RT Daily Blog

Hump Day Excerpt: Rusty Nailed By Alice Clayton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

We did it! Hump Day is finally here! Are you ready for some more smut? This week we've got a scene from book two in Alice Clayton's Cocktail series, Rusty Nailed. Caroline and Simon are now "officially" in a relationship, but can they keep things hot when Caroline's job demands so much of her time? We think yes, she can make it work, and here's a scene to prove it. Enjoy!

“So you came home early just to see little ol’ me?” I breathed into his ear, sneaking a wet kiss just underneath it. His hands dug a little deeper into my hips as he shifted on the bed.

“I did.”

“Think you can help me with this turtleneck?”

“I do.”

“And then after that, you wanna show me your hammer?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press Announces New Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the November 2013 issue of RT Book Reviews we teamed up with Cleis Press to host a special contest that would determine the name of Cleis’s upcoming imprint dedicated to publishing unique and compelling romances. Readers were asked to submit their ideas and the winner would win a $250 cash prize, a complete collection of Cleis titles and a copy of every future title from the new imprint. Today, Cleis officially announced the new imprint and its name, chosen by grand prize winner Laura Wilson!

Drum roll, please...

Tempted Romance will be headed by Cleis Press publisher Brenda Knight, who will carefully curate the imprint's list. Beginning with Janine Ashbless’s Cover Him With Darkness, which releases September 22, Tempted will release one book a month, resulting in twelve books a year.

When asked about how the new imprint will differ from Cleis, Knight said, “Tempted Romance is very different from 34-year-old Cleis in that all the books are very carefully selected by me, a life-long romance reader who fell in love with the genre as a teen. A major distinction is that I am acquiring several romance novels, and even novellas, something Cleis has never done.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Star Struck By Laurelin Paige

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cheers to another hump day! With the weekend in sight, we've got another steamy excerpt for you. This week is a shower scene from Laurelin Paige's Star Struck, the latest in her Lights, Camera series, about a snobby Hollywood actress who falls for a production designer with little patience for diva attitudes. Enjoy!

Heather’s stomach twisted. Seth was late. Seven minutes late. Maybe he got caught up on the set. Or lost track of time. Or wanted to give her a few extra minutes to finish her meal.

Or maybe he wasn’t coming.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon's Banned Book Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

After cover artist Erin Dameron-Hill posted these tips for how to prevent a cover from being flagged on Amazon, we had to ask: which covers has she seen flagged on Amazon and how does she, as a cover artist, work within Amazon's vague content guidelines to edit "racy" covers? Erin is here today to give us the rundown. (Note: Parts of this post appear in Erin's original post on her blog. She has expanded on it for RT readers.)

"What we deem offensive is probably about what you would expect.” - Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing Content Guidelines

For someone like me, that rule from Amazon’s KDP program is a little vague as to what makes a cover offensive. As an Award-Winning Cover Artist at EDHGraphics, Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, and Blushing Books Publishing with a focus on Romance and Erotica genres, I find there is little that offends me. How am I supposed to know what is appropriate for Amazon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review - Beyond Repair By Charlotte Stein

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Beyond Repair by Charlotte SteinThe novella "Beyond Repair" was my first story by Charlotte Stein, and up until maybe halfway through the book, I had a lot of mixed feelings about it. The premise wasn’t entirely appealing to me — the heroine finds a sexy movie star passed out on her floor? Really? But since I’ve suspended my disbelief for dragons, vampires and shifters, fine, ok, Alice wakes up to a movie star passed out in her home. Let’s do this.

20-year-old Alice wakes up to find A-list celebrity Holden Stark has pulled a Robert Downey Jr. all over her living room floor. At first, I was frustrated that there wasn’t much of a context. She manages to drag him to the bathroom and wake him up, but never once does Alice say “Um, what the hell are you doing here? How did this happen?” or do something sensible like call an ambulance. She thinks about doing all of the normal things one would do in this situation, but she never actually does because “awkward” doesn’t even begin to describe Alice — she’s severely agoraphobic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt - Crave By Sierra Cartwright

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's finally Hump Day! Are you ready for another smutty excerpt? Positive reviews for Sierra Cartwright's Crave have been floating around the web, and after we heard about what a great time she had at RT this year (Her first RT!), we decided a scene from Crave would be perfect for this week. Crave is a second chance BDSM romance, and in this scene heroine Sarah and hero Reece are getting ready to go out to dinner. Let's just say Sarah has a very interesting "getting ready" routine. Enjoy!

A photo of Sierra Cartwright at RT Convention 2014 

Sierra Cartwright at Mardi Gras World during this year's RT Booklovers Convention


The cover of Crave by Sierra Cartwright“Please,” she said. “Fuck my ass with the plug, Reece.”

He took hold of the base and pulled out the glass. She grunted, and he slid it back in, using a bit of force to get the fattest part past her sphincter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Sue Me's Guide To Avoiding A Publishing Contract Disaster

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Photo of author Tara Sue MeI met erotic romance author Tara Sue Me for the first time at this year's RT Convention. She's delightful, but a story she told me about a horrible publishing contract she signed years ago (and was still recently dealing with) wasn't so much. So I urged her to share her contract advice for aspiring and published authors. If you're looking to sell your writing, read Tara's advice before you sign anything!

In a prior life, before I became a full-time author, I worked in the Pharmaceutical industry in contracts. Though I’m not a lawyer, I wrote contracts, negotiated contracts, and, more times than should be necessary, terminated contracts. I’m a read-the-tiny-print kind of a girl. A don’t-tell-me-put-it-in-writing business sort.

As an author, I’ve signed a few contracts. I’ve signed with a small epublisher, with a large media company, and with a Big Five publisher. As those of you who have done the same know, contracts can be anywhere from two pages to OMG, DO I HAVE TO READ THE WHOLE THING?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: King Of Thieves By Jane Kindred

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another Hump Day is upon us — which means another smutty excerpt for you! You know when you're craving something really specific? Like a paranormal, M/M BDSM story? That's how we're feeling today. So we've got a scene from Jane Kindred's King of Thieves, the second in her Demons of Elysium series, which reviewer Tori Benson calls "wickedly erotic." Enjoy!

It would be an abuse of the term to call Vasily a submissive. Belphagor’s “boy” was about as submissive as a cat in a bathtub. You could hold him down long enough to accomplish the needful, but you’d damned near drown yourself when the contained outrage burst without warning from every limb, and you could count yourself lucky if all he did was draw blood. And yet he insisted this relationship was what he wanted, to belong so thoroughly to Belphagor that his will was no longer his own.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cleis Press' Big Gay Ebook Sale + #OutWriters On Why Diversity Is Important

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image featuring the covers of Cleis Press titles that are on sale

June is LGBTQ pride month, and Cleis Press is discounting several of their LGBTQ erotica books to celebrate — each ebook is only $1.99 on Amazon for the entire month of June. Not only that, the publisher has launched the #OutWriters hashtag to facilitate a discussion between readers and writers on why LGBTQ representation is important in books. There's some really interesting dialogue going on via Twitter and we encourage you to check it out!

Gay

Hot Gay Erotica edited by Richard Labonté


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: The Princess and the Porn Star by Lauren Gallagher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Hump Day, it's Hump Day! Whether you're gearing up for BEA this week or awaiting a relaxing weekend, we've got another hot excerpt to get you through the remining work week. Today we've got a scene from The Princess and the Porn Star by Lauren Gallagher, the tale of pop star Rachel Taylor who attempts to revamp her party girl image by filming a music video with porn star Lee Peyton. Unable to resist Lee, Rachel must decide if her attraction is worth risking her contract's morality clause. Sounds juicy, right? Enjoy the excerpt!

Neither of us moved. The crew and other dancers rushed past us in all directions like we were boulders in a river, their speed emphasizing our stillness, and I was right back on the spinning platform with his kiss on my tingling lips.

I’ve kissed you. I know what you taste like. I want more. Just say the—

Someone bumped Lee, jolting us out of the moment.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST