RT Daily Blog

Q&A With Beautiful Bastard Author Christina Lauren

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Getting their start as fanfiction writers, author Christina Lauren (the pen name of writing duo Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings) debuts today with her first published erotic romance, Beautiful Bastard. Filled with plenty of wit and humor, Beautiful Bastard tells the story of a stubborn, egotistical businessman who can't stand his young, MBA student employee, yet can't seem to get enough of her in the bedroom (or boardroom, or stairwell, or .... well, you get the idea). We asked the team about their transition to published authors, why high-profile, wealthy heroes are all the rage in erotic romance right now, the special fetish their hero and heroine share and much more.

***

You’re a writing duo who combined names to create one pseudonym. How did you two meet and cultivate the idea for Beautiful Bastard?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Lexxie Couper's Sexy Bodyguard Aslin Rhodes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

SAS commando turned bodyguard, the bad guys would definitely not want to meet Lexxie Couper's newest hero, Aslin, in a dark alley. But the same can't be said for heroine Rowan. She will take the strong, sexy man any way she can get him! What went in to crafting this unforgettable hero? Today Lexxie Couper walks us through the making Aslin Rhodes in Muscle for Hire.    

The creation of a sexy-as-sin British bodyguard isn’t easy. It requires hours and hours and hours of research and casting-couching. It’s not an easy job spending hours looking at images of sexy, muscular, intimidating, gorgeous, sexy half-naked men. Why are you laughing? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: HelenKay Dimon's First Contemporary Erotic Romance Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author HelenKay Dimon gives RT readers a peek inside her just-announced series from Berkeley Heat. Discover what awaits readers in Dimon's first contemporary erotic romance series, meet her sexy new alpha hero and learn what else the author has in store for fans.

***

Congratulations on your recent deal with Berkley Heat! We know these books will be contemporary erotic romances, but can you tell us anything else about them?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author L. Marie Adeline Shares Her S.E.C.R.E.T. - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author L. Marie Adeline's debut erotic fiction S.E.C.R.E.T. hits shelves today, and anyone looking for a steamy contemporary tale won't want to miss it! About a 30-something widow looking to reawaken her sexual desires with the help of an undergound club, women are the stars of S.E.C.R.E.T., and readers will be treated to a touching story about a woman discovering her wants and needs after a tremendous loss. We asked the author a few questions about her new story, and give readers a chance to win a copy at the end of this post!

***

Most erotic fiction follows the conventional rules of romance, but you decided to go a different route. What made you want to tell this type of story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pick Your Pleasure With Erotica Author Jayne Rylon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

For her very first self-published book, award-winning erotica author Jayne Rylon has done something truly unique. Instead of writing linear story requiring a passive reader, she has created a book where you get to Pick Your Pleasure! Interested in learning more about this digital experiment gone right? Today the author stops by the RT blog to explain just how her book works and answer our questions.

Thanks so much for inviting me over to talk about my favorite experiment! I have to admit the idea for this book came from my brother. He called me from a bar in NYC, where he was out with a group of his friends, late last year and told me they'd come up with a "great idea" for a book.  I wasn't convinced. Until he told me what it was. A book like the ones we'd had as kids, where the readers get to decide what happens in the story (except in Pick Your Pleasure there's no path that leads to violent death, which always seemed to be an option in the old ones).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Tiffany Reisz On What Readers Can Expect In The Mistress

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you're a fan of Tiffany Reisz's kinky Original Sinners series, you've probably got one big question on your mind: Who will Nora choose? Reisz's last book, The Prince, left us with a cliffhanger, and the final book in the author's quartet will finally reveal who Nora truly loves: The young, vanilla Wesley or longtime Dom Søren. Today the author shares some details about what readers can expect in The Mistress.

Not a day passes online that one of my readers doesn't call me a sadist. Some writers might take this as an insult, but in the world of The Original Sinners, it's something of a compliment. Even if it wasn't I could hardly argue. I left my readers at the end of The Prince (book three in the series) with a nasty cliffhanger. My leading lady, Mistress Nora Sutherlin, is gone. Poof. Vanished. All that we know is someone from Kingsley and Søren's past is involved, someone with a grudge. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kelly Jamieson On Cheating And The Ménage Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Cheating can be a very polarizing subject among romance readers. For some, it's a deal breaker, while others are able to look past it. But what about in a ménage romance? Is turning a twosome into a threesome cheating, and how do characters move past any jealous feelings that occur? Author Kelly Jamieson takes a realistic look at her latest erotic romance, Rule of Three — about a woman who learns that her boyfriend has the hots for his best guy friend — and explores the reasoning behind ménage romance.

I’ve written a number of ménage stories and more than once the question has come up about “cheating”. A survey by Glamour Magazine found that 86% of men said it’s not cheating if their partner makes out with another woman. When I related that statistic to my husband, he laughed. But what percentage of women would think the same thing if they found their husband kissing another man?

What if he was kissing his best friend?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Behind The Sex Scene With Author Boone Brux

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Whether you like 'em every other chapter or as a grand finale at the end of a love story, sex scenes can make or break a romance. Writing a good sex scene isn't easy, and today paranormal romance author Boone Brux reveals that it isn't always glamorous, either! The author of Shield of Fire and more recently, Kiss of the Betrayer, Brux shares her essential tips for writing a smoldering sex scene.

Heaving, throbbing, pulsing—sex in romance novels is more popular than ever. But what trials and tribulations does a writer face when crafting some of the most anticipated passages in a book? You might think that your favorite author merely opens her current work-in-progress, lays fingers to the keyboard, and dances out a ballet of sexual perfection in about an hour. Don’t I wish?

As an author who has written many a steamy scene, I can tell you that the end result doesn’t necessarily mirror the process. In my case, I craft these scenes in the morning when I’m still in my wongie-waistbands and sweatshirt, sucking down a bucket of coffee, and about as far from aroused as one woman can get.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
43COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Author Stephanie Julian Shares Her Success Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2013 | PERMALINK
Author Stephanie Julian has made a name for herself publishing sultry e-book titles as well as terrific paranormal books in her Forgotten Goddesses series. And now Julian's career is kicking into overdrive with her first release with a big six publisher. This month's release, By Private Invitation, is an erotic romance about an antiques dealer who finds herself caught up in a steamy affair with a domineering hotel tycoon. We asked the author to share her success story and how she crafted her latest release.

As a writer, I’m one of the lucky ones. I’ve been making a living at it since I graduated from college with an English degree (and no idea what I was going to do with it).

Writing is the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do and it hasn’t come easy. And, in some ways, that made the sale of By Private Invitation that much sweeter.

I wrote the book several years ago but wasn’t able to sell it. That’s a familiar refrain for any writer. I guess it just wasn’t the right time.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Stephanie Draven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Stephanie Draven is known for penning historical tales of love and romance, but this month she is taking a brief departure from her Mythica series and shifting gears from mythological-inspired tales to the roaring '20s. The digital-first novella in the author's collection "Love Me Or Leave Me," is out now and in February the anthology It Stings So Sweet, which earned an RT Top Pick! will be released. The book contains three tales of young Prohibition Era women — all from various classes — who discover their forbidden desires. In this video interview, Draven tells us more about her fascination with history, her latest project and how the 1920s inspired her desire to write about women coming into their own.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST