RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Katie Porter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Here at RT, we simply can’t get enough of Katie Porter's smoking hot erotic romance heroes, witty heroines and emotional twists and turns each book presents. Known on their own for historical romance, Carrie Lofty and Lorelie Brown are the co-authors behind the much-talked about Katie Porter name and are a match made in heaven. Their kinky and emotionally satisfying stories have earned several RT Top Picks and a Reviewers Choice Award. Recently, the bestselling duo sat down with RT’s Morgan for a rousing discussion about their writing history together, their controversial Vegas Top Guns series and what readers can expect from their newest release, Chains and Canes!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christina Lauren On How Distance Makes Their Books Hotter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

For authors Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, aka writing duo Christina Lauren, writing their fun, sexy, NYC-set erotic romance series can be a bit of a challenge — especially when it comes to living far apart. So how do two authors make a long-distance writing relationship work? Today they share how they wrote Beautiful Stranger hundreds of miles apart, and what they did when they encountered a manuscript "terror." Plus, we offer a free downloadable excerpt from their upcoming novella, "Beautiful Bitch" at the end of this post!

We sometimes joke about the tattoos we’re going to get — a classy tramp stamp of ripped panties, or a depiction of sex in a public bathroom — but all joking aside, the tattoo we’ll probably get is simply “Geography Sucks.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Christine D'Abo's Choose Your Shot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Remember those fun “Choose Your Own Adventure” books from your childhood and how exciting it was to be in control of the story? Well, fasten your seatbelts because Christine D’Abo’s upcoming novel Choose Your Shot gives readers an interactive story with a very erotic twist, and we have an exclusive look at the book’s cover!

But first, let’s tell you a little bit about the book:

When Tegan receives an invite to the reopening of a BDSM club, she can’t wait to satisfy her needs that have been ignored for too long. But which man and pleasures should she choose? Readers will get to explore the club’s many seductions through Tegan and ultimately decide how her story ends. Are you ready to play?

Not only does the book sound exhilarating, but the cover is sensational! With a simple, yet evocative background, the cover features Tegan in some very skimpy clothing. While her back is to the reader, she is certainly no wilting flower. Her arched pose and come-hither look screams confidence. The author says that this is the absolute perfect depiction of her character.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

You Are Cordially Invited: Same-Sex Couples From Romance Novels We’d Love to See Married!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

With the Supreme Court striking down the Defense of Marriage Act and enabling wedded same-sex couples eligible for federal benefits, yesterday marked a monumental step toward achieving marriage equality. Additionally, Prop 8 was also rescinded, making it legal for gays and lesbians to marry in the state of California. 

Here at RT Book Reviews, we’d like to celebrate these important strides in equlity by taking a look at our favorite fictional gay and lesbian couples, ones we’d love to see be married! After all, love does not discriminate and everyone deserves a happy ending!

First up we have Hollywood producer Kyle Wakefield and stunt-man Nathan Carnes from Katie Porter’s Came Upon a Midnight Clear, a sizzling read that was a 2012 RT Book of the Year Nominee! Kyle and Nathan’s chemistry light up the pages and their struggles — both internal and external — certainly pave the way for a well-deserved happy ending. And we can’t help but think they would look rather dashing in matching tuxedos for their nuptials.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Eden Bradley's New BDSM Series - Dangerously Bound

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Eden Bradley gives RT readers a peek inside her new BDSM series, Dangerously Bound, before the first book of the same name hits stores in 2014. Get her take on creating a series set in beautiful New Orleans, writing a hero wrapped up in rope play and what readers can expect from Dangerously Bound!

***

If we had to guess based on the name, we'd say your upcoming Dangerously Bound series might have a BDSM focus. Are we right (and do we get a prize)? What can you tell us about the series?

Yes, the Dangerous Series books will all have a strong BDSM theme, including the first in the series, Dangerously Bound.

The series takes place in New Orleans, one of my favorite cities. I love it for the food, the music, the architecture, and that sense of lush sensuality in the air — it seemed a perfect location for this series. Although my heroes are all Scottish and Irish the city plays a big part in the tone of the books, and in the family histories of all my heroines, starting with Alessandra ‘Allie’ LeClair.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rhyannon Byrd On How To Seduce A Detective ... And Make Him Work For It!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

You gotta love an erotic romance hero with a dangerous job — FBI agent, undercover cop, special ops agent — nothing says sexy like a man willing to take a risk. But what about a man who refuses to take a risk with his heart? In Rhyannon Byrd's latest release, Take Me Under, the last thing on homicide detective Ben's mind is commitment, so how does heroine Reese win him over? Today the author shares how Reese — and you — can seduce a detective in 5 easy steps!

I love to write heroes who are rough, rugged, and as alpha as they come, and former Miami homicide detective Ben Hudson is one of my all-time favorites. Ben is the hero in my newest release, Take Me Under, and at the start of the book a relationship is the LAST thing he’s looking for. He’s smart, sexy, and seen as a genuinely great guy by his family and friends. But...and this is a BIG one: this guy would rather fall out of a plane or lose a kidney than fall in love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Move Over Billionaire Doms, Nerds Are The Next Erotica Trend

BY Cyndy Aleo, JUNE 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month, the pile of books that comes in for review in our erotica section is at least as tall as the Dark Tower of Barad-dûr, and if you understand that reference, you are my people, and I know you feel my pain.

Because usually, nowhere in that pile is the kind of book I'm looking for, and that my friends are asking me to find: the nerdrotica. Sure, I love the dust-covered cowboys and the strutting rock stars, and even the flogger-wielding CEOs. But what I'm really looking for is hardcore nerdy smut. We're talking robots getting it on, freaky cosplayers, strip Magic the Gathering — you name it. And if the words "Dungeon Master" mean your fantasy play parties involve a 20-sided die as well as a 20-tail flogger, I bet you've been looking for it, too. And it's okay to admit it. We're all geeks here. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Sylvia Day's Entwined With You

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

This review contains minor spoilers. You can find my print review of Entwined with You in the upcoming August issue of RT.

Here’s the thing about Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series: yes, it’s trope-y billionaire erotica, but it’s really good trope-y billionaire erotica. There’s nothing wrong with the billionaire hero trope per se, but readers have been overwhelmed by it every since The Book That Shall Not Be Named. Ultimately what makes a book good isn’t whether or not the story has been done before (because really, nothing is original at this point), it’s the quality of the writing, the believability of the plot and characters that are engaging enough for readers to emotionally invest in. Day’s Crossfire novels deliver all of these things and Entwined with You is a much welcomed installment in an already excellent series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Shayla Black On Ours To Love

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Shayla Black's latest Wicked Lovers novel, Ours to Love, hits shelves this month, and offers readers a sensual ménage romance. When wealthy brothers Javier and Xander decide to get away from it all by traveling to Louisiana, they don't expect to both fall for sweet London McLane. But the passion between the three is intense, and London's love manages to mend the rift between the siblings. Today we ask the author about her new story, how writing a ménage is different from crafting a traditional relationship and what makes the bond between Javier, Xander and London so special.

***

Your latest release, Ours to Love, features a billionaire playboy Dom. With so many wealthy, dominant men in erotica these days, what makes Xander an exceptional hero?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kelli Maine Takes Us By Storm With Her Latest Release

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Kelli Maine shook things up with the first novel in her Give and Take series, Taken, which features a shocking relationship sure to get readers' attention. The author's series continues this month with the release of book two, Taken by Storm, a second chance romance in which the hero and heroine find themselves on Turtle Tear Island in the middle of a dangerous hurricane, with nothing but each other to keep them safe. Today we ask the author about her series, her new hero and heroine and what advice she has for aspiring erotic romance authors.

***

Merrick and Rachel, the hero and heroine from Taken, have gotten A LOT of attention — probably because of this story's controversial premise. Millionaire Merrick essentially kidnaps Rachel and takes her to a deserted island. When you were writing this book, did you realize what a huge reaction it would get from readers?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST