RT Daily Blog

Author Q&A: Shayla Black On Ours To Love

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Shayla Black's latest Wicked Lovers novel, Ours to Love, hits shelves this month, and offers readers a sensual ménage romance. When wealthy brothers Javier and Xander decide to get away from it all by traveling to Louisiana, they don't expect to both fall for sweet London McLane. But the passion between the three is intense, and London's love manages to mend the rift between the siblings. Today we ask the author about her new story, how writing a ménage is different from crafting a traditional relationship and what makes the bond between Javier, Xander and London so special.

***

Your latest release, Ours to Love, features a billionaire playboy Dom. With so many wealthy, dominant men in erotica these days, what makes Xander an exceptional hero?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kelli Maine Takes Us By Storm With Her Latest Release

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Kelli Maine shook things up with the first novel in her Give and Take series, Taken, which features a shocking relationship sure to get readers' attention. The author's series continues this month with the release of book two, Taken by Storm, a second chance romance in which the hero and heroine find themselves on Turtle Tear Island in the middle of a dangerous hurricane, with nothing but each other to keep them safe. Today we ask the author about her series, her new hero and heroine and what advice she has for aspiring erotic romance authors.

***

Merrick and Rachel, the hero and heroine from Taken, have gotten A LOT of attention — probably because of this story's controversial premise. Millionaire Merrick essentially kidnaps Rachel and takes her to a deserted island. When you were writing this book, did you realize what a huge reaction it would get from readers?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lorelei James Kiss And Tells About Her Latest Rough Riders Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Lorelei James released the thirteenth installment in her Rough Riders series this month, Kissin' Tell, which continues her western-set tales about hunky cowboys and the women who love them. But as a long-running erotic romance series continues, how do you keep things new and exciting? We asked the author how she's managed to keep her Rough Riders books consistently innovative so that readers keep coming back for more, and here's what she had to say.

When the first Rough Riders book, Long Hard Ride, released in May of 2007, I had no idea how the series would be received. I figured the book might be a standalone.

So it’s exciting for me that the 13th installment in this series Kissin' Tell releases in print on May 7th this year — six years later.

That’s a lot of cowboys. That’s a lot of names and faces and plotlines to keep straight.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Delphine Dryden

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Delphine Dryden knocked us off our feet last year with her novella, "The Theory of Attraction," the story of a socially-awkward rocket scientist with a hidden interest in BDSM who catches the eye of his beautiful, equally nerdy neighbor. The story won our Seal of Excellence Award that month, and we've been patiently awaiting the second installment in the author's Science of Temptation series, "The Seduction Hypothesis," which released this month (and will be reviewed in the July issue of RT). We caught up with the author at our recent RT Booklovers Convention to chat about her own geeky background and how it informs her tales, the kink-factor in her stories and how BDSM and geekiness are more related than you may think.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Spare Hearts by Dorothy F. Shaw and T.D. Hoffman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

In the mood for something steamy? Then you won't want to miss this cover reveal that shows off husband and wife writing team T.D. Hoffman and Dorothy F. Shaw's upcoming release "Spare Hearts". But before you download this digital novella coming in August, get the inside scoop on this story which promises to bring the heat.

The title "Spare Hearts" refers to the hero's profession. Sterling Dey is a formal pro bowling champion who wants to get back into the game. So he has holed up at an out-of-the-way bowling alley in a small Texas town to practice. But Sterling is interrupted when he meets Candy Jameson, the alley's night manager. When a one-night stand turns into something more his priorities shift and he works double time to find a way to make her a permanent fixture in his life, no matter what.

We've been checking out this cover for a while now and we have to say that it really screams sexy. The scruffy looking hero has just the right amount of bad boy charm — and it doesn't hurt that he reminds us of the delicious Bradley Cooper! As for the heroine, let's just say that she isn't minding all the attention she's getting (and who would?).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: How To Ride The Erotic Romance Wave

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

The erotic romance genre is exploding with the serialization of books and stories headed to the big screen. However, writing erotic romance is not simply throwing together some sexy-times. To be a truly compelling erotica writer, one needs to deliver something different while providing emotional, sensual stories. In the "How to Ride the New Erotic Romance Wave" workshop at the RT Booklovers Convention last week, bestselling authors Eden Bradley (aka Eve Berlin), Jaci Burton, Lauren Dane and Sylvia Day and moderator Sharon Page explained the ‘New Wave’ of erotic romances and what it takes to satisfy readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Kate Douglas' New Dark Wolf - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

The ending of Kate Douglas' beloved Wolf Tales series felt like the end of an era, but when we heard the author was bringing back her Chankus in a different way her new Spirit Wild series, we were all over it! We spoiled you with a sneak peek of Book #1 Dark Wolf back in January, and today we offer even more details on the series starter, which hits shelves tomorrow. Plus, you can download the entire first chapter for more sexy Chanku goodness!

When I ended my Wolf Tales series in 2011, I knew the first generation Chanku stories had come full circle, but I still wanted to see what was going to happen to the children. Unlike their parents, they were born into loving families who taught them to embrace their shapeshifter heritage, and they grew up in a world aware that not only did the Chanku exist, but they’d been the first sentient inhabitants of the planet. Sort of hard to tell them to go away, right?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get To Know Erotic Romance Author Kristen Proby

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance writer Kristen Proby is new to the publishing scene, but she's already proven herself to be an outstanding author with the first three books in her With Me In Seattle series, Come Away With Me, Fight With Me and Play With Me. Starring larger-than-life heroes and the everyday heroines they love, these books are where sizzle, spice and smiles meet. Read on to learn more about Kristen and what's next for fans looking for more stories featuring the amazing Montgomery family.

***

You are a brand new author, with your first book published in October. However, you must have been writing for a while. What's the 'Kristen Proby' story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Leah Braemel Discusses Her Heroine's Transformation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Leah Braemel's fourth installment in the Hauberk Protection series, Hidden Heat, features Sandy Hallquist, a woman who helps manage an elite group of bodyguards. As she's drawn inevitably closer to cohort and part-time assassin Troy McPherson, Sandy begins shedding her Midwestern "good girl" image for an intense, kinky fling with the irresistible hero. We were curious to see what motivated this heroine to talk a walk on the wild side, and the author was more than happy to share. 

The reasons behind a heroine’s transformation are going to be different in every book, and different for every author. For myself, I don’t see Sandy as going from “good girl to bad” because that implies what she’s doing is bad and I don’t think she’s bad at all. She’s not robbed any banks or kidnapped or killed anyone. She’s unhappy with the vanilla sex that the rest of us choose, so society labels her as being bad when she sees herself as just seeking excitement.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Anne Rainey Made New Jersey Sexy - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

No matter how much you loved The Jersey Shore, New Jersey isn't exactly a place known for its sex appeal. But author Anne Rainey has managed to add some sizzle to the Jersey beaches with her erotic Cape May series, focusing on a seaside bed & breakfast with some rather adventurous guests and an owner looking to explore. Her latest release, Desired, features three novellas set in the vacation town, and we were dying to know why the author chose New Jersey as the setting for this series. Here's what she had to say:

Well, the interesting thing about writing romance is you can sort of draw on your own life experiences. It’s so much fun to take a situation in my past, twist it around, dramatize it a bit and make it into the story I never had, but secretly wanted.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST