version of the second installment in her Because You Are Mine series, When I'm With You. This book marks Kery's second serialized novel and follows an aristocrat heroine who falls for a self-exiled heir hero. With an intriguing premise and a guaranteed steamy romance, we went to the author to learn more about the story, what she's learned from publishing serialized novels and what readers can expect next.

***

When I'm With You is the second serialized novel in your Because You Are Mine series. Has anything changed for you in the serialization process since book 1? Have you learned anything new about this process?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Painful Pasts Bring Happy Endings In Stephanie Julian's No Reservations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

The hero and heroine of Stephanie Julian's latest Salon Games novel, No Reservations, both have big decisions to make regarding other lovers. Hero Tyler is still healing after the death of his fiancée, while heroine Kate is engaged to man she isn't quite about. With both characters facing some big decisions regarding their pasts — and their futures — we asked the author to share how these fiancée/fiancé troubles helped bring Tyler and Kate together.

In No Reservations, Salon Games book two, Tyler Golden seems to have a perfect life.

He co-owns a successful boutique hotel in Philadelphia. He’s handsome, rich and in charge of his own life.

The only problem — he doesn’t have much of a private life and we all know that all work and no play makes Tyler a dull boy.

Well, maybe not dull, but definitely not much fun. Tyler would agree, but he’d tell you he has a damn good reason. He’s still grieving the death of his fiancée. Then he meets Kate and his walls begin to crumble. Unfortunately, Kate has a fiancé of her own and a painful loss in her past that has come to define her life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST