RT Daily Blog

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: How To Ride The Erotic Romance Wave

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

The erotic romance genre is exploding with the serialization of books and stories headed to the big screen. However, writing erotic romance is not simply throwing together some sexy-times. To be a truly compelling erotica writer, one needs to deliver something different while providing emotional, sensual stories. In the "How to Ride the New Erotic Romance Wave" workshop at the RT Booklovers Convention last week, bestselling authors Eden Bradley (aka Eve Berlin), Jaci Burton, Lauren Dane and Sylvia Day and moderator Sharon Page explained the ‘New Wave’ of erotic romances and what it takes to satisfy readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Kate Douglas' New Dark Wolf - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

The ending of Kate Douglas' beloved Wolf Tales series felt like the end of an era, but when we heard the author was bringing back her Chankus in a different way her new Spirit Wild series, we were all over it! We spoiled you with a sneak peek of Book #1 Dark Wolf back in January, and today we offer even more details on the series starter, which hits shelves tomorrow. Plus, you can download the entire first chapter for more sexy Chanku goodness!

When I ended my Wolf Tales series in 2011, I knew the first generation Chanku stories had come full circle, but I still wanted to see what was going to happen to the children. Unlike their parents, they were born into loving families who taught them to embrace their shapeshifter heritage, and they grew up in a world aware that not only did the Chanku exist, but they’d been the first sentient inhabitants of the planet. Sort of hard to tell them to go away, right?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get To Know Erotic Romance Author Kristen Proby

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance writer Kristen Proby is new to the publishing scene, but she's already proven herself to be an outstanding author with the first three books in her With Me In Seattle series, Come Away With Me, Fight With Me and Play With Me. Starring larger-than-life heroes and the everyday heroines they love, these books are where sizzle, spice and smiles meet. Read on to learn more about Kristen and what's next for fans looking for more stories featuring the amazing Montgomery family.

***

You are a brand new author, with your first book published in October. However, you must have been writing for a while. What's the 'Kristen Proby' story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Leah Braemel Discusses Her Heroine's Transformation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Leah Braemel's fourth installment in the Hauberk Protection series, Hidden Heat, features Sandy Hallquist, a woman who helps manage an elite group of bodyguards. As she's drawn inevitably closer to cohort and part-time assassin Troy McPherson, Sandy begins shedding her Midwestern "good girl" image for an intense, kinky fling with the irresistible hero. We were curious to see what motivated this heroine to talk a walk on the wild side, and the author was more than happy to share. 

The reasons behind a heroine’s transformation are going to be different in every book, and different for every author. For myself, I don’t see Sandy as going from “good girl to bad” because that implies what she’s doing is bad and I don’t think she’s bad at all. She’s not robbed any banks or kidnapped or killed anyone. She’s unhappy with the vanilla sex that the rest of us choose, so society labels her as being bad when she sees herself as just seeking excitement.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Anne Rainey Made New Jersey Sexy - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

No matter how much you loved The Jersey Shore, New Jersey isn't exactly a place known for its sex appeal. But author Anne Rainey has managed to add some sizzle to the Jersey beaches with her erotic Cape May series, focusing on a seaside bed & breakfast with some rather adventurous guests and an owner looking to explore. Her latest release, Desired, features three novellas set in the vacation town, and we were dying to know why the author chose New Jersey as the setting for this series. Here's what she had to say:

Well, the interesting thing about writing romance is you can sort of draw on your own life experiences. It’s so much fun to take a situation in my past, twist it around, dramatize it a bit and make it into the story I never had, but secretly wanted.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Maya Banks Gives Us Fever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2013 | PERMALINK
Maya Banks' second novel in her Breathless trilogy, Fever, hit shelves this month, and if you're curious about what RT reviewer Jacqui McGugins calls "a Cinderella story with extremely hard edges," you won't want to skip the intense erotic romance. Business partners and longtime friends Jace and Ash have shared everything — even their women. But when they meet Bethany, Jace decides he wants her all to himself. Today we ask the author about her complex characters, writing steamy sex scenes and what readers can expect next.

***

When we first meet Bethany she is homeless while Jace is wealthy and privileged. Initially their different backgrounds make them seem like an unlikely couple. What makes their relationship work?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lorelie Brown On The Controversial Kink In Katie Porter's Hard Way

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Katie Porter's Vegas Top Guns — a group of trained U.S. Air Force pilots — are certainly a kinky bunch. From exhibitionism to breathplay, intricate role playing and more, the writing duo are tackling the gamut of fetishes in this fun, sexy series. Their latest release, Hard Way, definitely pushes the erotic romance envelope when married couple Dash and Sunny decide rough, forced sex is the key to rekindling their lost flame. Today Lorelie Brown, one half of the Katie Porter team, shares the difficulties in writing taboo sex and why this kink suits this specific couple.

Many of the inquiries Carrie Lofty and I have received about Hard Way regard the sexual relationship between Dash and Sunny. That's understandable: it's forced sex role play. From the outside, it reads as … intense. But with rigidly respected safe words, their fully consensual fantasies make sense within their troubled marriage.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lauren Dane On How To Seduce A Rock Star

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sure, rock stars are sexy, but what are the chances of an average girl bagging a sexy drummer or a hunky lead singer? Pretty good, if you ask author Lauren Dane. You just need to know a few simple rules of seduction. And who better to teach us than a woman who's written several rock star heroes paired with everyday heroines, including her most recent release Lush. Today the author shares how the girl-next-door can earn the affection of a man with rock star status.

I write rock star heroes/heroines. My first book with a rock star was 2009’s Laid Bare (Erin Brown, bass player, rock star, broken heroine), but since I’ve followed up with her brother Adrian in Never Enough and this month’s Lush with Adrian and Erin’s friend Damien.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Calling All Erotic Romance Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

The 2013 RT Booklovers Convention is officially one month away! Taking place in Kansas City, MO from May 1 - 5, this year we are celebrating 30 years of great RT conventions. With a huge list of panels, parties and other great happenings, this week on the RT Daily Blog we are going genre-by-genre to spotlight authors you will want to meet and events you won’t want to miss. 

Yesterday we took a look at the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy program, and today Erotic Romance is our focus. But remember, this is just a taste, a complete list of events can be found at the full convention schedule.  

And if you are interested in what you see, registration is still open! Go here for the FULL CONVENTION REGISTRATION, which gives you access to events taking place Wednesday, May 1 through Sunday, May 5. Also available on the registration page are DAY PASSES and WEEKEND PASSES, to fit any schedule and budget. 

***

THE GIANT BOOK FAIR


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Office Affair: An Absolute No-No Or A Fantasy Come True?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sleeping with your co-worker can lead to all sorts of inter-office complications, but sometimes the rewards are worth the trouble. At least they are in Jess Dee's latest release, Office Affair. Instead of the usual boss/employee relationship we've seen in many recent erotic romances, Office Affair tells the story of two colleagues whose close work relationship evolves into something more. Today the author shares what makes office romances so appealing, and the difficulties the hero and heroine face trying to balance business and pleasure.

So here I am, on the RT blog, talking about … work. Oh, woops, look at that — I can already see you frowning: Do we have to talk about such a tiresome, boring, monotonous topic? Yaaawn.

So let’s perk it up … in the best way a romance writer knows how. By creating a little office romance. Seriously, what better way is there to add excitement to work than with a crush on a sexy colleague? Waiting with anticipation to see him each morning, enjoying the little frisson of electricity up your spine when he arrives…


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST