RT Daily Blog

Behind The Sex Scene With Author Boone Brux

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Whether you like 'em every other chapter or as a grand finale at the end of a love story, sex scenes can make or break a romance. Writing a good sex scene isn't easy, and today paranormal romance author Boone Brux reveals that it isn't always glamorous, either! The author of Shield of Fire and more recently, Kiss of the Betrayer, Brux shares her essential tips for writing a smoldering sex scene.

Heaving, throbbing, pulsing—sex in romance novels is more popular than ever. But what trials and tribulations does a writer face when crafting some of the most anticipated passages in a book? You might think that your favorite author merely opens her current work-in-progress, lays fingers to the keyboard, and dances out a ballet of sexual perfection in about an hour. Don’t I wish?

As an author who has written many a steamy scene, I can tell you that the end result doesn’t necessarily mirror the process. In my case, I craft these scenes in the morning when I’m still in my wongie-waistbands and sweatshirt, sucking down a bucket of coffee, and about as far from aroused as one woman can get.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
43COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Author Stephanie Julian Shares Her Success Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2013 | PERMALINK
Author Stephanie Julian has made a name for herself publishing sultry e-book titles as well as terrific paranormal books in her Forgotten Goddesses series. And now Julian's career is kicking into overdrive with her first release with a big six publisher. This month's release, By Private Invitation, is an erotic romance about an antiques dealer who finds herself caught up in a steamy affair with a domineering hotel tycoon. We asked the author to share her success story and how she crafted her latest release.

As a writer, I’m one of the lucky ones. I’ve been making a living at it since I graduated from college with an English degree (and no idea what I was going to do with it).

Writing is the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do and it hasn’t come easy. And, in some ways, that made the sale of By Private Invitation that much sweeter.

I wrote the book several years ago but wasn’t able to sell it. That’s a familiar refrain for any writer. I guess it just wasn’t the right time.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Stephanie Draven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Stephanie Draven is known for penning historical tales of love and romance, but this month she is taking a brief departure from her Mythica series and shifting gears from mythological-inspired tales to the roaring '20s. The digital-first novella in the author's collection "Love Me Or Leave Me," is out now and in February the anthology It Stings So Sweet, which earned an RT Top Pick! will be released. The book contains three tales of young Prohibition Era women — all from various classes — who discover their forbidden desires. In this video interview, Draven tells us more about her fascination with history, her latest project and how the 1920s inspired her desire to write about women coming into their own.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Kate Douglas On Her New Spirit Wild Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Wolf Tales fans, get ready for more delicious Chanku shifters! Author Kate Douglas is beginning a new series set in her familiar Chanku world, starting with Dark Wolf, which releases this April. Although the author's new Spirit Wild series will be set in the same universe and feature some familiar faces, there will be a whole new batch of shifters readers will get to know. Today get a special sneak peek at Dark Wolf as the author answers some of our burning questions about her new series.

***

In your upcoming Spirit Wild series, you will be returning to the Chanku world. These shapeshifters have a special place in many readers' hearts because of the characters difficult journeys into modern society. What makes the Chanku so special to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Lauren Jameson Interviews Author Beth Kery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

Once the norm, serialized novels — books released in installments — fell out of favor. However, in 2012 serials started to gain in popularity, especially in the erotic romance genre. Today two authors with hot, hot, hot serials discuss what it is like to offer their work to readers in increments. Warning: Discussion of BDSM billionaires ahead!

Lauren Jameson: As a writer, I draw a lot of inspiration from the stories of others. One of my all time favorites is my fellow Penguin author, the fabulous Beth Kery, who wrote the incomparable New York Times best selling serial Because You Are Mine. I'm smack in the middle of the release of my own serialized novel, Surrender to Temptation, and had a bunch of questions for Beth. She was kind enough to let me pick her brain.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucky 13: Our Most Anticipated Erotic Romance Books Coming in 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a new year comes resolutions, new beginnings and best of all ... new books! This month we'll be sharing thirteen titles across the genres we're looking forward to in 2013, continuing with erotic romance releases! So just in case your TBR list wasn't already a mile long, here are a dozen (plus one!) erotic romance titles we're anticipating in 2013:


 

Rush by Maya Banks

Releases February 2013


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Erotica Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

As you might imagine, we get a lot of books, advanced review copies and manuscripts sent to us here at the RT office. Here's our current mountain, which, believe it or not, was recently sorted:

We know, you're probably salivating. It's a lot of books, and most of them we either donate or give away. And that's where you, dear reader, benefit! Among the heaps of genre fiction are five finished copies of recently released erotic romances that, in an effort to keep our New Year's resolution of being more tidy, we must part with. But fear not, our loss is your gain! We're giving one lucky reader a chance to win all five books!

What better way to start off 2013 than with a stack of new erotica, right? Here's what's up for grabs:

Unbound by Celeste Bradley and Susan Donovan


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
45COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Fall Into You By Roni Loren

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

There's no better way to take a new book for a test drive than with an exclusive excerpt! Today we bring you a sizzling snippet of Roni Loren's latest Loving on the Edge novel, Fall Into You, a steamy story about a reporter with something to prove who finds herself under the protection of one of Texas' top Doms.

When sports journalist Charli Beaumonde is told she's not feminine enough for a gig hosting one of TV's top sports programs, she vows to prove her skills as a reporter are top-notch by uncovering a major football scandal. But as she inches closer to the truth, her life is on the line and she must accept help from family friend Grant Waters, who offers his home as a hideout. Charlie has no idea Grant resides at "The Ranch," one of the areas top BDSM resorts, where he runs the show as an expert Dom.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Gina L. Maxwell Reveals How MMA Influenced Her Hot Fighting For Love Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Gina L. Maxwell kicked off her new Fighting for Love series with Seducing Cinderella, a steamy friends-to-lovers tale about Lucie, a woman ready to give up on love after the doctor she's been pining after asks for her friends phone number. When she's reunited with her childhood crush, MMA fighter Reid, the two make a deal: If she helps him recover form an injury, he will teach her the art of seduction. We were curious to learn more about how MMA inspired Maxwell to create this sizzling series, and we straight to the author for an answer:

About fifteen years ago, my husband and his friends were watching television, shouting and arguing and gesturing like crazed lunatics. “What in the world are you guys watching?” I asked. “UFC,” he replied. I stared blankly at him. “You know, MMA.” I rolled my eyes, but instead of pointing out that one acronym does not automatically explain another, I moved to look for myself.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jodie Griffin Shares Her Favorite Erotic Titles Featuring Dominant Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

It's no secret that a lot of BDSM erotic romance features dominant heroes and submissive heroines. But what about readers who want their women a little more assertive and their men eager to please? In author Jodie Griffin's latest release "Forbidden Desires," Bella has recently discovered her dominant side after ending her relationship with a man who insisted that he be the one in charge. After meeting submissive paramedic Marcus, Bella thinks she's finally found her match, but the new roles may take some getting use to. We wanted to learn more about the author's interest in stories with dominant women and submissive men so we asked Griffin to share some her favorite titles featuring lady Dommes:

Kink is in. 

It’s no secret to anyone these days, but people really like to read about sex, and if it’s kinky sex? Even better. Add in some rope, a flogger, safe words and a hot guy calling a woman Mistress, and...  

Wait, what? Did she just say Mistress? 

Yes, yes I did. 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST