RT Daily Blog

Amazon's Banned Book Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

After cover artist Erin Dameron-Hill posted these tips for how to prevent a cover from being flagged on Amazon, we had to ask: which covers has she seen flagged on Amazon and how does she, as a cover artist, work within Amazon's vague content guidelines to edit "racy" covers? Erin is here today to give us the rundown. (Note: Parts of this post appear in Erin's original post on her blog. She has expanded on it for RT readers.)

"What we deem offensive is probably about what you would expect.” - Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing Content Guidelines

For someone like me, that rule from Amazon’s KDP program is a little vague as to what makes a cover offensive. As an Award-Winning Cover Artist at EDHGraphics, Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, and Blushing Books Publishing with a focus on Romance and Erotica genres, I find there is little that offends me. How am I supposed to know what is appropriate for Amazon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review - Beyond Repair By Charlotte Stein

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Beyond Repair by Charlotte SteinThe novella "Beyond Repair" was my first story by Charlotte Stein, and up until maybe halfway through the book, I had a lot of mixed feelings about it. The premise wasn’t entirely appealing to me — the heroine finds a sexy movie star passed out on her floor? Really? But since I’ve suspended my disbelief for dragons, vampires and shifters, fine, ok, Alice wakes up to a movie star passed out in her home. Let’s do this.

20-year-old Alice wakes up to find A-list celebrity Holden Stark has pulled a Robert Downey Jr. all over her living room floor. At first, I was frustrated that there wasn’t much of a context. She manages to drag him to the bathroom and wake him up, but never once does Alice say “Um, what the hell are you doing here? How did this happen?” or do something sensible like call an ambulance. She thinks about doing all of the normal things one would do in this situation, but she never actually does because “awkward” doesn’t even begin to describe Alice — she’s severely agoraphobic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt - Crave By Sierra Cartwright

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's finally Hump Day! Are you ready for another smutty excerpt? Positive reviews for Sierra Cartwright's Crave have been floating around the web, and after we heard about what a great time she had at RT this year (Her first RT!), we decided a scene from Crave would be perfect for this week. Crave is a second chance BDSM romance, and in this scene heroine Sarah and hero Reece are getting ready to go out to dinner. Let's just say Sarah has a very interesting "getting ready" routine. Enjoy!

A photo of Sierra Cartwright at RT Convention 2014 

Sierra Cartwright at Mardi Gras World during this year's RT Booklovers Convention


The cover of Crave by Sierra Cartwright“Please,” she said. “Fuck my ass with the plug, Reece.”

He took hold of the base and pulled out the glass. She grunted, and he slid it back in, using a bit of force to get the fattest part past her sphincter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Sue Me's Guide To Avoiding A Publishing Contract Disaster

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Photo of author Tara Sue MeI met erotic romance author Tara Sue Me for the first time at this year's RT Convention. She's delightful, but a story she told me about a horrible publishing contract she signed years ago (and was still recently dealing with) wasn't so much. So I urged her to share her contract advice for aspiring and published authors. If you're looking to sell your writing, read Tara's advice before you sign anything!

In a prior life, before I became a full-time author, I worked in the Pharmaceutical industry in contracts. Though I’m not a lawyer, I wrote contracts, negotiated contracts, and, more times than should be necessary, terminated contracts. I’m a read-the-tiny-print kind of a girl. A don’t-tell-me-put-it-in-writing business sort.

As an author, I’ve signed a few contracts. I’ve signed with a small epublisher, with a large media company, and with a Big Five publisher. As those of you who have done the same know, contracts can be anywhere from two pages to OMG, DO I HAVE TO READ THE WHOLE THING?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: King Of Thieves By Jane Kindred

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another Hump Day is upon us — which means another smutty excerpt for you! You know when you're craving something really specific? Like a paranormal, M/M BDSM story? That's how we're feeling today. So we've got a scene from Jane Kindred's King of Thieves, the second in her Demons of Elysium series, which reviewer Tori Benson calls "wickedly erotic." Enjoy!

It would be an abuse of the term to call Vasily a submissive. Belphagor’s “boy” was about as submissive as a cat in a bathtub. You could hold him down long enough to accomplish the needful, but you’d damned near drown yourself when the contained outrage burst without warning from every limb, and you could count yourself lucky if all he did was draw blood. And yet he insisted this relationship was what he wanted, to belong so thoroughly to Belphagor that his will was no longer his own.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press' Big Gay Ebook Sale + #OutWriters On Why Diversity Is Important

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image featuring the covers of Cleis Press titles that are on sale

June is LGBTQ pride month, and Cleis Press is discounting several of their LGBTQ erotica books to celebrate — each ebook is only $1.99 on Amazon for the entire month of June. Not only that, the publisher has launched the #OutWriters hashtag to facilitate a discussion between readers and writers on why LGBTQ representation is important in books. There's some really interesting dialogue going on via Twitter and we encourage you to check it out!

Gay

Hot Gay Erotica edited by Richard Labonté


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: The Princess and the Porn Star by Lauren Gallagher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Hump Day, it's Hump Day! Whether you're gearing up for BEA this week or awaiting a relaxing weekend, we've got another hot excerpt to get you through the remining work week. Today we've got a scene from The Princess and the Porn Star by Lauren Gallagher, the tale of pop star Rachel Taylor who attempts to revamp her party girl image by filming a music video with porn star Lee Peyton. Unable to resist Lee, Rachel must decide if her attraction is worth risking her contract's morality clause. Sounds juicy, right? Enjoy the excerpt!

Neither of us moved. The crew and other dancers rushed past us in all directions like we were boulders in a river, their speed emphasizing our stillness, and I was right back on the spinning platform with his kiss on my tingling lips.

I’ve kissed you. I know what you taste like. I want more. Just say the—

Someone bumped Lee, jolting us out of the moment.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Touchy-Feely

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

So the old adage goes: the more touching on the cover, the more sexytimes on the pages. Or at least that's how we remembered it. So imagine our delight at discovering a wealth of touchy feely covers as of late! Please join us in ogling these butt-grabbing, zipper-lowering covers — you know you wanna.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Christina Lauren's Sweet, Filthy Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren

We're not going to lie: the post-convention week was a long one. There was no pub crawl, no beads thrown at us, no costume parties. But we made it! And it's our favorite kind of Friday: the one that heralds a long weekend! To celebrate, we've got a great giveaway for you today: a copy of Christina Lauren's Sweet Filthy Boy — our May Seal of Excellence winner! We've already gushed about this realistic erotic New Adult, starring a hero you will for sure swoon for, in addition to enviable settings and a heroine you feel like you know — or could be! Why not enter to win before heading out for three days of fun in the sun? Thanks so much for spending time with us this week, we appreciate each and every one of you, and we'll see you Tuesday. This giveaway is open to U.S. readers only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Asked and Sylvia Day Answered - 2014 RT Convention

BY Tricia Carr, MAY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

The audience of the Up Close With Sylvia Day chat at the 2014 RT Convention was a rapt one. As attendees waited for the event to begin, all eyes were on the empty red chair at the front of the room.

 

Photo credit: Ian Spanier Photography 2014

The energy skyrocketed when Sylvia Day entered with a loud hoot and a question for her fans: "How is everyone doing?"

Immediately everyone started shouting out their questions. One of the first topics that came up was the TV adaptation of the Crossfire erotic romance series from Lionsgate.

“It’s quiet on that front,” Day told the audience. The last update she heard was in January when she learned that the first season of the show will follow the plot of Bared to You.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST